Customer reviews for Ariens Lawn Tractor 42

Ariens Lawn Tractor 42

Tackle the Toughest Jobs. The Ariens® Lawn Tractor series mowers are designed to be versatile and dependable to help you complete the many chores around the yard. Offering powerful engine options and exceptiional cutting performance, these riding mowers are sure to provide lasting durability for many years.
Overall rating:
4.326 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(659 reviews) 659
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 659 reviews
5
391
4
173
3
42
2
25
1
28
574 out of 659(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lawn Tractor 42
Review 61 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lawn tractor issues

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Elizabeth
Location: Townsend, DE
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased my lawn tractor a year ago. It worked wonderfully for about 5 months. Then it started have issues starting. Now it doesn't start at all. It appears now that the solenoid isn't working. Additionally, the left front tire constantly loses air.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some good and some bad

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Dennis
Location: Green Bay WI
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FIrst this is NOT an Ariens...I think it is made by Husq\varna under Ariens' label.
Poor hitch on the back, I needed to reinforce it to make it useable.
Poor rubber stops on the hood where it closes by gravity. They are just glued on.
No way to tighten the belt on the mower deck..it either works or it doesnt. If it stretches even a little you have to replace it.
Blades are of very poor quality. They split on the ends after a while.
The Steering bushing wore out after one season. Flimsy plastic piece that is REALLY hard to get at.
Steering wheel mount is very loose.
Gas tank doesnt hold enough fuel.
Unit should come with 4 deck wheels, not 2. I added the 2 that it needed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

spindle and mower deck

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Danky Twice
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Its a great mower but the Mandrel housing seems to keep breaking and I'm not running over any objects. And the mower decks seems to be weak because its bent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A so so lawn tool. Very glad it is made in the USA! But it lacks details.

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Michael
Location: Lake Oconee Georgia
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My experience with your 42 inch deck mower finds it scalping my lawn when I mow in a straight line, make turns, or switch backs mowing my lawn. The 42 inch deck should come standard with deck wheels to prevent this. The wheels would not cost you pennies to have as standard features!! I have adjusted and leveled the deck on flat concrete surfaces. I have adjusted the tire psi per spec. The mower will not mow a level cut!!
I'm presently dissatisfied with the mower due to no deck wheels. I should not have to do such on my own after spending $1500 plus for a mower!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cut's fine, but is not very fast

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
tigerfan1026
Location: Richmond Hill, GA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only real gripe I have is that this tractor is not very fast. Even with the throttle wide open and the drive lever pushed all the way in the farthest position it does not move as fast as I would expect (trying to go in reverse is even worse...... almost like crawling). My previous tractor was probably 2X as fast when you are driving from point A to point B.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hard to start From day 1

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hard to start!!! Had to replace 2 pulley on mower. Blades for life has been difficult to replace
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

poorley set up

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Daniel
Location: Ocala Fl
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tractor from Mikes Lawnmower in Ocala Fl. It cut uneven when I went back to them they wanted to charge me for p/u. So I adjusted it myself. It was 1/2 in high on one side. My last tractor was A MDT and it lasted 20 years and could run circles around this one. As slow as it is going fowards it's twice as slow backwards. Even with the transmission in neutrel it still engaged in the last gear you used. It looks like all lawn tractors are going with hydrostactic drive and I dont like it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

engine problems

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
one day short of a year and the engine exploded. It took almost two months for a replacement. Now less than a year later it is burning oil for the first 5 minutes. Not very impressed
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just Ok

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
R
Location: Slinger, WI
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Purchased in fall of 2010 and found out deck was not level on first cutting. Steering became loose during 2011 season. Draining oil for oil change is a design joke - Have to buy special drain plug. Hard to replace blades. Clutch does not work smoothly. Good power in any gear.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good price, but hard to maintain

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Danielle31
Location: Yelm, WA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
we have had our ariens for going on two years now. We had to bring it in for service, as a oil change, filter change, and some piece, vital to it running, cracked. After only a full year of owning it. When we got it back the belt broke, we went to replece the belt with an ariens 42 inch belt, to find that the belt was 2 inches to long (we do have a 42 inch deck) so I had to go and purchase a non ariens belt to fix it. Weird. Overall it works great, hard to find people and parts for it though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

42 inch ariens lawn tractor

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
joel
Location: minnesota
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i choose an ariens lawn tractor because of a resonable price and also i owned a areins snowblower which is very good quality. i think the ariens snowblower is a little better quality then the lawntractor. only for one reason an that is the automatic transmission on the mower belt driven had some problems right away but was under warranty and still acts a little funny and warranty is done. i have a ariens snowblower at my house and my moms house. and we share the lawntractor. i recomemend the gear driven auto transmission. thank you joel
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Lawn Mower is an okay product...

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Carolyn
Location: South Carolina
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have now had the lawn mover for just a little over a year now and after the first month of usage the timing belt popped. Since the timing belt popped I had to purchase several belts in which I was unable to find the proper belt that fits the mower. Home Depot nor Lowes had the correct belt to fit the mower. I still do not have the proper belt that actually fits the model of lawn mower that I purchased. Needless, to say I honestly had more headaches with getting a belt for the mower than with the actual lawn mower itself. I thought I was getting a great deal when I purchased it online but ultimately it has caused me a lot of headaches trying to find the actual belt that properly fits the mower.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lots of little problems

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Larry
Location: Marietta GA
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had mine since spring '11 and it has lots of little problems, almost every week. After one week and one use, it would not start, no cranking, no nothing. Haul it back to find out an interlock came loose. One week later, the same interlock is lose again; I taped it in place. One week I had to pull the plugs and let them dry out. Another week it is the fuel filter. I keep it under my deck under a tarp and usually have to use starting fluid. Cuts and runs well enough when it starts.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dependable lawn tractor but uncomfortable ride.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Jill796
Location: Waterford, PA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This will be my third summer with this lawn tractor. It has been dependable mechanically but it is extremely uncomfortable. The acre I mow is uneven and I find that this tractor rides like a tank. I am a petite middle-aged woman and the size of the tractor is ok, it is not hard to turn, but I feel quite beat up after 2 hours of mowing. It has enough power for what I need it to do. I love that I can mow in reverse.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not satisfied

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike
Location: Acworth, GA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This unit was put together by Home Depot, I've tried to adjust the deck to prevent gouging my lawn with no success. It did not come with gouge wheels, the deck height has little to no adjustment. At setting 6, my grass is about 2" tall. If changed to 4 it scalps my lawn. I have a "rolling" landscape and when turning on a slope one side will dig into the grass making an uneven cut. My grass looks terrible when I'm done.
I know that I bought a entry level riding mower, but, I'm just not satisfied.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

had to cut off black trim pireces on hood due to they kept getting pulled off by front tires when turning and belt guide broke

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
you get what you pay for....the only reason i bought it was price and the free blades foe life.could go on about other stuff but whats the point
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

They make a better snow thrower than lawn tractor

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Eileen
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It has less power than the 1980's Simplicity I once owned. The worst surprise was the manual telling me the battery was under the seat, when it fact it was under the hood. In order to remove it for replacement - the entire steering column has to be removed., taking tools and time. Not the best value for the money & whoever designed the placement of the battery, should be doing another job. Next time it will be a John Deere.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

With the understanding that this is not a high-end mower, I would recommend because of the low cost.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent value for the money. Engine is good and strong but pieces of the mower body keep falling off or breaking. Nothing vital so far, though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Watch the deck heighth control lever

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
The only problem I have had on the 42-incher is that the deck heighth control lever angles outward, and gets caught on smallish trees when trimming close around them. I have had to replace the lever housing twice, and I think that the current design in that area should be tweeked.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Engine runs good as does the transmission. Deck for blades cuts uneven and hard to adjust. Steering wheel very lose. Takes a while to start up.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
David
Location: Bissonette
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance is overall very good- Having problem with the blades cutting evenly. Hard to adjust. Now the steering wheel is coming lose. I do like the five level cut and the reverse option. Take longer than I like to start- Seems that the outer material of the mower is very cheaply made- Also the lower left side of the engine hood keeps coming undone on sharp turns- (Around the lower rim- Some sort of trim. shouldn't have these problems after just a year.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 33 next>>