Customer reviews for Ariens Lawn Tractor 46

Ariens Lawn Tractor 46

Tackle the Toughest Jobs. The Ariens® Lawn Tractor series mowers are designed to be versatile and dependable to help you complete the many chores around the yard. Our dealer exclusive models offer powerful Kohler® engine options, cast iron front axles for enhanced durability and electric blade engagement for ease of use solutions. Providing exceptional cutting performance, these riding mowers are sure to provide lasting durability for many years.
Overall rating:
4.446 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(157 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 157 reviews
5
108
4
29
3
8
2
6
1
6
141 out of 157(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lawn Tractor 46
Review 1 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

46" Lawn Tractor

PostedJune 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Athens, GA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this mower for the first time and it cuts great. I live in a golf course community and it is remarkable. I purchased an aftermarket grass catcher and it works great. The key switch option so you can use reverse is cool as I have to mow around lots of flowers and raised gardens. I am impressed with the the total metal frame and metal hood (very little plastic). I have about an 1.5 acres both with hills and valleys and it cut it with easily.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful machine

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Fayetteville GA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the Ariens for two years, prior to that I had a Murray hyro-transmission for 22 years. The Ariens is a pleasure to operate. It has lots of power, a very tight turning radius and trouble free. The deck is extremely strong and doesn't bend when it rubs against a tree root. It is much quieter than I am use to and it cuts the grass perfectly. My yard is an acre with the backyard going downhill to a pond, the Ariens will not continue to roll if the drive is not engaged. A wonderful feature.
I most highly recommend this mower!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

whell balance

PostedJune 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had the 46 inch for 5 years I've had to replace the wheel assembly twice it doesn't take much to get out of alignment. The attachment from the tie rod to the wheel axle is very easy to bend, my yard is hilly and I have lot's of turns. although it turns very tight if you to tight too much you will push it out of alignment and your looking at $300 repair bill.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't hold up on acre yard.

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Kentucky
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Deck is weak. Poor design doesn't lend itself to flowing over rises and falls in the yard. It has an "afterthought" add on guide that's bolted to the grass exit area to try to help it flow better with the yard. This piece isn't durable and has broken on our unit. Difficult blade change access. Much harder to take off for cleaning and maintenance than others we've owned over the years.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from AriensBy MikeTech SerivceMay 8, 2015
Thank you for your review and feedback. We will make sure to pass your concerns down to our engineers. If you ever have questions or performance issues, please contact our support team at 920.756.4688.

Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is a 2 year follow up.

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Central Texas
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This model worked great the first year. Second year, the blades started having issues cutting the grass and were having to go over it twice. Went ahead and replaced with new blades, but still has same issue. Leaves a line of grass that forces you to mow over it twice. NEXT, it started having problems starting. Would have to hit it with a little starting fluid (ether) to get it started, then it was fine and would restart, until the next time you go to use it. Now, it won't even start with starting fluid. Had to replace battery just before 2 years. Does not seem to be getting any spark. Have replaced spark plugs (2 of them - Champion RC12YC are the replacements) Will be loading it up and taking it to a repair shop. Guessing the coil packs that fire plugs died. Won't even sputter. Also the headlight bulbs burn out often. Rarely use them, but they die from vibration I guess. Like I said, was great the first year, so-so the second year, and now problems. I have read other forums saying the same problems.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grass cutting Monster

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Wayne
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it cut my grass time in half
Bad the seat to slick you will have a hard time in it as you turn you will slide around .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware of the lemon

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: shakopee, mn
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My 46" Ariens mower is a lemon. It is a 2011 and has only been in service for 3 northern summers, or said another way less than 100 hours. The spindle was replaced because the blades were vibrating and hitting the mower deck. Now I have serious issues with the B&S engine. The engine now needs to be overhauled and rebuilt. Dont buy this product. My mower started these problems weeks after the 3 year warranty. Don't buy don't buy don't buy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaply designed transmission, plastic parts instead of metal designed parts

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Clinton, TN
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Less than 6 months old and already down twice for service. Never will buy another Ariens product
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shrub cutter

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Upper Penninsula, MI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Ariens 46 has the power to mow through ferns, small saplings, blueberry bushes, and anything else I find in the woods. Oh and it does a professional job on my yard too. The motor is powerful enough to chop up anything that goes under the deck and it has enough speed to traverse rough terrain/hills. I use mine like a brush hog at camp clearing ATV trails. Ergonomically it is a perfect fit for me, enabling me to hours of comfortable cutting.
Wish the mower deck could be raised higher than 4" (standard height for most mowers).
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Quality than a John Deere

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Prairieville, LA.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this for over a year now, and have to say the quality exceeds expectations. I've had 2 John Deeres (bought from John Deere dealers) over the years and while features are similar the reliability and dependability are not. The mower deck is one gauge less than the equivalent Deere but that has no impact on this tractor. This tractor starts the first time every time, and is still running on factory supplied (1st) battery. Both John Deere batteries went in the 1st yr. Big PLUS is the torque and speed. Faster than a Deere equal more Torque, and tight turn radius for a tractor.
I highly recommend any looking to replace or buying a lawn tractor to go with Ariens.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nicest looking cut on the street.

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Inverary, Onario
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I believe the secret to its great performance is the two-blade design in lieu of 3, coupled with the predetermined throttle position. No clumps! It leaves a beautiful looking cut.
I also like the fuel tank under the hood instead of under the seat - the reason, fewer spills. The tank is up higher.
The steering is the best of the three lawn tractors I have owned. It is smooth and one hand on the wheel is sufficient to put it through its paces. I save a lot of time with this tractor because of the steering.
The only reason I didn't score it a 5 is that it's been in the shop 3 times in only 1 year. The problems were minor and the service was stellar, but I still lost time because of the failures.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st Ariens...won't be my last!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: North Carolina
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never owned and Ariens product before. After almost one year of service, I have not had a single issue. This is not the first rider I have owned however, I will be sure to look at Ariens first before I choose another tractor. It is well constructed, runs and handles great. It easlly compares to other high end name brand products and for me, will set the standard for other to be compared to.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tough mower

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tx
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this mower for just over a year and no problems so far. I don't cut your average lawn, I cut pasture so I need a tough mower. This one does the job,plenty of power even for the tall grass. One of the main reasons I bought this mower is because it was built in the USA. I think I made a good choice and would do it again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does everything we ask of it

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very impressed with the performance , and power of this machine. It easily handles our four acre property.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My ariens is a great tractor!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Belvidere, TN.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I looked at more expensive tractors before I baught my Ariens. I chose Ariens because you got more power and performance for a better price. And because of the name. Ariens has been around a long time and I have never heard anything bad about the company. Thank you! I love my tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plenty of power

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Olathe
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
22 hp v-twin can tackle a hole lot of grass. Hardly use the mulching kit because of the way it pulverizes the clippings without.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mower. Doesn't bog down in heavy grass. Economical on gas.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine American made product

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Greer, SC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this mower, primarily because it is American Made, and it has not let me down. the 46 in cut is a great size and does my yard work in half time. The mower sits out side over winter, covered by plastic tarp. It fired right up this season and is still running. The only thing I do not like is I have to buy a poulan bagger system for it since Ariens does not make a bagger for the mower and Home Depot does not stock it. I will have to order from Amazon I guess. Still love the mower though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Added an hour meter. Had a place for one on the dash.Should have come with one. Manual did a poor job of explaining how to use the quick oil drain feature. Other than that it turns on a dime, easy to start, cuts very evenly, very comfortable and nice and quiet considering its a lawn mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good tractor.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's been a workhorse doing the lawn for my church. Especially the large field in the back. I appreciate the comfortable seat and the hydrostat transmission, since it takes a good 3 1/2 hours to do the field. It's seems to be good on gas, too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>