Customer reviews for Ariens Deluxe 24

Ariens Deluxe 24

Don't let Mother Nature's winter fury slow you down. From light accumulation to dense, heavy snow, the Ariens Deluxe Sno-Thro series snowblowers empower you to clear your path through 16" of snow with a throwing distance of up to 50 feet. Featuring a large 14-inch, 3-blade high-speed impeller, you'll throw more snow in less time so you can get back to what matters.
Overall rating:
4.618 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(259 reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 259 reviews
5
199
4
39
3
9
2
6
1
6
243 out of 259(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Deluxe 24
Review 1 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded all Expectations

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Acton, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Previously owned a 6hp 1980 Vintage Ariens 24" until deciding I wanted more hp. The Ariens was the only product considered. When the blizzard arrived in MA. on February 8th it dropped a 40" drift, which the Ariens just picked up and let me throw where it needed to go. Sometimes up to 40 feet. Was very pleased to have purchased the 250 CC engine and was really surprised at how much better the fuel economy was.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Craig
Mishawaka In.
Posted January 23, 2015
I purchased a 24" Ariens and it has been great. It handles all types of snow and even goes through the heavy drifts with ease. Starts on the first pull and really don't use the electric start. I would recommend this machine for anyone who has a lot of snow.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Carroll H
Old Saybrook, CT
For the money, best snowblower I have ever owned
Posted February 15, 2014
I live on the coast, the snow tents to be wet and heavy, when it does snow. My old snow blower died and with the number of storms we are having this year, I needed a new one. I purchased the Deluxe 24 on a whim, not the way I do things, but this time it worked out for the best. I called the local dealer, New England Power Equipment at 4:50, he told me that they had two ready for sale and they would stay past 5:00 to let me see the machine. The dealer let me test the snow blower in their parking lot, seemed to do the job, so I bought it.
When I got home, I wanted to put this machine to the test. My driveway had 4"-5" of very wet snow, just rained for 2 hours, to be removed. I went at and this machine threw that snow over 15' away, getting me down to the black top. My driveway has a 10 degree incline, I would recommend the chains for steep driveways.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Åke P
Sweden
Broken down
Posted January 16, 2014
I bought the snow blowers in march or april last year. Since then i have used it 10-12 hours maximum. Now it has broken down.
It´s not the snow blower that is broken, but the forward (or backward) driving function.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 2 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

24 inch deluxe

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Upstate NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got thru my first winter with the 24inch deluxe. It proved to be all I could ask for. The winter in the north east had a few monster storms this year. I can say that this snow blower handled all conditions. The heaviest snow left some of my neighbors unable to move the snow / ice with their blower, I went over and the Ariens just cleared the way with no issues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerful Snow Blower

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Here in northeast New Jersey we get ugly heavy snow. I have the 24" deluxe and it just rips right through any kind of snow including the dreaded heavy slush. It throws the snow as far as you need it to and then some. At the bottom of the driveway where the plows push all the compact heavy snow chunks, the Ariens just moves right through it. I can finish off my driveway in 1/10 the time it used to take to shovel it all. I now do 1/2 a dozen senior neighbors as well. It's so strong that when I ran into a weekend newspaper, the Ariens just shredded the newspaper and blew it out on the front lawn....certainly better than jamming the whole thing up. I like the 6 forward speeds and 2 reverse speeds. the 5 position chute gives me a lot of control. The pull start is easy to pull and the machine starts within 3 pulls every time. The electric start works perfectly if you didn't want to pull. I like the large gas cap which makes it easy to fill with your gloves still on. I like that when it's in neutral, it's so easy to move around.
I have 2 issues that are not deal breakers, but I wish were a little bit different. I'm not a fan of the power turn feature. Like other reviews, if one of the tires hits some ice or a curb, the wheels sense a difference in speed and the machine goes into turning mode. You have to wrestle it a little bit. I wish there was a locking mechanism on the wheel itself to engage or disengage this feature for a solid axle drive....sort of like the old school 4 wheel drive locking hubs. Also, the chute only has a 180degree swivel potential. When I'm approaching the sidewalk, I wish I could shoot the snow slightly backwards....like a 240 degree swivel instead.
But overall, this machine is a beast. It's so strong and the gearbox and all the other components are made of thick quality material. Just roll one up next to a competitor and you'll see the difference right away. Most other machines have so much more plastic now. I would totally buy another Ariens..... if I ever needed to.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This model propells the snow 35 ft. which I need to clear the driveway.

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Highland, Indiana
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Before I purchased the Ariens Deluxe this season, I was a satisfied owner of a Ariens snow blower for 35 years. The old Ariens gave such dependable service that I would only consider replacing it with a new Ariens model. This new Ariens Deluxe 24 already has impressed me with its performance this season.
My only problem is....this new Ariens will out live me!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC MACHINE 10 HP 32"

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Ontario Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have owned our machine since 1985 and it still has performed great the only thing I can find a little fault with is the placement of the leaver that controls the direction of the Shute on our machine it is on the left side the So you have let go of the auger to reach across and turn the shute GREAT MACHINE LOVE IT
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a solid perfoming machine

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Wayne, PA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I searched all the snow blower options, and knew Ariens was the best. However, only when I ran this fine machine did I truly appreciate how good a product this is. Know that you do get what you pay for. Spend the extra money and get an Ariens. You will be glad you did.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: PEI Canada
Wonderful machine.
So happy we bought it this fall.
We had an exceptional amount of snow and it lived up to its name!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the Delux 24" has made this winter so much easier on me

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Putnam County, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We live in the lower Hudson Valley of New York, so you know what kind of winter this 2014-2015 has been temperature and snowfall wise. It's not Boston, but we've had 6 snowfalls so far and another is coming in 2 days. I bought this Ariens in late October 2014 and it has been a wonderful machine with which to work.
My driveway is 60 x 10 feet uphill from the garage on the north side of the house; the bottom is 900 square feet and flat. For the past 33 years I've used a one-stage Honda, which has performed outstandingly, but needs leg and arm power to help propel it up the hill. The Ariens climbs easily in the lower 3 speeds, depending on how much snow has fallen.
It starts on the first pull every time and is easy to control and to turn. It parks conveniently in the space between my 2 garage doors, ready to go twice a week when we have snow. The one time I had to use it at night, the headlight provided adequate illumination on areas of the driveway that were not well lighted by the outside house lights. It also clears the piles of snow deposited by the town plow as it does the street. I've also used it to clear a path on our front lawn for our dog to use. It does not seem to be damaging the grass and is blowing between 12 to 16 inches of snow as it goes.
Finally, it maneuvers easily when I park it in the garage and does not take up much space.
One small improvement that could be made would be a different position for the shute swivel control. It's a manual handle and you have to let go of one control (either auger or driven wheels) to have a hand free in order to move the shute. You also have to reach over the control panel to get to the handle. It's a small inconvenience.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Machine

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Mannville, Alberta
This machine holds up well to Canadian Winters - Starts Excellent - Adjustable snow throw a great feature - Also like that all the controls are on the top - Lots of power for a smaller machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tons better than my old Craftsman one

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Greenville, Mi
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this machine. It clears snow really well and so far I haven't found anything that it can't handle. I even blew snow through my lawn to make a path for the utility guys that has a hill that my rider can't go up, no problem for this blower. The only problem I have had is for some reason the speed control won't slow down but it is full speed and seems to work good anyway. It has so many features that make it a great snow blower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Design

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The design of the Deluxe 24" is second to none. The steel frame, solid construction, and easy steer functions make this blower an excellent choice. It is small enough to get into most tight spaces around the typical home owner's property but strong enough to blow the snow far away very easily. Starts easily every time. Love the manual crank for the shoot direction. Any other blower I've had with the "joystick" and cable has malfunctioned within the first 1-2 seasons. You wont be sorry you bought this one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I liked it for the short time it ran

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Greenwood NS
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Forth time out, first real heavy snow fall, the flywheel lost a magnet. The loaner Ariens supplied by my dealer worked once and is now in my shed with a massive oil leak. It was blowing a lot of soot from the exhaust. Mine has been broken for a week and parts have been hard to find for the dealer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is our 2nd Ariens product we have purchased for its excellent durability and performance.

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Whiteshell Provincial Park
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our 1st Ariens was a gift to one of our children two winters ago. They love it!
Our old snow blower broke down and we purchased a Ariens snow blower this winter from Accurate Lawnmower in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.
Jim Neufeld, the owner, has been fantastic. He spent time to go over the operation of the machine and answered all of my questions. Jim offered his services anytime. Always promptly called me back if I had a question.
We live in the country and have lots of snow. Our Ariens snow blower is easy to operate, reliable and has handled all of our snow removal needs. A top feature is to be able to throw the snow as far away as we need it to go. The chute controls are easy to manage. It is easy to walk and corner with this machine. It starts with the pull start in one pull with ease or I could use the electric start. Nice knowing you have the option.
I highly recommend this machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ariens 24 Deluxe

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Quebec , QC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought my first house , that includes my first snow blower .
I really looked around before buying this machine . Allot of people told me how Ariens are great machines . So I must of looked up all Ariens videos on youtube . And told myself yep thats it I'm going for it !!
So I went to ''Aux petits moteurs Québec'' where they sell pretty much only Ariens . I really wasn't sure which machine to buy . I was first looking at the compact . The dealer was great and asked me a few questions , what kind of terrain ,driveway size,paved or not , backyard clearing. I was really happy on the way he suggested me what type of machine to get . Like he said '' I don't want you to go home and have the wrong tool'' and he did not try to sell me a 3000$ machine. Service was great ! And delivered at home for free.
Winter isn't over yet but I have to say this machine eats snow it serves all around purpose . I also noticed how quiet it is on idle compared to me neighbor , even my wife likes to use it :) . I can't wait to do the maintenance on it this spring , the owner manual is also great on what to do and when .
Sorry for my bad english .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Keith
Kingston, Nova Scotia, Canada
Dependable!
Posted February 19, 2015
In July of 1993 I purchased an Ariens 8/24 powered by tucumsen. Other then replacing 1 auger shear pin, installing 1 carb kit, greasing and changing the oil annually, is the complete maintenance I have done on this almost 22 year old machine.
I start this machine everytime on the second pull, even after coming out of summer storage.
What more do I need to say.......DEPENDABLE!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, Québec
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great SnowBlower. It is solid and can take much more than I though. I live on a Bolevard in the North of Quebec And I have to blow a huge Snowblank every morning mixed up with Ice.
That Deluxe is making it right!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Bill
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Amazing Power!
Posted February 16, 2015
I bought an Ariens in Sept 2014. I read reviews of all kinds of blowers before I purchased this one. Our winters in Saskatchewan are usually pretty cold (can be -40's with wind chill factor) along with a lot of snow. I was looking for a blower that would start easily on first 2-4 pulls or if equipped with a starter, I wouldn't have to run the starter for more than 10 seconds. The cold temps just freeze everything so machines usually find it hard to fire up. I couldn't believe how easy this machine started. First time I needed it the temperature was -33 Celsius without the wind chill factored in. It didn't take a full pull and my Deluxe 24 fired up without so much as a cough! My yard is 75' long and my blower was throwing the 3-5 foot drifts to my back fence.
My neighbor wanted to use my snow blower over his new one which he purchased the year before. It is NOT an Ariens! He was amazed!
I would recommend this product to everybody for sure.
Slight draw back is the chute controller. I wish it would be on the right side of the machine as sometimes you have to let the driver wheel handle go to change chute positions. I'm still getting use to that.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet, compact and very easy to handle and also blows snow well.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product, so far, has been good even though in Winnipeg, MB this season there has not been much snow. The only set back I really had was with cold, -25 C & lower temps, starting. Following instructions on machine and in Manual starting in cold weather always made me think I flooded the machine and would then proceed to warm the motor with heaters. I got feed up and phoned customer service and spoke with a gentleman who told me not to worry about priming up to 5 or 6 times in cold weather. Tried his suggestion and machine started with one pull. What a relief.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great working machine

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Ancaster, Ontario
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great unit and so far worked reliably all season. Starts at any temperature and handles very well. Longer term performance/reliability has yet to be determined and I hope it will meet my expectations. The only negative I found thus far is the chute direction. Would like it to go a bit beyond 180 deg., however this a minor point.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a terrific machine!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Franklin, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Purchased this Ariens model 921024 from Norfolk Power Equipment in Mass., and I am thoroughly impressed by the quality of this snowblower! Our recent Nor'easter was a good test for this machine, and it handled like a champ! Powerful, easy to operate, chute adjustments on the fly, multiple gears, very bright headlight, I was sending snow 50 feet across the yard!!! Amazing!! Took the machine to my sister's house the day after the storm, and this monster handled 2 feet + drifts & end of driveway sludge! I bought a Lawnmower from Norfolk Power Equipment 22 years ago & it still runs perfectly! I love the Ariens & NPE! Great machine!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Gerald
Lake Linden Michigan
poor design choke and throttle
Posted February 11, 2015
Poor design the choke and throttle are two round knobs on top of each other. The snow melts from the engine heat then freezes them both into a ball of ice. After two months the snow thrower would not idle on low speed after the 3 months, it would start then quit after couple of minutes. called ariens recieved a recording stating their system was also down. I should call my dealer. I give the design of throttle choke, snow thrower, ariens phones one star it did run for 3 months.....
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice piece of machinery

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Richboro, PA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I enjoy every minute of using this device. it just delivers. Would recommend it to every one who has to deal with cleaning up a driveway even of a moderate size.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Deluxe 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely dependable and durable

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Worcester, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At under $1,000 (when I bought it) the 24" is affordable as far as quality snow blowers go. This thing is an absolute powerhouse. Last winter I was in the hospital when we got somewhere around 18" of heavy wet snow in Worcester, MA. By the time I got home it was crusted over so hard I could almost walk on it without falling through. I thought I'd have to have someone come over to plow, but this thing cut through the snow like butter. Absolutely amazing. Now we just got 34" of powdery snow and it was no problem. I could run the machine at intermediate speed without the engine even chugging. Had to do multiple passes due to the height of the snow but I could go very fast after the first pass.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>