Customer reviews for Ariens Lawn Tractor 46

Ariens Lawn Tractor 46

Tackle the Toughest Jobs. The Ariens® Lawn Tractor series mowers are designed to be versatile and dependable to help you complete the many chores around the yard. Offering powerful engine options and exceptiional cutting performance, these riding mowers are sure to provide lasting durability for many years.
Overall rating:
4.54 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 150 reviews
5
107
4
28
3
7
2
5
1
3
139 out of 150(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lawn Tractor 46
Review 1 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

46" Lawn Tractor

PostedJune 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Ron
Location: Athens, GA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this mower for the first time and it cuts great. I live in a golf course community and it is remarkable. I purchased an aftermarket grass catcher and it works great. The key switch option so you can use reverse is cool as I have to mow around lots of flowers and raised gardens. I am impressed with the the total metal frame and metal hood (very little plastic). I have about an 1.5 acres both with hills and valleys and it cut it with easily.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shrub cutter

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike
Location: Upper Penninsula, MI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Ariens 46 has the power to mow through ferns, small saplings, blueberry bushes, and anything else I find in the woods. Oh and it does a professional job on my yard too. The motor is powerful enough to chop up anything that goes under the deck and it has enough speed to traverse rough terrain/hills. I use mine like a brush hog at camp clearing ATV trails. Ergonomically it is a perfect fit for me, enabling me to hours of comfortable cutting.
Wish the mower deck could be raised higher than 4" (standard height for most mowers).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Quality than a John Deere

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Randy
Location: Prairieville, LA.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this for over a year now, and have to say the quality exceeds expectations. I've had 2 John Deeres (bought from John Deere dealers) over the years and while features are similar the reliability and dependability are not. The mower deck is one gauge less than the equivalent Deere but that has no impact on this tractor. This tractor starts the first time every time, and is still running on factory supplied (1st) battery. Both John Deere batteries went in the 1st yr. Big PLUS is the torque and speed. Faster than a Deere equal more Torque, and tight turn radius for a tractor.
I highly recommend any looking to replace or buying a lawn tractor to go with Ariens.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nicest looking cut on the street.

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Vinny
Location: Inverary, Onario
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I believe the secret to its great performance is the two-blade design in lieu of 3, coupled with the predetermined throttle position. No clumps! It leaves a beautiful looking cut.
I also like the fuel tank under the hood instead of under the seat - the reason, fewer spills. The tank is up higher.
The steering is the best of the three lawn tractors I have owned. It is smooth and one hand on the wheel is sufficient to put it through its paces. I save a lot of time with this tractor because of the steering.
The only reason I didn't score it a 5 is that it's been in the shop 3 times in only 1 year. The problems were minor and the service was stellar, but I still lost time because of the failures.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st Ariens...won't be my last!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Steve
Location: North Carolina
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never owned and Ariens product before. After almost one year of service, I have not had a single issue. This is not the first rider I have owned however, I will be sure to look at Ariens first before I choose another tractor. It is well constructed, runs and handles great. It easlly compares to other high end name brand products and for me, will set the standard for other to be compared to.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tough mower

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Robert
Location: Tx
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this mower for just over a year and no problems so far. I don't cut your average lawn, I cut pasture so I need a tough mower. This one does the job,plenty of power even for the tall grass. One of the main reasons I bought this mower is because it was built in the USA. I think I made a good choice and would do it again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does everything we ask of it

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
bob
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very impressed with the performance , and power of this machine. It easily handles our four acre property.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My ariens is a great tractor!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Billy3486
Location: Belvidere, TN.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I looked at more expensive tractors before I baught my Ariens. I chose Ariens because you got more power and performance for a better price. And because of the name. Ariens has been around a long time and I have never heard anything bad about the company. Thank you! I love my tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plenty of power

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Andy
Location: Olathe
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
22 hp v-twin can tackle a hole lot of grass. Hardly use the mulching kit because of the way it pulverizes the clippings without.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mower. Doesn't bog down in heavy grass. Economical on gas.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine American made product

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Dan
Location: Greer, SC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this mower, primarily because it is American Made, and it has not let me down. the 46 in cut is a great size and does my yard work in half time. The mower sits out side over winter, covered by plastic tarp. It fired right up this season and is still running. The only thing I do not like is I have to buy a poulan bagger system for it since Ariens does not make a bagger for the mower and Home Depot does not stock it. I will have to order from Amazon I guess. Still love the mower though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Vic
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Added an hour meter. Had a place for one on the dash.Should have come with one. Manual did a poor job of explaining how to use the quick oil drain feature. Other than that it turns on a dime, easy to start, cuts very evenly, very comfortable and nice and quiet considering its a lawn mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good tractor.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's been a workhorse doing the lawn for my church. Especially the large field in the back. I appreciate the comfortable seat and the hydrostat transmission, since it takes a good 3 1/2 hours to do the field. It's seems to be good on gas, too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this baby . Great features, so easy for this old lady to use.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
marian
Location: ohio
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love everything about my Ariens, easy to start love that, What a joy.First time i took that baby out what a cut. You cant have it back. old lady from Ohio. thank you,
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Richard
Location: Pell City, Alabama
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I shopped around at a lot of different brands and what I found with Ariens is that you have a great product at a good price. Most of the other brands where at least $300.00 dollars more for the same type and size mower. I was really shocked when I compared the product and the price. Cub Cadet , John Deer , Kubota, all were higher priced and didn't have as good a warranty . I think I got the best deal for my money with Ariens.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tractor

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
James
Location: Maryland
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast and cuts great even in heavy grass. Also it can tow a heavy
tree brances.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like the power it has,the reverse mowing feature is nice

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Louis
Location: CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I rated it excellent as it has been perfect but it is only a year old We'll see as it gets older how reliable it is. the only thing I have noticed is it is not as stable on the slight hill I mow not as stable as my John Deere 110 was but overall a very nice machine. I am a maintanance guy so it will be taken care. It would have been nice to have grease fittings on the mower deck spindles
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much han previous easier than previous mower

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Jim4216
Location: Rockwall, TX
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compared to other mowers I used and checked out great value. Easy to operate. Haven't had long enough to rate durability(3 months)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, plenty of power, excellent customer service

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
John
Location: Milford, PA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought this tractor new, and wife wanted to try it out...... She ran up on a rock, and broke the drive transmissions (cracked at mounting bolts). I called up Ariens, and they mailed me new transmissions, blades, and drive belt without question. Can't ask for better customer support!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lawn Tractor 46
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my Ariens!!!!

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first riding mower. But, not the first that i've ridden. This thing is awesome. I love everything about it. All I need now is the grass catcher attachment that goes with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>