Customer reviews for Ariens Classic LM21 S

Ariens Classic LM21 S

You will comfortably roll right along with this walk behind mower…thanks to an ergonomically designed multi-position handlebar that reduces wrist and hand fatigue…use the adjustment brackets to easily dial in one of six cutting heights for a professionally manicured look…to keep you rolling…the mower’s baked-on powder coated finish resists the effects of moisture, fertilizers and chemicals for years of reliable performance…it’s all right here…to dependably cut all your grass out there.
Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5
16
4
8
3
1
2
2
1
0
24 out of 27(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Classic LM21 S
Review 1 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my Ariens walk behind zero-turn/pivot front wheels

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Tim
Location: St. Paul, MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was so impressed with how well I liked my Ariens snow blower, that I had to try their walk behind mower and boy! This is a sweet machine! It's built to last in WI with the quality I associate with Ariens and the Kawasaki engine is so quiet, smooth, powerful and easy to care for. One prime, one pull, starts every time!!
I have nearly an acre of sod on a hilly 2.5 acre lot with several gardens, trees and septic pipes to edge. I enjoy trimming around these before getting out the rider and I was tired of how poorly other brands worked with their fixed wheels, chewing up my lawn around the smaller radius pipes and trees. That's why I wanted the swivel wheels from Ariens. The mower works like a charm and gives me a wonderful cut or mulch.
The infinitely variable speed control and differential rear wheels gives me a wonderful variety of options, if I decide to walk mowing the lawn vs. the rider for a little extra exercise doing the yardwork:) Ariens installed large diameter rears with smaller front wheels and I have no problems getting into small areas and still have the comfort from the bigger wheels. Note, this machine is *heavy*, but with the beautifully adjustable drive system that Ariens put on this, it's no problem to maneuver.
If I have *any* complaints, they are minor for me, one is that adjusting the front wheels requires you to remove a cotter pin and two is to change from a side discharge chute to the mulch shield needs a wrench or socket driver. These are minor and I don't change them very often, so if you find that you like to adjust these during a mowing session, you won't like how it's done on this machine.
I haven't used the bagging system for my Ariens LM21, because of the size of my lawn. If I decide to bag my lawn clippings, I'll use the side discharge on my Ariens during my trimming and bag everything with my riding mower.
Bottom line, this is the *best* walk behind mower that I've ever used in 40 years and I love it! I have no reservations in recommending it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Col in Australia
Quialigo NSW Australia
Our situation sounds similar......
Posted November 9, 2014
Thanks Tim. Our circumstances sound the same as yours. We are in Australia, live in the country and have around 1.5 acres of rough ground around the house and barn to mow. My wife wants to be active and involved but can't manage our zero turn rider, so I'm trying to buy one of these for her to use.
Regards
Col
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

21 years old and still running cast-iron sleeve is the key to a good mower

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Ben
Location: kansas city mo
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Upgrade to the best! Buy an ariens LM 21S! The self-propelled on this mower is industry-leading it not only pulls you uphills but it stops you from rolling down hills when turned on. The other thing I like about ariens mowers is their use of quality engines most mowers on the market use aluminum cylinders which wear out very quickly the Kawasaki Engine has a cast-iron sleeve my ariens mower has a Tecumseh vector engine which also has a cast-iron sleeve. Honda mowers do not have cast-iron sleeves nor do most MTD mowers or craftsman this is a very good mower for anyone who want something that will last. The deck is very well constructed, my neighbor just throughout a Honda mower with a rusted out deck that was much newer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I only push a Ariens around my lawn.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Smokey
Location: Marysville, WA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In 40 years I have had 3 LS21's. This should be my last one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1989 Still Going strong!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Ian
Location: Northern Ohio
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought new In 1989, Good old 5HP Tecumseh "Vector" Engine always starts first pull, Even after sitting all winter.
Swivel wheels Make turning so easy! And the Vacuum Action sucks up leaves in the fall.
If this mower ever does give out finally, You can bet what kind Will be replacing it.... Yep! Another Ariens 21 LMS.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Lance
Location: Sandy, Utah
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned the same Ariens mower since 1992. During that time all of my neighbors have gone through 3 machines (Toro). I convinced my next door neighbor to get an Ariens about 11 years ago and they are still using that. They are great for bagging but I use mine almost exclusively for mulching and it does a great job. My boys used it in a business for about 10 years mowing anywhere from 10 to 20 lawns a week. But now I just use it to mow my lawn every week. The Briggs engine still starts on the first or second pull. My parents have now bought Ariens on my recommendation and love it. It has outlasted my brother's honda. It still looks nice. The paint job is the best in class. If you want quality and endurance Ariens's is the best.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Mower

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Moparfan
Location: Grand Island, NE
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a good mower,but wish it had the feature that you can shut off the blade without shutting the engine off. I often pick up small twigs and end up have to shut engine off. This is my first Ariens mower so will see how many years it will last.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not excellent

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
scott3323
Location: Green Bay WI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs great blows a little blue smoke when started. The self propel is a little tight when pushing around in garage the back wheels seem locked when you turn.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Speed control not great

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Robert
Location: Montreal
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My speed control slides slowly into hi speed and remains there while I am using the mower. I am frequently adjusting the speed to slow down the machine otherwise I am chasing the mower.
I can adjust the setting by turning a bolt a quarter turn, but to get at the bolt is not easy as the cover plate is hard to reinstall. Also the connecting piece is made out of plastic and wont last.
Otherwise, a terrific mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lawn mower!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
GeorgiaDoug
Location: Bloomingdale, GA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavy duty mower. Cuts beautifully. Kawasaki engine starts if you just look at it!! Love it. Highly recommended....
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

engine

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
gary
Location: lubbock,tx
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
engine is hard to start and easy to flood-recommend starter fluid only and avoid using the primer bulb
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Solid with peculiarities.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Nate
Location: Wisconsin
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Positives: 1) amazing construction. It's solid. 2) extremely powerful motor. 3) agile despite its size.
Negatives: 1) the set speed tends to fluctuate slightly during use as the adjustment rod moves in or out. 2) the front wheel locking mechanism engages unintentionally. 3) the gas reservoir is shaped in such a way that when being filled it's empty, empty, empty, then abruptly full and spilling fuel all over. 4) adjusting the deck height is a major pain.
So all my negatives are design-related issues. They should be able to do better for such an expensive mower. I still enjoy mowing and, in the end, placed more importance on dependability, durability, and power than on design.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this mower.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Mike
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's a good product, but I had an issue with the differential after only using it 4 times. I took it in to the dealer and they fixed it (cleaned and lubed). I never had this issue on my previous Ariens mower which I used for 15 years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great walk-behind lawnmower!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Don
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great model! The swivel front wheels were the feature that sold me. The mower also has more than ample power. The mower is a single pull start and very easy to use. This is the second Airens same model that I have owned. I would recommend this model for use where there are landscape features that need precision movement with the lawnmower.
Don
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I wanted!

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works the balls! Tilled a new garden out of tough grass and soil in no time!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine my 2nd one

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Joe
Location: Lubbock Texas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very durable machine we mow 20 yards per day both machine operate as good as the day I bought them one 2 years ago the other this year considering purchasing the 3rd one. Variable,speed transmission is awesome easy to adjust Easy to start even in cold weather
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mower cuts great but a little heavy and hard to handle

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Pete
Location: Fort worth, Texas
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This lawn mower does an excellent job mowing the lawn and getting though deep grass. My wife loves to mow the grass but it is harder to maneuver than my other mowers. The main reason I bought this mower is I was tired of purchasing a new mower every 3 to 4 years. This mower is solidly built and seems easy to repair I do bring my mower in every year to keep it maintained
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Jack
Location: Brandon Manitoba Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first time i went to use this mower this year (2013) it started with the first pull.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing and frustrating

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Mike
Location: Ramona, CA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I have owned the Classic LM21 S for just over 1 year. As a homeowner user with a 1/2 acre lot, I felt that this mower might be more than I needed but I wanted a durable and easy to use mower that would last a lifetime.
Putting the negative first, the idler pulley wheel design on this mower is very poor.
In one year, I have replaced the idler wheel three times. This is presumably due to misalignment. Basically the idler wheel is being melted by the drive belt which then necessitates its replacement. The design of the self-propel function is not sophisticated but it does rely of the belt being able to stay within the flanges of the wheel itself. However, the belt rides high and there is no way to adjust its height. So, as the idler wheel is made of plastic, it rubs and melts it until the belt will no longer stay on. It is unclear as to why the belt slips at all.
An aluminum idler wheel may solve this issue as would the ability to adjust the belt's or wheel's height. After three wheel replacements in 1 year, I am considering having an aluminum wheel custom made for me.
The mower, in all other respects, is excellent. It is very well made with a heavy gauge of steel for the decking which does not make the unit itself too heavy. The swivel front wheels make mowing around tight areas easy and have a lock-out for slopes. The Kawasaki engine is a dream with one-pull start even after two weeks of downtime.
All in all, this is an excellent mower that is marred by a poor self-propel design. Had I known of this issue, I would not have purchased this mower but instead have looked for one that was gear driven.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic LM 21 S

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Nick
Location: New York
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great machine I would not own any other Brand, only draw back is it is slightly heavier then the Model before other than that Just Great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Classic LM21 S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Chris
Location: Sammamish, WA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second ariens mower last one went 15 years, only mower that vacuums like an ariens!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>