Customer reviews for Ariens Lawn Tractor 42

Ariens Lawn Tractor 42

Tackle the Toughest Jobs. The Ariens® Lawn Tractor series mowers are designed to be versatile and dependable to help you complete the many chores around the yard. Offering powerful engine options and exceptiional cutting performance, these riding mowers are sure to provide lasting durability for many years.
Overall rating:
4.326 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(659 reviews) 659
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 659 reviews
5
391
4
173
3
42
2
25
1
28
574 out of 659(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lawn Tractor 42
Review 241 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Kyle
Location: Newnan, Ga
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This mower is nice but when I moved 800miles to a new state one of the lifted arms that hold the cutting lades up broke.. Was a cheap fix but it could be a little better design. Overall it's a good mower for the price wish it had a better spring system under the seat it can hurt ur back of the lawn is a bit bumpy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 242 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to handle and always starts right up.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
john
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This has been a very dependable yard tractor. I like the feature that allows you to back up while the mower deck is running....that really makes mowing in tight places much easier. I also enjoy the free blades every year. I would recommend this product to any home owner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 243 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it is a good mower for the most part

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
it has been a good mower and haven't had any repairs. the only complain i have is that it is very hard to start when it has set for a while (like a week or so) other than that i have had good service out of it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 244 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not sure

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
linda
Location: shelby twp mi
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well bought this 3 years ago from home depote I was suppose to get blade for life and havent gotten anything yet also the battery went bad already . not sure weather I like it or not had a john deer and craftsmen and they seem to be better , with design and features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 245 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Goof tractor for the money

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Joe
Location: Lino lakes, Mn
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought mine in 2011, was a 2010 model still on the floor. Paid less than $1000 for the 42" which is a great deal. The only gripe is it has been difficult to level the cutting deck as it was way out of wack from the store. Still having issues with uneven cutting on turns with slight inclines. Other than that its a good tractor. Waiting for bagger to go on sale. $300-350 seems a little steep for a bagger. 1/3 the price of the tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 246 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a good value.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Brian
Location: Texas
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this unit from Home Depot and was satisfied with the quality of the mower, especially the cast iron front suspension. I have not had any other issues but when I tried to get blades for the mower, I found difficulty in obtaining them. It seems that Home Depot does not handle the blades and I had to purchase them from a mower shop. I had the same difficulties when purchasing the air filter and oil filter.
The only flaw that I see with the mower is the way the blades are activated. I don't like having to engage them in front of the steering wheel. This is difficult and almost impossible for my wife and son to do. Otherwise, It is what I expected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 247 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, hard working big lawn tractor

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this tractor to replace a two year old Tor_.
There is no comparison. My tractor 42 comes with an easy starting, powerful v2 20 hp b/s engine. The tractor cuts 8 acres every week in about 4 hours. This product is easy and fun to use and does a great job. It handles some very tough areas with ease. I highly recommend this tractor if you are looking ease of use and reliability.
Only problem is trying to get the free replacement blades. I still cant figure that part out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 248 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

overall good product

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Michael
Location: Evansville, IN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Ariens 42" lawn tractor that I purchased from Home Depot price wise was a pretty good buy. However, I think some of the features could be improved. I don't really know if the part was inferior or if the person who put the tractor together was remiss in his duties. The hand locking brake came apart #no longer functions# a few weeks after I had bought the tractor. Most of the hand screws that hold the seat on came off somewhere in my yard. I only noticed this after my seat began to slide around then I looked down to discover my seat only had one screw holding it on. #or maybe the mechanic didn't put them all on to begin with#. After all this being said the tractor runs rough but good. Smooth grass cutting which is the main thing after all.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 249 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2 seasons and happy

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
rob
Location: mahwah nj
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
purchased from home depot april 2010. so far so good. i use this tractor from april thru november both mowing and mulching grass and leaves. i have about 3/4 acre of flat lawn to mow and it does a very good job. pretty good turning radius and can mow in forward and reverse. it is now a little sluggish starting this third season. the first 2 seasons it started right up now it takes a few seconds. i do get a new set of blades free every year which makes the lawn look good. overall i am a happy camper!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 250 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable, easy to get on&off, easyto operate.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Normtek
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quite satisfied with unit overall. Only complaint; on my old White tractor the brake/clutch moved the transmission lever back toward the neutral position. Not so on this machine and the resulting jolt if you release brake to quickly gives you quite a jolt! This is quite severe at higher speeds and I belive could cause control problems for less experianced users.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 251 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good tractor

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Jason
Location: Rochester NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought my Ariens from Home Depot with the free-blades-for-life promotion they had a couple of years ago. Every Spring I get a free set of blades mailed to me. This has saved me time/money running around trying to sharpen last years. This is my first tractor with an automatic transmission. It look a little getting used to but the "geared" version seemed too jerky to me. The tractor runs great. The only design problems I have is they give you a tube to funnel the oil away from the motor when you change the oil. I lost mine so now every time I change the oil it just goes everywhere. I can't order that either. My dad's Craftsman has a 3" metal extension that will allow you to drain away from the tractor. I had trouble changing the oil. I tried using synthetic, but it was too thin despite the manual saying it was OK. I had to change the oil twice. I also don't care for the accessibility of the fuel tank. Otherwise that, the value is pretty good. Price-wise the Craftsman tractors were more expensive for what you got.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 252 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The product has good features but could be improved easily.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
John
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall the riding lawnmower does a good job on my lawn. The major problem with it is the way it occasionally scalps small sections when turning or when lawn is unlevel. I suspect that wheels on the end of the mower housing could correct that problem. Unfortunately, the company and Home Depot take a hit since I did not receive instructions on how to sign up for the Blades for Life program so I missed the deadline. I didn't appreciate that.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 253 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of plus features, and a few minor inconveniences.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
John
Location: Catonsville, MD
I have had my Ariens 42" Tractor for about 1 year now. Purchased at Home Depot, it was delivered to me within 48 hours. This replaced a VERY old (20 years) Hechinger (MTD) 42" lawn tractor, so a comparison may not be fair, as anything newer would work better. However, I am impressed by the ride, turning radius, and reduced sound (few Lawn Tractors are quiet). The twin cylinder engine is smooth, and it does appear to be very efficient in gas usage. I really like the adjustable seat (great for 2 different operators), and what a novelty, it is almost comfortable. The ROS setting is absolutely wonderful, allowing me to back up without having to disengage the blade. And last, the deck cleaning hose fitting does make life easy.
There are a few negatives: 1) The turn radius is excellent, but the wheel turn is so drastic that they rub the plastic "fender" trim on the engine cover, of which I have had to remove both sides, as they pop out and then get stuck on the tire. A small inconvenience, but definitely a design oversight; 2) After sitting for a few days, it takes a few attempts at cranking the engine before it will start. Once running, there is no problem; 3) I purchased the Grass Catcher Kit that is a "Universal" type. It assembled properly on my tractor, and all the connections engage properly EXCEPT for the seal around the tube that sends the grass into the basket. It does not seal well, and you get "fly back" on grass pieces while moving. This is not an Ariens product, but I just mentioned it to any potential buyers looking for a Grass Catcher Kit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 254 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good mower

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Pete
Location: Westwego, LA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There are things I like and don't like about this machine. I liked the price and and the lifetime blades which I have received two sets of so far. I did not like that a belt shredded and when I took the deck off a guide had bent and had to be straightened before installing the new belt so it would not continue shredding. I do not like the way the speed cannot be changed without stopping to change gears, my old machine could change speed while in motion. But the mower has started and runs great every time, so on the overall consideration I am pleased. One other thing, the Home Depot where I bought the mower did not carry the belt that stated it was specifically for the machine. I bought one that could fit it, but I was not sure even when I asked the people there. It turned out it works, though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 255 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One drawback

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Richard
Location: Mastic, NY
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only drawback I have with the tractor is that you have to turn off the engine when you get off to empty the grass catcher. With slight modifications I was able to use my Craftsman grass catching system.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 256 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good warranty coverage

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Steve
Location: Dallas, GA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High quality materials, good price for the features. I've owned mine now for 2 years, and I mow about 3/4 of an acre with it. Hydrostatic transmission makes it easy to pick the right pace for terrain.
First few months it worked fine, but over time it got harder and harder to start (even after regular maintenance was done). When it wouldn't start at all I called Home Depot warranty and was pleasantly surprised that they would pick it up at my house for the warranty work. Now that it's fixed it has run perfectly for several months.
In summary, it's held up well and shows very little wear after 2 years. Even with the problems I had it's a bargain among reputable brands.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 257 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Popoy
Location: Putnam Valley, NY
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's not the aristocrat of tractor mowers, but suits the average middle class.
Slower than all other brands I had owned before and a lot noisier, but that is offset by Arien's free offer of blades once the old ones wear out. BTW,
WHERE AND HOW DO I APPLY FOR A NEW SET OF BLADES?. My original pair of 42" blades has not fared well with the nature of land Putnam Valley has. My town is a hilly place were rocks and stones abound, all left behind by the last glacial retreat.
Over all, my Arien 42" is a People's Mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from AriensBy MJBTech ServiceJune 13, 2012
To complete Blades for Life registration for your eligible Ariens Lawn Tractor please follow these steps:

1.Verify that you purchased your Ariens Lawn Tractor prior to December 30, 2010.
2.Verify that your Ariens Lawn Tractor is one of the models listed in the "Eligible Lawn Tractors" chart below.
3.Click Blades for Life if your tractor is/was eligible for the proram. Supply the required claim and shipping information and, if eligible, your account will be activated.
4.If you have already activated your tractor on the Blades for Life website and would like to redeem a set of blades, click: Blades for Life Log In. Your login information is your full 13-digit serial number and your last name.
5.Once registered, you must request blades each year.
Eligible Lawn Tractors Chart

Mfg. Number Ariens Model Product
960160021 936046 A175BG42
960160023 936047 A175G42
960460001 936037 A18KG42
960460002 936038 A19K42
960460003 936039 A20K46YT
960460004 936040 A25K54YT
960460010 936048 A195BG42
960460011 936042 A20BH42
960460015 936049 A195BA4
960460016 936045 A2042YT
960460017 936044 A22K46YT
960460018 936043 A26K54GT

To register new equipment with Ariens, follow these steps:

To retrieve the Model and Serial numbers from the machine, be sure to pull them off the Model and Serial Number Decal/Tag. Most often these decals are located on the machine's main frame.

There may be other labels/decals that contain other numbers, and not the Model and Serial Numbers. ONLY the Model/Serial Number Decal/Tag lists the Model and Serial Numbers needed for proper identification of your machine.

1.Locate the Model and Serial Number Decal/Tag on the machine.

2.Both the model and serial numbers will be found on the same decal/tag. Please make note of both numbers. Model Numbers are 6 digits long and begin with the number "9”.

3.Complete the online Registration Form.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 258 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good valve for the price

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Ralph
Location: McFall, MO
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I brought this mower at Home Depot in July 2011. had to take it back and get another one. The Engine would knock and vibrate on start up. Had to take the next one back as it had water in the tank and would not run. After that it has run great. only problem is the plastic trim on the hood is always coming off on sharp turns.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 259 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Lawn Tractor

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Michael
Location: Swansea MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this lawn tractor. I always had my eye on an Ariens and the model at Home Depot was a great value and was just perfect. I use it on a yard with slope and hills everywhere and it handles it all so well!
I would buy one again in a heartbeat!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 260 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Machine

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased in 2010. Been a real good grass cutting machine. Powerful enough to get through thick patches and so on. However the factory battery doesnt hold a charge anymore. I have to charge it before i cut grass. Them things cost as much as a car battery. Also I never recieved my free blades for life. Went through the proper channels and still havent seen them. Anyone have the same problem? Otherwise great machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 ... 33 next>>