Customer reviews for Ariens Lawn Tractor 42

Ariens Lawn Tractor 42

Tackle the Toughest Jobs. The Ariens® Lawn Tractor series mowers are designed to be versatile and dependable to help you complete the many chores around the yard. Offering powerful engine options and exceptiional cutting performance, these riding mowers are sure to provide lasting durability for many years.
Overall rating:
4.326 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(659 reviews) 659
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 659 reviews
5
391
4
173
3
42
2
25
1
28
574 out of 659(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lawn Tractor 42
Review 1 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reliability!

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Ed
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the 20 hp Ariens lawn tractor with 42 inch cut based on my experience with an Ariens 12 hp 36 inch cut snowblower. I have had no problems whatsoever with either machine. This is my third season with the lawn tractor. I was pleasantly surprised to have the Poulan rear bagger attachment go on so easily. Love the cup holder and the hydrostatic. The machine has a solid quality feel. I love it. Can't think of using anything else.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable product, Great Job Ariens!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anthony
Location: Leesburg, Georgia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product July 2010 and it has not disappointed, this is a fine example of an American made product. Me and my 16 year old son have nothing but positive results from it's performance and I just now called about the free replacement blades. I was told they are being shipped as I type this review, I will buy Ariens products in the future...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Delaris
Pensacola, Fl
Posted July 1, 2012
I purchased my riding mower July 2010 truly reliable only problem is speed seems to move very slow other than the speed l love the way it cuts and handles.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Fred
Woodstock Ga
Posted June 15, 2012
I purchase my mower about 1 year ago and never had a problem. I have owned 4 different riding mowers and this one is superior to any of the previous ones.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 3 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You get what you pay for!

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
jyacob
Location: Ohio
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the 20HP, 42in automatic lawn tractor and I have to say it was the worst investment of my life. I decided against the cub cadet I was looking at because at the time of purchase, the additional $350 was badly needed. Looking back, it could have saved me the frustration and stress that I have been through with this tractor. The mower from day one would not complete that task of cutting my lawn. (Just under and acre) Then I had to deal with a "licensed" mechanic that took and returned the tractor 7 times before he found the fix. The option to roll the tractor in neutral did not work and the mechanic told me he could fix that. After I got the tractor back 2.5 months later the transmission is now going out. I can hardly shift from reverse to drive. I believe that the reverse gear never worked properly. 2 years after purchase, I am looking for a new tractor because this simply won't cut it. Do not waste your time, money or patience.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ariens 42" Lawn Tractor

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
John
Location: Melbourne, FL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought my tractor 2 years ago. It's already had steering linkage problems. Doesn't seem right for only 2 years. Replacing parts didn't fix the problem, but maybe my mechanic isn't that good. The mower is otherwise very nice. Smooth running.
I ordered my free blades 2 months ago and haven't received them yet. I'll reserve judgment until then.
I did contact Ariens support earlier and found the people very friendly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but not great

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Kendall
Location: Kent, WA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a good basic lawn tractor, but construction materials could be better. The mower deck was damaged at the exit chute by pressure between the grass and the end of the blade after only a couple of uses. We've also managed to break a trim piece by the ignition, of all things. These things don't affect performance, of course, but it certainly makes it seem like less of a machine. The engine is strong and I have no complaints beyond the materials.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Choice

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Marcelo
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For 5 years I mowed a very sloped acre lot with a push mower. So, it was with great anticipation when I was finally able to purchase a riding mower. After reading many reviews I chose the 46 Ariens. Absolutely wonderful machine, cuts beautifully and is much more gas efficient than most say - 2 full tanks lasted for weekly cuts during all Summer.
Lots of HP and a large deck for a lower price than JD or Cub Cadet. I am 190lbs and the mower still rides uphill like a breeze.
The only downside is the reverse, which requires two steps (key and handle). Aside from that, I'm very happy with this mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One problem, but this tractor mower is top shelf in every other category

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Richard
Location: U.S.A.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The one problem I am having with this tractor mower is the cutting height control arm/handle. It sticks out too far and hits everything and knocking it out of the tractor mower body and the plastic cover with the 1 through 6 height broke. Then I have to wedge a screw driver and use a hammer to fit the arm/handle back in the body and work the cover back on and hope it will stay because a couple of catches that go into the slots on the body are broken. But this tractor mower is top shelf in every other category.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use, comfortable, good controls.

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Alberto
Location: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this machine last year. I purchased the pick up atachement.
I had some problem in the beginning; it was due to a dirty fuel filter, but after it was fixed, I had no problems, and the tractor has been working very nicely. In the fall it helped me to pick up lot s of leaves, and the good size of both baskets avoided a lot of stops.
I wish the height adjustment would allow me to cut the lawn higher during the summer hot weather.
I love this machine and I would recommend it to anybody with more than 1/2 acre of lawn or more, even slightly hilly like mine.
Alberto
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good value but deck needs improvement

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Todd
Location: Welcome, NC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Have had 19.5 HP / 42" deck mower for 2 years, it still manages to cut the yard but having problems with the deck. the design with all of the humps allows lots of grass to pile up on top, so i have to blow it off before and after flushing it out. the deck now has a hole in it even though have flushed and sprayed it out underneath every time i have used it. i do not appreciate such an expensive investment rotting in only 2 years or having to spend 45 minutes cleaning after each use. bring back the old deck design that is flat on top and open underneath !!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality and service

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Chuck
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought from Home Depot - has been hard to start from day one. If the weather is even slightly cold, it will now start at all. Have to wait for a warmer time for the tractor to start. This is my second summer with this tractor and already things are breaking. Can't contact Ariens by phone of internet. Local dealer/repair is 35 min. away and traffic is difficult. Repair and Parts Manuals are offered on the Ariens web site, but cannot be accessed. Areins needs to offer better customer service. Will never purchase another ariens product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best deal going.

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Jeff
Location: Tennessee
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best lawn tractor that I have ever owned. I think that the free blades for life is also a great deal. I can replace them at the end of every season at no cost to me. This is my second season having this tractor and I highly recommend this product to everyone who wants a dependable lawn tractor at a great price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard worker!

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Joan
Location: Killarney, Florida
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I knew exactly what I wanted in a mower and I got it here. This mower has a lot of power, goes a long way on a tank of gas, has as tight a turning radius as you can expect ( not that tight), and cuts beautifully. It doesn't have a lot of frills which is fine by me. Mowing is part of my job; I don't want a Lazyboy on wheels. My only concern is that the deck rattles, but since it doesn't get off-centered, it's not much of a problem. The "don't sue us" optional key position which allows you to reverse without killing the engine is essential. Definitely recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

42" 22HP Hydro Good.....Not Great

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Cletis
Location: ND
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this from Home Depot in June 2010 and have been pretty satisfied so far. It's got a smooth running B&S twin cylinder with decent power. I like the hydrostatic transmission more than I thought I would. The reverse mowing option is nice also. I'm having trouble starting it this year, but I think I might not have gotten all the gas out of the carb and it gummed up over the winter. My only complaint is that the front axle beam is not cast iron. Shame on me, I didn't check before I bought it. The front end will flex quite a bit on uneven ground and you won't be able to attach a snowblower. Overall, it's a decent machine, but might be a bit over-priced compared to a Craftsman or Husqvarna.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great first time rider!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Lawrence
Location: Orange Park, FL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Have had my rider since Sept of 2010 and am very happy with it. As with any first time buyers it took me a few times to figure out how to work it , but since have had no problems. This 42" 19.5 HP is perfect for size yard (1/2 acre) . I have received only one set of blades since i have had it so hopefully a new set is on its way . The only other drawback i have is apparently this model does now have a bagger attachment for it or maybe i am missing something . Anyways , Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent mower that is comfortable, powerful and dependable --- I highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features, easy to use.

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
J
Location: Arkansas
Bought it primarily for ease of use and great features.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money!!!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Michael
Location: FL
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the Ariens 42" 20HP Hydrostatic riding mower from Home Depot. I have really not used it too much since I purchased, but every time I mowed, the engine would cut off like it was running out of gas; however, the tank would have plenty of gas. This continued with every use. Took it in to an authorized dealer while under warranty and they did some carb work and some other things and I still had to pay $100.00 out of pocket. I get it home and does the same thing. Yesterday, I attempted to mow, but this time it would not stay cranked for long enough to mow and finally just wouldn't start. Currently, it is an offensive and expensive yard ornament. I regret not purchasing a John Deere!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product is great as far as i am concerned

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
john
Location: syracuse n.y.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have owned this aiens 42 in cut for two years now and is a great machine. never had a problem with it and use it quite often with my trailer in tow along with mowing.starts right p ecverytime and is good on gas.this machine uses half the gas as my last mower and that is good because i mow two and a half acres every week . the free blades for life are a greaat deal also. you order them and i recieved them in about two weeks and they are easy to replace. no more filing the old set down.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall tractor, but hard to get warrantee work done

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Derek2012
Location: Warrenton, VA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got my Tractor late 2010. Worked flawlessly the first year and loved it compared to my old tractor. unfortunately the second year it worked fine for the first 3 uses and then died. Took 2 weeks to get a repair shop that would except the warrantee for Ariens, but they were 45 mins away and would take 6 weeks to repair. So I took it to a local repair shop and paid out of my pocket $80+ to repair. Love the tractor, but wish they had more warrantee shops near by the dealer that I purchased it from.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Price was reasonable, basic mower that does a great job.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Norman A
Location: Oshawa, Ontyario, Canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price was reasonable, It was a later model so some of the upgraded features were not included, but is was easy to operate and does a great job on my lawn.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>