Customer reviews for Ariens Deluxe 28 +

Ariens Deluxe 28 +

An Ariens® Deluxe Sno-Thro® Series snow blower is designed from the ground up to maximize performance and incorporates 14-inch diameter impellers to ensure the housing is utilized to full capacity so more snow can be removed more quickly.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5
49
4
8
3
1
2
0
1
2
59 out of 60(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Deluxe 28 +
Review 41 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Once adjusted it is the Best Snow Blower I've ever used

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Terry
Location: Newberry, MI Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Out of the box I had to re-tap the hole for one of the bolts that holds the handle in place. The dual wheel drive/single wheel drive mechanism required adjustment and it still has a tendency to stick in single wheel or disengage from dual wheel to single wheel drive. The spring on the deflector requires tension adjustments. It's easy to start in cold weather- I recommend after turning engine off to set the choke, throttle and ignition key in the start positions- The will freeze in place, once the engine starts the mechanisms thaw out and can be placed in their normal operating positions. The machine handles very heavy, wet snow and throws the snow very well. It cuts 30" banks without a drift cutter and handles ice chunks very well. I can clear 10" of medium weight snow from a 20,000 sq ft lot in approx 1hr 15 minutes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great machine

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Angel4
Location: West Bend Wi.
My neighbor was so impressed at how easily I was moving snow he went out and bought one also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best machine on the market

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
richard
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is my second Ariens. My first one lasted over 30 years. this is the best machine on the market. We had 27" of snow in one storm February 2013. no problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable and easy to start and use.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Bruno
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario CANADA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second Ariens product I own. The first is a 21" self propelled lawnmower 3 in 1 with swivel front wheels. I LOVE IT ! It was an easy choice to purchase an Ariens Snowblower after owning the lawnmower for 5 years without a problem.
I highly recommend Ariens ANYTHING because of the quality in workmanship and user friendly designs.
Thank you,
Bruno M
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

starts and run fantastic - plenty of power

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Kurt
Location: Plover, Wisconsin
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great power and easy to move around have no problems . Will be with us for a long time.Told my brother about it and he bought one to.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snow Beast - Best of Breed

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
WirelessMan
Location: NJ
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best snowblower that I have ever used! Clean design, structurally sound, and easy to use. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone who wants to move massive amounts of snow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of Power

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Rick
Location: Waterloo, IA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Was able to put the new Sno-Thro thru its paces.. plenty of power to get thru just about any pile. Had problems with the unit pulling to the left constantly, forcing me to have to lean on left to make it go straight... Dealer is looking into problem and thinks unit skid pad mounting brackets were not welded evenly, and are replacing the housing... Hoping that fixes problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool, a real work horse

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Frank
Location: Monroe, CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Previous comments are right on the money. The only downside is the chute control which is a challenge to manipulate when driving and steering. This is a pretty heavy machine and one hand driving is doable but certainly challenging.
Powerful, one pull start, long throw capability, hand warmers, and 1 year free financing!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

After the bugs were worked out, it ran great.

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Brian
Location: Gladstone, Michigan
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Deluxe 28 + after finding tons of favorable reviews for ariens products. I had a spring in the drive break on the first run after about 30 minutes running, the shop repaired it. Next storm same thing happened again, shop fixed it with a lot heavier spring that time. Third storm, stopped the machine for a little bit and when I started it the recoil cord broke in half, maybe 30 pulls on it, shop fixed it. Last thing, the rubber grips on the auger handle and drive handle kept flipping off, I hot glued them on. I ran about 41/2 gallons of gas through it this year in Upper Michigan, and so far am pleased with the performance of the blower after the gremlins were worked out of it. Really does throw the snow well,wet or dry.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great product if only...

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimbo
Location: Western Massachusetts
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with how it starts and how well it functions. However, after using it the first time I noticed a small leak under the gearbox that has gotten worse after each use. After four snowstorms, I brought it to the dealer for repair and it has been gone for three weeks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product. My third Ariens.

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Snowhater
Location: Boston MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This my third Ariens(30 years).I go a bit bigger each time and this new design is a beast.My old ones could throw snow,but this 28 deluxe is amazing.Throws slush 25 feet. Throws powder 40 feet easily. I bought this one two days before a 30 inch blizzard here in the northeast, and couldn't imagine living through that without it.The new bigger auger gearbox is what made me buy a new machine.New B&S motor is nice too,one pull every time.Only reason I gave it 4 for design is the way you turn the chute is a bit cumbersome. It's above the motor and on the left side,which is also the side you need to hold down on the grips to keep moving.Hard to change chute direction and keep moving at same time.You have to cross over your arms. Old system was better;something on the control panel would have been better.But still built Ariens tough and just feels more solid than the competing brands.Even 22 inches of wet,heavy snow 2 weeks ago was nothing for this beast.I actually clear my driveway faster with this one,and it's the same size as old one.Last two Ariens lasted at least 15 years,and I see no reason this one shouldn't. Time will tell,I really work a snow thrower hard(tough driveway).But I'm betting on my new Ariens being the best one yet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
J
Location: Boston, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new snowblower. The thing works awesome!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Performance

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Rich
Location: Hudson Falls, Ny
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dad purchased one and when I tried it, I knew I had to have one myself. This snowblower almost works to good. It would throw the snow 3 houses down the road if I wanted to.
Love this snowblower!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, Well Built Machine

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: Long Island, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my Deluxe 28+ late in the season, got a good deal, and thought I would not be using it until next year. Well, I was wrong. We had one more small snowstorm.....about 6 " of heavy, wet snow.
This snow was not even a challenge for this machine. What a pleasure to use! I can't really speak to durability, since I have only used it once, but, Ariens has been around for a long time, and I expect it to live up to their good reputation.
I can say that it seems very solid. It started on the first pull, no rattles, ran flawlessly, and made short work of this snowfall. I really liked the idea of the heavy duty, cast iron, top load gearbox and the dual auger belts. The quick release axle lock makes it a pleasure to maneuver, although the directions on using it could be better. You need to pull and release to dis-engage, and pull and release again to re-engage. (think of how you operate a ball point pen)
In summary, this machine seems like a winner, and I would recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super comment

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
stef95
Location: Varennes,Québec,Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I could try my new Ariens snowblower and any descriptions you say are réel.Je am very satisfied with my purchase.
Arians thank you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very well built

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
John
Location: Massachusetts
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This snowblower is leaps and bounds better that the typical home store brands. I was very impressed with the way it handled the last storm of heavy wet snow. I think I have at the least cut the time to do my driveway in half compared to my old machine. I would recomend to anyone looking for a new snowblower to check these out. The quality of materials used to build it are the best I have seen on any snowblower and the price is comparable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great snowblower

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Goldenwrench
Location: CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this product, it starts real easy, and it performs excellent. I am glad it's made in the USA. I would highly recommend this snow blower to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deluxe 28 + Limited Edition

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Paul
Location: CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Deluxe 28 + Limited Edition which was a one time build from Ariens to dealers only. The model is 921034, not 921027. Same price as the 921027 model though.
The motor is the 305cc engine not the 250cc. This is a great machine. The design and layout are good. It has good power for heavy wet snow. Ariens build quality and features for the price cant be beat.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ariens Deluxe 28 921027 (2013 Model)

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
pat
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall I am very happy with my Ariens Deluxe 28 Snow Thrower, 2013 model #921027(now discontinued). I am a former Craftsman owner, and this unit far exceeds my previous one in features and performance.
Setup was simple. It took me 30 minutes. It helps to read the setup instructions thoroughly before getting started. (Something that’s hard for me to do usually). I also found an online manual that had more pics and a YouTube instruction video – both helped. Be careful when tightening the smaller gear link bolt, as its made of soft metal and I broke mine from the slightest over-tightening.
THE POSITIVES. All metal construction w/ the auger box molded and reinforced for greater strength over other brands. Thick, tough paint. Easy to use controls. Fuel efficiency. Solid. The unit fired right up on the first pull. I was amazed how much quieter it runs versus my Craftsman. With no rattling parts. This thing is solid. The double belt drive (which other brands don’t have) really aids in throwing snow much farther than I’ve ever experienced. There’s also less strain on the unit as a result of these dual belts. My driveway is 1100 feet of steep hill pavement. The Ariens did the job in half the time – and gas – than my old Craftsman did. I used about a pint of gas for the whole drive. Incredible. The 14” auger (other brands have 12”) really helps chug a lot of snow quick, with no clogging. The engine has a protruding oil drain tube, which is nice so you can drain oil easily without making a mess. (NOTE: remember to drain and replace your oil after the first 2 hrs of use). The heated handlebars get comfortably toasty. The headlight is powerful, though it doesn’t do much good when the chute is turned to the right (Most snow blowers have this issue. I’m surprised no one has designed one that mounts on the auger housing yet.)
THE NEGATIVES. If you can call them negative. But here are my observations – take them or leave them. The auger and shift levers are much harder to push down than my Craftsman and other brands. This does leave you with a feeling of solid toughness and durability, but after a day of snow blowing it can become a workout on the wrists. Like other reviewers, I also had issues with the remote wheel lock either not engaging or sticking. A careful adjustment of the cable fixed this. But to completely work I find that I need to quickly release the handle with a ‘snap’ in order for it to activate the gear mechanism. No worries there. At least I know how to work it now. The vinyl leaver handle covers slip off. Would be nice if Ariens went the extra mile to rivet them in place using the hole in the metal base. My unit came with white grease pencil marks over various parts of the unit. I’m certain that these are “inspection/ quality control” marks from the factory. But would be nice if I didn’t have to scrub them off.
IN SUMMARY. I would totally recommend this Ariens to anyone. It costs the same as a new Craftsman, but is far more superior. For the first time I feel like I have really gotten what I paid for. It’s solid. It’s tough. It’s reliable. And it feels more like a professional power tool whereas my Craftsman felt like an average one. I can see where others get bitten with the love for Ariens. I would never really think about joining a Craftsman fan club. But, I would feel proud to join an Ariens one. I even bought an Ariens cap! If you want the “Caterpillar”of snow blowers, this is the brand to get.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best in the Market

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Scott
Location: New York
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own a Deluxe Model and this thing is built like a tank . Very solid .. Glad its made in the USA as well.... Keep up the good work.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3