Customer reviews for Ariens Deluxe 28 +

Ariens Deluxe 28 +

Don't let Mother Nature's winter fury slow you down. From light accumulation to dense, heavy snow, the Ariens Deluxe Sno-Thro series snowblowers empower you to clear your path through 16" of snow with a throwing distance of up to 50 feet. Featuring a large 14-inch, 3-blade high-speed impeller, you'll throw more snow in less time so you can get back to what matters.
Overall rating:
4.729 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5
58
4
9
3
1
2
0
1
2
68 out of 70(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Deluxe 28 +
Review 41 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a good product to operate

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: conneautville,pa
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
didn't get to use it a lot,but a think its gonna be a great investment. I only wish it had more aggressive tires,and I had to go over the whole thing and retighten most of the bolts, most of them came loose..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's an unstoppable beast!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bloomfield, Connecticut
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The unit I bought last winter was a replacement for a slightly smaller 35 year old Ariens that I gave to the kid next door. This February's blizzard in Connecticut was no problem!
I looked at other makes out of curiosity and was not impressed with the quantity of plastic parts. Plastic has its place for weight reduction and cost savings for the manufacturer, but as the consumer, give me steel. So, if this unit lasts as long as the first, it could be said that I was a lifelong Ariens owner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wish I had bought it sooner

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased the unit in January and was able to deal with packed snow in driveway with ease. Local dealer was highly informed about the product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product. Quality, workmanship, durable, & sexy.

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Montreal, QC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size for a double garage driveway. Nice features, such as heated handles and electric starter. Never had any problems starting, even in cold weather. The workmanship is exceptional. No cheap plastic anywhere. All made out of steel, which makes it look sexy compare to other snow blowers. Motor runs very smoothly. I hate snow, but I actually wished we had more snow so I can use the snow blower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good product

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Gaylord, MI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a good winter with a lot of snow and this snow blower performed better than I thought it would. I have a pretty good size drive way and it did not let me down. I never had a problem with starting it. Very good product and I highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased our home in August and knew my first major purchase was going to be a snow thrower. After research and talking with friends I knew the Ariens was the way to go. Purchased the Deluxe 28+ and do not regret it. Had several storms and of course the Blizzard of 2013. We got 27 inches plus in CT. Could not wait to use the machine. No problems at all. Pushed right through the snow and threw it no problems. Had great traction. Heated handgrips were nice especially with the wind chill and the snow freezing up and coating the machine. Easy to use. Even had the wife making a few passes. But I quickly took it back because I was having too much fun. Would recommend this to anyone who wants great value and an even better machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have use this snow blower all winter as we had big snowstorms and it was always up to the challenge.
The maintenance is easy on it and it performs well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product can move the snow

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Saint-Agathe , QC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first snow blower and what a good year to get one. Here in Quebec I still have about three feet of snow on the ground. it got tested in all types of snow conditions and it worked well. The only frustration was the get the axel to lock again it especially when working in an incline and on Gravel.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I need more snow to blow

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powerful
Quiet
Great traction
Only 2 things I would like to learn how to do better:
1. When I engage for high speed it do es a small wheelie... so it misses some snow.
2. The unit does not want to go straight... maybe the skid needs to be adjusted ... tends to veer in one direction
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very statisfied with the performance and operation of this blower.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Franklin WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product met all expectations and I am very satisfied with the snowblower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Once adjusted it is the Best Snow Blower I've ever used

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Newberry, MI Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Out of the box I had to re-tap the hole for one of the bolts that holds the handle in place. The dual wheel drive/single wheel drive mechanism required adjustment and it still has a tendency to stick in single wheel or disengage from dual wheel to single wheel drive. The spring on the deflector requires tension adjustments. It's easy to start in cold weather- I recommend after turning engine off to set the choke, throttle and ignition key in the start positions- The will freeze in place, once the engine starts the mechanisms thaw out and can be placed in their normal operating positions. The machine handles very heavy, wet snow and throws the snow very well. It cuts 30" banks without a drift cutter and handles ice chunks very well. I can clear 10" of medium weight snow from a 20,000 sq ft lot in approx 1hr 15 minutes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great machine

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: West Bend Wi.
My neighbor was so impressed at how easily I was moving snow he went out and bought one also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best machine on the market

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is my second Ariens. My first one lasted over 30 years. this is the best machine on the market. We had 27" of snow in one storm February 2013. no problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable and easy to start and use.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario CANADA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second Ariens product I own. The first is a 21" self propelled lawnmower 3 in 1 with swivel front wheels. I LOVE IT ! It was an easy choice to purchase an Ariens Snowblower after owning the lawnmower for 5 years without a problem.
I highly recommend Ariens ANYTHING because of the quality in workmanship and user friendly designs.
Thank you,
Bruno M
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

starts and run fantastic - plenty of power

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Plover, Wisconsin
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great power and easy to move around have no problems . Will be with us for a long time.Told my brother about it and he bought one to.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snow Beast - Best of Breed

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: NJ
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best snowblower that I have ever used! Clean design, structurally sound, and easy to use. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone who wants to move massive amounts of snow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of Power

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Waterloo, IA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Was able to put the new Sno-Thro thru its paces.. plenty of power to get thru just about any pile. Had problems with the unit pulling to the left constantly, forcing me to have to lean on left to make it go straight... Dealer is looking into problem and thinks unit skid pad mounting brackets were not welded evenly, and are replacing the housing... Hoping that fixes problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool, a real work horse

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Monroe, CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Previous comments are right on the money. The only downside is the chute control which is a challenge to manipulate when driving and steering. This is a pretty heavy machine and one hand driving is doable but certainly challenging.
Powerful, one pull start, long throw capability, hand warmers, and 1 year free financing!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

After the bugs were worked out, it ran great.

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Gladstone, Michigan
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Deluxe 28 + after finding tons of favorable reviews for ariens products. I had a spring in the drive break on the first run after about 30 minutes running, the shop repaired it. Next storm same thing happened again, shop fixed it with a lot heavier spring that time. Third storm, stopped the machine for a little bit and when I started it the recoil cord broke in half, maybe 30 pulls on it, shop fixed it. Last thing, the rubber grips on the auger handle and drive handle kept flipping off, I hot glued them on. I ran about 41/2 gallons of gas through it this year in Upper Michigan, and so far am pleased with the performance of the blower after the gremlins were worked out of it. Really does throw the snow well,wet or dry.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Deluxe 28 +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great product if only...

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Western Massachusetts
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with how it starts and how well it functions. However, after using it the first time I noticed a small leak under the gearbox that has gotten worse after each use. After four snowstorms, I brought it to the dealer for repair and it has been gone for three weeks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>