Customer reviews for Ariens Lawn Tractor 42

Ariens Lawn Tractor 42

Tackle the Toughest Jobs. The Ariens® Lawn Tractor series mowers are designed to be versatile and dependable to help you complete the many chores around the yard. Offering powerful engine options and exceptiional cutting performance, these riding mowers are sure to provide lasting durability for many years.
Overall rating:
4.326 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(659 reviews) 659
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 659 reviews
5
391
4
173
3
42
2
25
1
28
574 out of 659(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lawn Tractor 42
Review 1 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT MACHINE!!!!!!!!! * * * * *

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Retired guy 1941
Location: Soap Lake Washington
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the BH2042 at Home Depot with the blades for life, took it home added gas and went mowing. I bought this over the JD because it had the 2 cyl B/S engine over the 1 cyl and it has the sealed bearings on the spindles and a better gas filler location, and for 300.00 less money. I have used this machine for two years with only one problem..Sharp left turns the wheel hits the plastic trims on hoods and knocks it off. This is my first rider and lawn mowing has become fun for this old guy. I have heard this engine is hard to start, I havent had this problem.. Just make sure when you go to start you have FULL CHOKE!! GREAT MACHINE and have recommended this to others.I like the power, you dont have to run at full throttle to get a good mowing job!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Dale
Decaturville, Tennessee
Super Lawn Tractor
Posted June 13, 2012
Have had this tractor for about two years and have really enjoyed it. The anti-scalping wheels on the deck are great for an uneven yard. The 20HP V-Twin provides plenty of power. The only issues that I noted was the lights do not work and I had a little issue with the blades for life. After writing to customer service, this blades issue was resolved quite promply. Highly recommend this tractor.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Chaz
Port Charlotte , FL
Posted June 12, 2012
There was a a replacement plastic trim that ariens sent out free. You have to contact them. The replacement snaps in place of the old one and is shorter so it does not hit the tire anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Wilbur
Washington
Follow up
Posted June 5, 2012
As a follow up I'm starting my third year and have had problems with the star on the end of the spindle stripping out. Its not holding the blade. The bolt is as tight as I can get it. I've had to replace the spindle shaft to get the new blade on... One of the blades came off while mowing shortly after I bought it.....I think this spindle design needs to be upgraded...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 2 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little yard tractor. Runs like a top!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Rick
Location: Longwood, FL.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little yard tractor. Runs like a top! Not a minute of trouble out of it in 2 years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this oproduct has great features

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Robert (Bob)
Location: MERIDIAN,ms
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the Ariens lawn tractor for one year and it has done an excellent job . I would highly recommend
Bob Sumrall
Meridian, MS
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Third Year running strong

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Richard
Location: Leesburg, Florida
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lawn tractor, always starts quick and handles leaf pickup in the fall well. Very smooth , golf course like cuts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reliability!

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Ed
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the 20 hp Ariens lawn tractor with 42 inch cut based on my experience with an Ariens 12 hp 36 inch cut snowblower. I have had no problems whatsoever with either machine. This is my third season with the lawn tractor. I was pleasantly surprised to have the Poulan rear bagger attachment go on so easily. Love the cup holder and the hydrostatic. The machine has a solid quality feel. I love it. Can't think of using anything else.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good all around machine.

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Don
Location: Dixfield, ME.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had originally planned on buying a less exspensive (different brand) and the salesman at Home Depot suggested the Ariens with the hydro drive. VERY SATISFIED with the unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best deal going.

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Jeff
Location: Tennessee
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best lawn tractor that I have ever owned. I think that the free blades for life is also a great deal. I can replace them at the end of every season at no cost to me. This is my second season having this tractor and I highly recommend this product to everyone who wants a dependable lawn tractor at a great price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2 years, no major problems.

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer avatar
James
Location: Scottsbluff, NE
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had my tractor 2 years, with the 'blades for life' that was offered in 2009. No major problems. One minor....have to cut with the height selector 2nd from top, and still a little close. NO real instructions on how to adjust that, other than one adj. screw on left you match deck heighth of right. I keep getting the high-lift blades, when I need the mulching ones, as I purchaded the mulching blades and muclhing kit with the tractor. Have to go back to the dealer #Home Depot# each time to trade, or get new. So far, have had no problem getting the right ones, but can't seem to get their data base to reflect the mulching blades in the first place.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Chuck
Citrus Heights, Ca
3 Years - still runs good
Posted June 14, 2012
I bought my Ariens with the hydo trans and love that feature. Foward, back, stop and no clutch needed, great. However, it is not a mower that will take a lot of abuse such as mowing a rough field that has unknown objects in the way. I did use it once in an unknown field and bent the blades, broke the blade housing, stripped the pully and had to replace the belt. I ran over some rocks and wire. The parts were somewhat expensive but not too bad but it took a month to get them. later, the blade engagement cable also broke and that took about 3 weeks to get. I was never able to get registered for the 'blades for life' so I don't know about that. It does a great job on my regular lawn and I really like the mower. I now use my old Sears mower to mow that field and it just takes the abuse and keeps going.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy, Some hiccups.

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Tiryth777
Location: Lithia Springs, GA
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I waited 4 years of weekly use to post this review. The overall use is excellent, however about a year ago it started stalling and it would not start unless I give it a 1-Hour cool-down period (minimum).I took it to my trusted repair service and he found a couple things wrong with it. (I can't remember the exact things but he tried to fix them) One thing is that the battery that came with the mower is too small and he recommends a slightly larger battery size. As long as the blades are sharp the cut is simply beautiful, and on a 5 acre stretch of land a beautiful cut gets noticed! Never once has the mower bogged down, even under tall kudzu which amazed me entirely. The only other let-down I have with Ariens Mower, is that there are NO accessories for this mower yet. I have the holes for what might be a shade attachment, but alas Ariens.com does not have the accessories ( Neither does Home Depot) for this mower (or any of the Lawn Tractor series) I really wish this can be rectified soon. 4/5 Stars.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great features and does a fantastic job.

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Larry
Location: Collegeville, Pa.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good. Bought about 2 months ago. I had a Poulan, 42 inch, and the grass catcher fits perfectly on my Ariens. Plenty of power and very comfortable. I like it so well, I just bought a new Ariens Snow Blower. And it's US made!
I only question how I get the battery out to replace (on the Mower). Looks very tight! Any suggestions?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Tractor with a Perfect price point. Lots of Value.

PostedJune 8, 2011
Customer avatar
dapooh123
Location: Elkhart
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tractor last summer; I wanted to wait a full year before submitting a review. I have a one acre lot with a pool, swing set and a couple trees and the tractor performs great around everything. This tractor handles very well; the speed control offers a wide range of speeds to mow. The tractor starts with ease and offers plenty of hours on a tank of fuel. I was able to get “free blades for life” so upkeep cost are nonexistent. This tractor offers extreme value under the 1200$ price point with hydrostatic. Buy this unit you will love the ride.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable product, Great Job Ariens!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anthony
Location: Leesburg, Georgia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product July 2010 and it has not disappointed, this is a fine example of an American made product. Me and my 16 year old son have nothing but positive results from it's performance and I just now called about the free replacement blades. I was told they are being shipped as I type this review, I will buy Ariens products in the future...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Delaris
Pensacola, Fl
Posted July 1, 2012
I purchased my riding mower July 2010 truly reliable only problem is speed seems to move very slow other than the speed l love the way it cuts and handles.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Fred
Woodstock Ga
Posted June 15, 2012
I purchase my mower about 1 year ago and never had a problem. I have owned 4 different riding mowers and this one is superior to any of the previous ones.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 13 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use, comfortable, good controls.

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Alberto
Location: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this machine last year. I purchased the pick up atachement.
I had some problem in the beginning; it was due to a dirty fuel filter, but after it was fixed, I had no problems, and the tractor has been working very nicely. In the fall it helped me to pick up lot s of leaves, and the good size of both baskets avoided a lot of stops.
I wish the height adjustment would allow me to cut the lawn higher during the summer hot weather.
I love this machine and I would recommend it to anybody with more than 1/2 acre of lawn or more, even slightly hilly like mine.
Alberto
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard worker!

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Joan
Location: Killarney, Florida
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I knew exactly what I wanted in a mower and I got it here. This mower has a lot of power, goes a long way on a tank of gas, has as tight a turning radius as you can expect ( not that tight), and cuts beautifully. It doesn't have a lot of frills which is fine by me. Mowing is part of my job; I don't want a Lazyboy on wheels. My only concern is that the deck rattles, but since it doesn't get off-centered, it's not much of a problem. The "don't sue us" optional key position which allows you to reverse without killing the engine is essential. Definitely recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great first time rider!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Lawrence
Location: Orange Park, FL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Have had my rider since Sept of 2010 and am very happy with it. As with any first time buyers it took me a few times to figure out how to work it , but since have had no problems. This 42" 19.5 HP is perfect for size yard (1/2 acre) . I have received only one set of blades since i have had it so hopefully a new set is on its way . The only other drawback i have is apparently this model does now have a bagger attachment for it or maybe i am missing something . Anyways , Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent mower that is comfortable, powerful and dependable --- I highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money!!!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Michael
Location: FL
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the Ariens 42" 20HP Hydrostatic riding mower from Home Depot. I have really not used it too much since I purchased, but every time I mowed, the engine would cut off like it was running out of gas; however, the tank would have plenty of gas. This continued with every use. Took it in to an authorized dealer while under warranty and they did some carb work and some other things and I still had to pay $100.00 out of pocket. I get it home and does the same thing. Yesterday, I attempted to mow, but this time it would not stay cranked for long enough to mow and finally just wouldn't start. Currently, it is an offensive and expensive yard ornament. I regret not purchasing a John Deere!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissatisfied customer

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Joe
Location: Florida
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased lawn tractor 2 years ago and after two cutting seasons this
lawn tractor feels like it is about to fall apart. It has never cut evenly
and aside from starting fairly well it is not the tractor that I would tell my
friends about. The seating is uncomfortable, the transmission jumps,
and as I mentioned before, it feels as if it is ready to fall apart.
This is the first Ariens lawn tractor for me and definitely the last.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problems with a tractor less 2 years old.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: Milwaukee WI
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased the 42 based on my experience with an Ariens snow blower which I’m very happy with. The tractor is 18 months old and I had to replace one of the bearings ($50) in the deck. The unit is still under warrantee however taking the lawn mower out of service at the time of the problem was not an option. I’m sure the dealer would have taken care of it under warrantee but the 10-14 days for the dealer is not acceptable when cutting the grass every 3-4 days. I’m now waiting for the other bearing to go out. Recently the choke does not seem to be working so lot of turning over before starting. Do not think quality is as good as snow blowers.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lawn Tractor 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very happy

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have broken the spindel on the right side twice. I believe this should obe made of a different material. Not the potmetal that is currently on my mowers deck. Also it takes a while to start, I believe that the filter is in the wrong place and does not keep the gas in the line as it should. causeing the lawn mower a while during start up to get the gas to the carberator in a short period of time. One more thing before i submit this. The mowers hood design does not allow the correct travel of the front tires. meaning that the tires hit the hood on a right or left turn that involves a hole, bump of any sort of non-level ground causeing the plastic peice at the bottom of the hood to come off the hood. Making the mower look cheep in my opinion. Thanks for the chance to give you this reveiw.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>