Customer reviews for Ariens Deluxe 30

Ariens Deluxe 30

Don't let Mother Nature's winter fury slow you down. From light accumulation to dense, heavy snow, the Ariens Deluxe Sno-Thro series snowblowers empower you to clear your path through 16" of snow with a throwing distance of up to 50 feet. Featuring a large 14-inch, 3-blade high-speed impeller, you'll throw more snow in less time so you can get back to what matters.
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(299 reviews) 299
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 299 reviews
5
232
4
46
3
7
2
6
1
8
280 out of 299(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Deluxe 30
Review 1 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine.

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Ontario
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One mean mighty snow blowing machine!!!!!!!! Great Investment!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ariens Deluxe 30" Snow Blower

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Massachusetts
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wished I had something good to say. For the first 3 snow blowing usage after only 1 week that I bought it, I gave it 5 stars. It work great. The next time I used it in week 2, the auger stopped turning. I thought spending over $1,350+ would allow me to get a reliable snow blower. The belt came off and Home Depot technicians couldn't fix it. I was told that something was wrong with pulley/belt drive system as they too noticed the belt slipping off the pulley tracks. I now have a 15"+ snow storm approaching with no snow blower as my less than 2 week snow blower is in repair. I decided to return the unit since it couldn't be fixed in timely manner and the fact that I saw over a dozen Arien snow blowers waiting to be reparied which scared me.
I think its reasonable to expect these snow blowers lasting at least 1 year with no belt issues assuming they have been taken care of and well maintained. There is no excuse for this expensive 30" snow blower to not work after only 3 uses within 2 weeks of purchase.
I'm looking at Ariens competitors for my next 30" - 36" snow blower. I didn't like the fact that Home Depot did not have pickup service or in-home repairs for these very heavy snow blowers. It cost me over $70 to transport it to and from store. The warranty at home depot requires you to deliver it to the store for repairs. This unit was way to big for one person to move it or load it onto a truck. I had to get a UHAUL trailer with low ramp in order to transport it by myself. Renting the home depot truck with RAMP took 3 of us to load it with empty tank of gas as the ramp was very steep and the unit very heavy.
I hope in the future that Ariens pays more attention to QA as there is no excuse for the belt for auger to come off pulley track after only 3 uses for residential application.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful Snow blower, got through a real bad stretch of winter

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Saint John, NB Canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
So I'll tell you a story....
Early 2015, Saint John, NB Canada. We had 4 storms in 5-6 days each with at least 25-30 cms (about a foot). I could not keep up with it. My in-laws live next door in their 80's and they obviously couldn't get out there and do too much. So it was left to me...
On my street, the snow drifts...very bad...there are some spots that would be 3-4 feet and that's without the plow ridge.
So I was hoping to wait it out and buy a slow blower int he late winter to get one at a decent price. Do the "tough it out" stance...it was a stupid stance given the amount of snow that piled up.
So I was looking around and wouldn't you know it...none to be found. One store was getting them in but they were Ariens. I knew they were very good, but I also knew they were not the cheapest in the market. We conversed and said the heck with it. I orderd the Deluxe 30 and I was not disappointed. I knew that a smaller 24 inch wouldn't cut it for clearing two houses both front and back.
The Deluxe 30 starts up very well, the auto turn can be a little tricky, but with a little nudging, it works very well. There was a video available on their Youtube channel that addressed the herky-jerky issue and is easy to correct. I highly recommend all Ariens owners to subscribe to their Youtube channel.
I was able to cut three driveways and both walkways to both my in-law's and my house with little issue. I was also able to get to the back decks, the sheds and the workshop cleared out as well. They were a little tricky, but as you can see if the picture, this was pack powder along with a crusty frozen layer. In some places it was over the 21" Auger opening, but with a quick reverse and moving forward in lower speeds, I had little effort to get through it. The 30" swath makes it easy to get around in the newly cut paths I made. I'm sure my oil heating guy is going to appreciate it too...
The drive speeds works very well and I can power back out of a drift very easily with the 2nd Reverse speed.
I burned through about 4 tanks of gas (roughly) to clear out the front and back of both houses but given the amount of snow that I had to clear, I was expecting that. My only issue is that it requires Supreme gas (E10) which does cost more than regular Unleaded, but it is a minor glitch given the amount of times I would use it in a run of a year. I expect much less use after that initial clearing unless Mother Nature wants to have more fun with us. The Winter is young. I at least know this machine is up to the task.
I have used this about 3 times so far and in between these three times I have shut it off and started it all with the pull cord several times. At first I had some issues but realized I was doing it wrong. I recounted what the dealer showed me and what I read out of the manual and after some messing around with the settings, it's really very easy to start. Plus I have the electric start if needed.
If this thing is the norm on how it works, I will enjoy the use of this machine for years to come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great piece of equipment

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good machine. Had storm after storm lately and nothing got in the way of my Deluxe 30. And will throw snow same or more than the leading blowers. Only downfall is the lighting.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

won't start

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Moncton New Brunswick
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very frustrated with this machine. I bought it at Home Depot in February 2014 and probably haven't used it 8 times. When I purchased it the salesman had a hard time getting it to start but once he did it was dismissed as just being new. Since then it has been harder to start than one would expect from a new machine but did start the first 6 or 7 times and worked great when it did. Then last week when I used it everything was fine until I was almost finished. It died as if it had run out of gas which I assumed was the case. Since I was almost done I put it in the garage and left it until yesterday when I really needed it during a fierce storm. I noticed when I added gas that it didn't appear to be empty and after some effort it started only to quit at the end of the first trip down my driveway. I had to pull it uphill to my garage and placed it for 24 hours in the heat assuming it had frozen. I added gas line antifreeze and rolled it over with the electric start but it will not go. Does not appear to have any spark. Unknown to me I was supposed to register a warranty card with Ariens. I have been told it will be a week before the 3rd party shop they use can look at it and then I doubt it will be covered even though it is less than a year old and rarely used. When it works it's great but I live in New Brunswick where snow is abundant. I purchased this for reliability, definitely not getting that!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ariens Deluxe 30 was one of my best investment.

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Cheshire, CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been using an older Ariens Compact 24" for several years. That machine served me well and was a very good $350 purchase off of Craigslist. I have two dogs that need to go outside plus a wood pile, so I always throw more snow then what is on my driveway. We have had a few years where the snow acumulation was very deep from consecutive storms. Fall of 2014 I made a choice to buy the Deluxe 30" new from a local dealer. I've used it maybe three times so far and yesterday's strorm that dumped 12" or so with drifting on top of that put the machine to the test. My old machine couldnt throw certain snow too far, like watery slush for one example. Also the 24" would only throw the snow so far, so for consecutive storms, I would end up with a five foot bank that the 24" couldnt throw the snow over. Those days are behind me. Yesterdays storm was powder and I was able to throw the snow 50' and even made a pass between the cars and threw the snow up over the van. I did my driveway, two loops wide around the house for the dogs and drainage and climbed the hill in back so I can get to my wood pile. A previous storm had heavy watery slush down at the end of my driveway, I threw it 50'. Another storm I cleared my house, and two neighbors driveways and made a pass down the sidewalk across the street to the corner bus stop for the kids. Very, Very please with my purchase. I put the heated hand grips on at the dealer as an extra, great $80.00 upgrade and it does make a difference. I also bought the drift cutters and rubber matt for the garage floor. I was able to clear the snow much faster with the larger 30" machine. I wasn't tired either like I used to get with the 24" machine. The 30" had plenty of power to get my jobs done. Only thing that took a little getting used to was with the drive mechanism the way it is, it does feel like it wants to go to the left slightly as I drive forward. I am able to turn easy on a dime as they say. I have gotten used to the machine and I dont notice it now. I am glad I made this purchase and I would recommend it without hesitation. At the dealer shop I noticed the Professional model had better balance if you were to push down on the handles and keep the front end off the ground. With the Deluxe 30" pushing down on the handles to keep the front end off the ground takes more strength and can tire you out some.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product - good price

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good design, if your short like I am you need to push up on the handle bars to get force enough to scrape the surface clean.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Machine

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Hurley, WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in the Lake Superior snow belt and my Deluxe 30 does a great job moving a lot of snow. I'm on my second winter with it and feel it is very well built and dependable. Starts on the first or second pull every time, I don't even bother with the electric start. My only complaint is that it's too slow in reverse, which is why I knocked it down 1 star. That seems to be a common theme with Ariens on snowblower blogs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment for me

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Little Chute, WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After owning snowblowers that just didn't cut it when it came to the heavy deep snow in the apron I found myself plowing through it with ease every time this last winter. We definitely had enough snow to test the power of my new snowblower. I'm very happy with it's overall performance
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: St. Paul, Mn
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to start, use, and move snow. Best feature is the easy turn system.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Manotick, Ontario Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time purchase of an Ariens product which was recommended by a mechanic friend, it did not disappoint. Only used this first winter no problems and it moved the snow. Good value when compared to other products available at the other big box stores in Canada.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This snow blower is user friendly

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: exeter, On
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I found this snow blower easy to use and performed flawlessly last winter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The product is defective

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Stratford, Ct.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am on my 2nd snow blower. The first one leaked gas from the start around the primer. Returned, fixed, no it did the same thing. Was given a new one by Ariens and would you believe it, surprise, its doing it worse then the first one. Also leaks oil. Obviously there is a major problem with these machines that needs to be addressed. I will return this one and lets see if the problem can be rectified this time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment...outstanding performance

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Stoneham, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this model after watching my next door neighbor use his Ariens
921032 for two seasons. I formerly owned a smaller Craftsman machine for 16 years during which the New England area had significant snowfall
and I was tired of struggling with it. My new Ariens is a real joy to operate
and made short work of the snow we had this year!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Snow Blower!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with my Ariens Deluxe 30 Snow Blower. I purchased it after researching various snow blowers and Customers reviews.
I live on the end of a dead end street and always have to deal with the piles of wet heavy snow that is left at the end of my driveway. This machine blows thru anything that we received in the Boston area this winter!
Although I have only had it for one winter, I am confident this machine will provide me years ot excellent service!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great snow thrower

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: CT
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been very happy with this product. It struggles with only an inch or two, but when we get 5-18" of snow this thing really shines!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
G.W.
Martinsburg, WV
A Fine Piece of Equipment
Posted January 28, 2015
My purchase sure did scare the "snow gods". I've owned my Dlx 30 for almost 3 months and we've had a total of 10 inches of snow. I forced myself to take it out in a 3 inch snowfall just to test it out! Everything works well, but I sure would like to "put 'er to the test"! Support is fantastic and they have gone "over and above" for me. This was a big investment for me, but I'll probably never need another snow blower.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This model was a great value

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Shrewsbury, ma
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did a significant amount of research online and found this to be one of the best values available at this price point.
I do wish it had the larger wheels found on the platinum model.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine bets the Toro same size less money

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Methuen Ma.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had 4 Machines in 30 years. This is a class Act. Great machine. Went threw every thing that was put down this year.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful machine that withstood a tough 2014 winter in the NorthEast

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cheshire, CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fortunate for me, I purchased the 921032 just before the winter season in the Northeast. I was able to clear three driveways without a problem through the various storms. There was a larger than normal amount of snow storms this year, so my timing was great. I had a smaller model of Ariens, which has been great too, but it just wasn't big enough to handle sidewalks and all of the plow "slush".
I recommend this machine to anyone that needs a new one or an upgrade to a more powerful snow thrower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Deluxe 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done quickly, quietly and right.

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Worcester MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although my Ariens of 25 years was still running, it was time. This 30 inch deluxe had everything and thensome for me. The hand warmers was the icing on this machine let alone the 50 foot throw, quick starting and maneuverability.
I would have liked the automatic turning, but saving $300. on the manual worked for me.
Great machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>