Customer reviews for Ariens 27-Ton Log Splitter

Ariens 27-Ton Log Splitter

Split your way through the tough stuff with the Ariens® Precision Log Splitter. Open operating zone promotes less operator bending, reaching and fatigue by allowing the operator to walk right up to work zone. Critical components are located at the front of the machine reducing the likelihood of damage from dropped logs. Centrally located controls allows you to operate from either side spending less time walking around the machine and more time splitting. Split larger logs with less lifting with the vertical and horizontal splitting capacity.
Overall rating:
4.797 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5
53
4
9
3
2
2
0
1
0
61 out of 63(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Review 1 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

27 ton log spliter

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: reno NV
I have Logged and cut wood for over 30 Years. this splitter i one of the best i have ever used. Stats easy runs very economically. and the splitter head design is very good and very efficient.its fuel consumtion is amazingly low.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome splitter

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Tonawanda New York
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off let me say I have never written a review for any product before.
With that said, the 27 ton log splitter is awesome....
It is user friendly, but splits wood endlessly. The engine is an easy start engine. My wife can even start and stop the unit.
You will not be disappointed. One suggestion is to purchase the cradle. I dod shortly after purchasing the splitter, and what a difference it makes.
Also, check your local dealer rather than purchasing this unit at a Big Box store. I was able to get Better financing through a dealer than anywhere else. The dealer also put it together. They ran it to check for performance and confirm no leaks. Then they even delivered it right to my house.
I just completed splitting multiple cords of hardwood and still am impressed.
Solid construction and built in America.
You will not be disappointed!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why didn't I find you earlier !

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Guy
Location: Scotts Valley
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why have I never met anyone with one of these before, why have I got three axes, why did I bother with a 7Ton Log Splitter!.To the last point, I bought it to deal with smaller rounds.
Yes it's great on smaller rounds that are seasoned wood and pine but then attempt splitting freshly cut Californian oak round and prepare to be very disappointed.
My axe bounces off them and the 7ton just made a dent and tripped the circuit.I finally got so frustrated that I took the plunge after a lot of research..
Purchased from Home Depot and took delivery this weekend, the instructions are fine, the packing was a bear to remove but once I got it up and working I put it to task on a pile of rounds I had been collecting.. Pine, Oak, Madrone from pieces that were light to rounds that were too heavy to lift and it sailed through the lot..OK,
I have not lived with it for long but per the picture below, splitting and stacking took approx and hour and its two deep!If you have the room then buy one, you will not be unhappy!
http://flic.kr/p/aqxHA8
http://flic.kr/p/aqxHhe
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter, read on

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Ron
Location: northport maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used a lot of wood splitters, and this is a good one. I did my homework on them for a while before I bought one. Sweet little subaru power plant that starts easy, fairly quiet and does not even groan on big knotty wood.Sips fuel like a honda. I will say this, when you buy it, spent the money and buy the table kit for 60 bucks (it is rugged) and buy the cradle kit for another 39 or whatever it is. Its a must. Probably should be included with the splitter, at least the cradle. Dont hesitate. Ron in Maine
ps- Centrally located controls!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good machine for the money

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Tim
Location: CT
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have split about 15 cords so far with this machine. It has not backed down on anything I have put in front of it. More than enough power for my needs.
The only thing I might change would be the fenders. When splitting large logs they often go against the fenders and if I keep applying pressure the log will bend them. I am considering removing the fenders since I do not drive it much on the road.
A 4 way wedge would be nice. Listening Arien?
All in all, a very good machine. The only maintenace needed to date was changing the oil.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great machine

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Steve
Location: Warrenton, Or
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This splitter works great. The design of the spltter head makes it go through knots pretty easy and so far it has split all I have had to split. The only thing I would change would be the desing of the stand. it is a little cumbersome and can be a knuckle getter at times. Overall a great machine, I would defintely buy another and would recommend this one to all my friends.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Last log splitter you'll ever need!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Stuart
Location: Truckee, CA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a mechanical engineer, like many of the other reviewers, I took a week to exhaustively search the internet for specifications and reviews on the Ariens product as well as competitive log splitters. The Ariens product consistently rated highly with other consumers, and the specifications are outstanding. I picked up my 27 ton Ariens from Home Depot and the next day split 4 cords of pine in a day. The machine is easy to use, starts right up, even after sitting all winter. It converts to the vertical split position readily and is very stable. I live in the Lake Tahoe region and use my Ariens every year. I love this log splitter; it's easily one of my best investments ever.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Design

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Bruce
Location: Aaguanga, California
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This 27 ton splitter does an excellent job. I like the feature that the engine is out of the way from split logs. The engine starts easy and uses little fuel. I thought about buying the 34 ton unit but for me it would have been unnecessary as the 27 ton does the job. I would diffidently recommend this unit to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starts with one pull. It is one super heavy duty machine. If there is a knot, it just cuts right through it. I looked at many splitters and can't believe they could sell such a well made splitter for the price they do. When any of my freinds see it, they just look at it and say, WOW!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but they dont make 'em like they used to.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Todd
Location: georgia
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good splitter for the money. It had a tough time splitting green sweetgum but it still pushed through. The control valve started leaking (around 6 hours of use) but i work with alot of hydraulics so a few seals later i had her going again.The cycle times are a little slow. All this being said its a pretty good splitter (and i use the heck outta this thing)
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good splitter

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Nodrog
Location: Nipigon, ON
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We actually just bought this on a whim, while we were looking to rent one. The Subaru engine was the clincher, as my wife owns one. The controls work well and the motor starts easily and runs well.
We like it a lot.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this product

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
MBol
Location: Manseau, Québec, Canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I like it but it should be a faster to go and return to the position.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of power in a compact package

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Glenn
Location: Canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this splitter after months of reading reviews, looking at other splitters and talking to people who own a splitter. It was very hard to find a negative comment of any kind on this unit.
The smaller footprint and lighter weight are really nice when moving it around. It also sits at the perfect height when attached to the hitch on the back of my ATV. Having the control on the top allows you to operate the splitter form either side. Everything is tucked away nicely and protected from pieces of wood that fall off the beam after being split.
The Subaru engine starts easily, purrs like a kitten and is very stingy on fuel. The power this splitter develops at less than half throttle is astounding. Split about 7 cords of mixed pine, poplar and maple including some knotted gnarly pieces that could not be split by hand. This splitter waltzed right through all the pieces without a problem and I never ran it at more than half throttle. It was quiet enough to stand beside the machine and carry on a conversation.
If there is anything that this splitter needs it is a log cradle. Many reviewers have mentioned that the Ariens cradle is too small. There are cradles available on e-bay, but I decided to design and build one myself. This addition makes this splitter even better.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Starts First Half Pull , No wood can Stop it

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Bernie
Location: Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always known that Ariens Snow Blowers were the best, so when I saw the Ariens log splitter I knew it had to be good.
I had a 25 year old Sears splitter that worked, but was horizontal only,I looked at what was out ther from the other stores, and nothing seem to compare, I looked at the 27 ton and the 34 ton Ariens splitters side by side. The 34 ton just looked like a better match, with the front wheel to move around. I am NOT sorry I spent a few extra dollars for the 34 ton. Took it home, checked the oil, filled the gas, checked the hydraulic oil, mounted the hitch and pulled the cord.
The Subaru engine is great, turn on the gas, choke, and the ignition, half a pull and it's running. Whatever you can get between the rram and the ground can be split, Oak, Ash Maple they all are no match for the Ariens. Why did I wait to get a REAL splitter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product need something

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
just the plate more wide .Exemple the working table.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Far better than another new splitter I bought and then returned.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Doug
Location: Near Orofino, Idaho
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Found this machine to be easy to start, very reliable, VERY economical on fuel, very powerful even running at half throttle. It split right through large knots in large chunks of hard wood. The only thing I thought could be improved is the design of the splitting cradle. When splitting large pieces like stump sections and the wedge broke it in two, the piece on the other side would fall to the ground, meaning I had to go around and pick it up again. I built my own cradle to catch those pieces, which improved the efficiency a lot, but even that design could be improved.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I always wanted

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Chris
Location: Placerville, CA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I searched for a long time and compared brands, models, features, costs, etc. This was after a long, long struggle even deciding to buy a log splitter. When I looked at price, I almost convinced myself they were too expensive. In hindsight, this was the BEST investment I EVER made! This log splitter walks through incredibly hard oak and even some crazy, gnarly ornamental pear that an ax and splitting maul couldn't even dent! It is SO easy to operate, that the wife unit insists on helping! In fact, she loves it, and I rarely get a chance to use it anymore. I spend all my time loading the trailer and stacking the split wood. Sure makes the work go quickly. Plenty of power and great price! Don't even think about it, just DO IT!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This log splitter is the best out there.

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Wally55
Location: Scott,WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with the performance of this machine.I have been splitting hickory for the past two years,about eight cord a year.
The design is superior over the other splitters I have used.It is user friendly from the right side or the left.It flips to vertical super easy.
Having the oil tank in the same plane as the ram is great,you are not standing by the hot oil tank like other machines.If you use it in the warmer months you will agree.
The best manchine on the market,you will not go wrong with this splitter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and powerfull

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Joe
Location: Medford, NJ
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great splitter. Extremely powerful even through knots and crotch sections of the wood. I have been splitting by hand for years and wonder why I did not get this earlier. I even have my teenage son wanting to split wood now for us.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 27-Ton Log Splitter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is another Ariens product that gives us exceptional performance.

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Merle
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very efficient piece of equipment that has been great. We burn wood for heat in the winter. Obtaining our own wood and splitting it has paid for the wood splitter. Ariens products are very efficient, easy to use and very durable. I am only sorry that we did not do this several years sooner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>