Customer reviews for Ariens Compact 24

Ariens Compact 24

This Ariens® Compact Sno-Thro® Series is an exceptional value, providing outstanding snow removal performance in a compact frame that is easy to store and operate in tight environments.
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(863 reviews) 863
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 863 reviews
5
636
4
180
3
18
2
21
1
8
821 out of 863(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Compact 24
Review 81 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit with good power matchup

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Paul
Location: Bothwell Ont
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only was able to use the blower twice but both times started first pull and good power to do the job. Set up from new was relatively easy. The only complaint is the light. Glares bad at night. Needs a cover to keep glare from operator. Cannot see the controls when getting dark. Just unplugged the light and all is good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is perfect for all my sno-throwing needs.

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Barry16
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I actually was looking to buy a new sno-thrower last Feb/2012. We didn't have a lot of snow that winter and the snow was gone by Mar. I decided to see if i could get a late season discount by purchasing one at the end of the season. Dealer discounts were minimal. In Feb. 2013, we had a lot more snow than normal and I noticed that Home Depot in Winnipeg, Mb. was selling exactly the model I was looking for at a price that I could afford. I purchased the Compact 24 and got to use it with at least 2-major blizzards. I was impressed. Great easy to follow instruction manual, All features are in nice easy to access positions. My old sno-thrower never had electric start and at very low temperatures was hard to start. That feature alone is fantastic. Your videas are also helpful. THANK YOU AGAIN.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

24 compact a real winner

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Rich
Location: Chicago ,IL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just upgraded my snow blower last year from an older 1980s Ariens compact model. The older Ariens still did the job with no problems and ran like a top and could go another 30 plus years no questions. What made me buy new was all of the improvements over the past 30 something years Ariens has made. Better ergonomics, farther throwing, better shoot control, speed selections forward and reverse, operators light, spare shear pins, easy start pull or electric. I was able to get between parked cars through gates go over curbs and much more. All while putting the snow where I wanted it to be. The wet heavy stuff was no problem at all. This machine gets an A+++ all around in my book. After the last storm of wet heavy stuff all the guys with the single stage blowers learned a lesson on why single stage blowers are so limited compared to two stage. A few of my other neighbors had some of those off brand type blowers and had trouble starting them and some froze up and needed the ice chipped off in order to operate the shoot. My 24 compact just kept on going without any problems and I have zero complaints.
My 24 compact will be with me till the end. Great job Ariens keep up the good work.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compact design. Very powerful

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Eric
Location: Holliston, MA USA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this machine in the middle of the 2012-2013 New England winter, when my 20 y/o, 8 hp, 27" (non-Ariens) machine broke down. I was reluctant to go to a smaller machine. However, after I started using my new Ariens, I was amazed at how easily the compact model threw snow. Its smaller, lighter design made it easy for my wife and son to operate. This snowblower is a work- horse and a great value.
My only complaint is the location of the powerful headlight. It tends to blind the operator when tipping the machine backwards. I put a piece of black tape across the top of the light lens and this solved the problem.
I would still recommend this machine .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to operate even in the deepest snow

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
kathy
Location: connecticut
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a 64 year old woman and had my doubts about my abillity to use a snowblower. The Ariens is a perfect machine. It is easy to start and with both wheels engaged I had no difficulty removing deep snow from my drive this past winter. I would recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a new snowblower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed with the Compact 24 after the first winter of use.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Don
Location: Cambridge, ON
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Compact 24 has lots of power, handles wet heavy snow as well as much larger machines. Electric start is great but almost unnecessary with how easy it turns over. Light enough to maneuver in tight spots.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. Easy to put together 24 inch snowblower

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Ken
Location: Maryland
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought it this winter and it has been a life saver.. Just love . No problems at all. Starts up very easy and works like a beast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought for Winter 2012/2013. Used 3 or 4 times. Deepest snow was about 26". Did the job well. Had to r&r one shear pin. Simple job. One handle bolt fell out. Home Depot gave me a new one. Very satisfied with product. I suggest when servicing with gas to look over the machine for any loose bolts, etc.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Snow Trower

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Norm
Location: Southern Ontario
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to complete final assembly. Started on 1st pull. After getting used to the controls and handing it was smooth going in all conditions. Plowed thru deep snow from fluffy snow to wet "concrete" like snow.
Not hard to engage the 2nd wheel but it does limit turning ability on tight turns. It saved my bacon this winter of heavy and frequent snow in Southern Ontario. My neighbours are quite pleased I purchased the machine as well. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great unit! You will finally love lots of snow!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Erik
Location: Aurora, CO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading countless reviews for Ariens and other brands of snow blowers, I chose the Ariens because I felt this was a large investment and would last the longest. The unit is so easy to start that I haven't used the electric start yet. The unit performs as expected and the only downside I have found so far is that when the snow is over 12" high, the machine seems to bog down and the front end starts to lift up off of the ground. I wish there was an additional slower speed to select to help deal with higher amounts of snowfall. The unit will run well over two hours on a tank of gas and using it will become addictive (I find myself clearing all of the neighbors driveways and sideways). I love this snow blower and I wished I had bought it sooner!!!
A helpful hint from a neighbor was to spray WD-40 in the shoot and on the blades to prevent snow from sticking to the machine and sure did help.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine has stopped the threat of snow

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Allan
Location: Pine Beach, NJ
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my compact 24 this past october after having to have had to shovel record snow the past 2 winters.
Once getting it home assembling everything and even waxing the machine I filled it up with fuel and ran it for the precribed break in period, it hasen't snowed since so next week I'll be draining the fuel and storing it for next winter.
I highly recommend this machine as it almost entirely prevented any snowfall
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to manouver & operate

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Royal
Location: Winnipeg , Manitoba - Canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enjoy my 1st. ever snow- throwing machine and I must say I am truly impressed with it.
I only wish I would have had heated grips on the machine as the weather in Winnipeg is sometimes unbearable in winter.
Thank you Ariens for such a good product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot beat this snowblower for price and performance.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
William
Location: Sanford, Maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had an older model Ariens which lasted for almost 17 years. Bought a Toro which wasn't built as I anticipated. Decided to go back to the Ariens which I bought at Home Depot. A lot of snow in York County, Maine in the winter of 2012-2013, the Ariens ran and threw the snow effortlessly. I especially liked the chute controls and tires which grabbed in light or heavy wet snow. Great machine...................!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact 24

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Ken
Location: Suburban Cleveland, Ohio
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this machine last fall from a landscape equipment supplier. Used this past winter with no problems. Easy to use and went through the snow like a breeze. Very well built no rattles or shakes. When I was looking at the different brands last fall I asked the salesman what he had, " we all have Ariens" he replied , sold!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If I had to do it all over, I'd purchase it again!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Brian
Location: Lincoln, NE
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
When I was looking for a snow blower I read a lot of reviews. Ariens was the top recommendation. I started looking in August just to be sure I had time to get the most for my money and I sure feel I did. In fresh powder snow it muscles right through. Icy snow slows down a bit but still not bad. If you get into wet snow, regardless of blower type, make sure to keep you shoot cleaned out. The wet snow tends to build up and freeze in there. I am definitely pleased with the performance of this model in any type of snow we had this year. Even did the neighbors several times.
Only thing I didn't like so far was the headlight. It is so bright you are nearly blinded when you look down to change gears. But I wouldn't say this is a big deal as I would rather have the light, which came in handy, than to not have it.
Never got a chance to try out the electric start because the darn thing started first pull every time. Wish my Craftsman mower did that.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressive all around

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a machine that was easier to use then my machine of many miles. The Compact 24 did just that. It is easy to use and control, plenty of power to move the snow out of the way. The CT blizzard Feb 2013 gave it a real test. I'm so glad Ariens was recommended by a friend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact 24

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
William
Location: Barrie Ontario Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my compact 24 in the fall of 2012 from Home Depot. At frist I was concerned that it would be too small as this machine is just a 205cc engine and my old machine is a 10hp and it strugles some times. I was very surprised to see how well the Ariens performed and the ease of handling this machine. I am so impressed with this machine that I am now looking at new lawn Tractor and the only manufacturer I have concidered is Ariens William Mays
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a woman that is 4'10" and it handles beautifully. Living in New Brunswick, we get a lot of snow. The machine is easy to start and maneuver. I couldn't be happier with the product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality. Great value. Great machine!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Bruce
Location: East Aurora, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having recently retired and able to sleep in, I cancelled my plow service and purchased my first snow blower. Heeding the advice of my brother-in-law, I purchased a Compact 24 from Home Depot. Living in the snowbelt south of Buffalo, NY, I was unsure if I had purchased the proper machine.to handle an annual 100" snowfall. The Compact 24 was a joy to operate and never disappointed me with its features and power. I could do my double-width driveway,185' sidewalk, and patio in about a half-hour.. This allowed me time to do my neighbors' walks as well. I enjoyed using ths machine and would heartily recommend it to anyone looking for great quality at a great price.
PS: I puchased a floor model and received an operators' manual from the Ariens' service department in a matter of days. Fantastic people to work with!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Compact 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great out of the box even though it is my first snow thrower

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Charlie
Location: Oakhurst, New Jersey
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
After 40 years of shoveling a 100' by 20' driveway plus a 150' front walk and a wrap around the house walk plus patio and deck, I said enough.
Purchased my Ariens Compact 24 and prayed for snow. Easy assembly and started at the first push of the start button. I now even do my next door neighbors front walk.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 44 next>>