Customer reviews for Ariens Platinum 24

Ariens Platinum 24

The Ariens® Platinum Sno-Thro Series is highly featured and right for the job. Includes luxuries such as automatic traction control, Quick Turn chute rotation and handwarmers on our mid-size platform.
Overall rating:
4.537 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 147 reviews
5
102
4
31
3
9
2
1
1
4
138 out of 146(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Platinum 24
Review 1 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Price

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Fredo
Location: Muskego, WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although my 1980 Ariens was still running ok, I needed something that my wife could handle easily enough. The Platinum 24 has all the power we need for SouthEast Wisconsin winters, but it's quiet and very easy to handle. Starts on the first pull or will use the electric start if you want. Turns on a dime, can control it easily with 1 hand. Typical Ariens quality and features. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my Ariens snow blower!

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Debra
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
I've had an Ariens self propelled lawn more for 15 yrs now and no problems. I decided to get an Ariens snow blower last year. It's great and very easy for me as a woman to handle. I love the Ariens products so much I just bought an Ariens riding lawn mower as i just had a hip replacement. Ariens products are built to last! Thanks Dave at Kemps Ace in Howard, Wisconsin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First snow blower in this heavy winter performed extremely well.

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Ralph
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use. performance exceeded expectation as far as throwing distance even a wet snow. Hand warmers a plus this winter in the northeast. Previous experience having plow service, this did a much better job clearing snow. I highly recommend this machine. Since this is first year have no idea about durability except built sturdily.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Support

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Daniel C.
Location: Chicago
I recieved the product and used it once before it had a catastrofic failure. It threw both auger drive belts and locked up because the pulleys were not properly aligned. Since it was less than 30 days old, your company covered the transport fees to and form the place of repair. I used it once after it was returned to me. It seemed to work well. The only issue I have found with the machine is that the cutting with of the feed shute is narrower than the tires, so you mess up the clean path just cleared. Also the skid shoe extends far enough from the housing to cause ths snow to collapse after you make a cut through a level of snow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Will move a ton of snow, handles well, shute control easy and hand warmers are great.

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Phil
Location: Northern Connecticut
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Didn't think I would use the hand warmers, boy was I wrong, The Quick turn shute controls makes it fast to change the direction of the blown snow and the Auto turn steering makes it a breeze to steer. The Ariens AX engine does have couple of drawbacks for me, dont like the fact that the engine governor will only compensate for the load full throttle, have a couple of areas in my yard where I need to go very slow and can only blow the snow about 6 feet and the engine will not maintain rpm when throttled back. Also had to adjust the valves before I even used it because they were way out of spec, acording to (LTC) the engine maker. Would recomend that you have your dealer check them if you return your machine for any kind of service.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now I say, "Let It Snow!"

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Robert
Location: Redmond, OR
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first snow blower. I depended on other product reviews and my previous experience with an excellent Ariens mower to help make my choice. When I actually saw this unit at my local dealer, I could see that this is a well designed, tough machine! We had a near record snow storm this winter. In a single night we had an actual 24" of snow on my three-car oversize driveway and I thought, "I'm sure glad I decided to get a snow blower, let's see what this puppy can do!" The Ariens Platinum 24 started right up and never even strained. Caution! This thing can really throw snow a long ways!! What a pleasure to use. It is very easy to adjust the angle and direction on-the-fly and you can put the snow right where you want it. This blower is powerful and the traction is great, even without chains. The deep lug tires really grip. With multiple speeds, both forward and reverse, it is easy to find a comfortable pace. For my use, I find the 24" size to be just right, but no matter what size you need, get the Ariens!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

has many features

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
jim
Location: MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use and performed very well this winter. First time owner of ariens.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent snowblower

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Alex Kemp
Location: Maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a very tired old Toro snowblower I gave to my neighbor who was still using a shovel. My wife and I decided we needed a serious upgrade. We live in Maine where the snowfall can get pretty deep and is often heavy and hard to move. I read all the reviews of different manufacturers and Ariens came out on top. I was glad to see Ariens had incorporated larger more aggressive wheels on this years model and they proved to be very effective in some tough conditions. The auger and blower made fast work of our paths and drive way and we were very glad to have this kind of capability given the harsh and long winter of 2014. I have only used it for one season but so far its been great. I only gave four stars for design because it seems someone could design this to have less cables and small connectors flopping around but it seems to be an acceptable default on all brands of snowblowers. Time to come up with something more integrated and streamlined!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great turn-ability and starting

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Rick
Location: Green Bay
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had an Ariens snow blower in the past and never had any issues. Now with this new Platinum 24, the streak continues. Great cutting capability thru any amount of snow fall. We had a rather heavy amount of snow in 2013 in Wisconsin, and we are so glad that we purchased this blower. Easy to start, turn, adjust of the chute, everything. Great blower
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine overall

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Tad
Location: Castleton, NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great machine overall - my one complaint is that the headlight is poorly integrated into the machine so that it shines in my eyes - very annoying.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lean Mean Snow Eating Machine

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Eric
Location: Clyde Ohio
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted to wait until I was able to use this machine a few times before I sent in my review. I purchased my snow thrower in the fall and assembled it by myself. The assembly part of the owner/operator manual could be more helpful and user friendly especially with the chute control assembly. After using it all winter through some very large snowfalls, it has worked perfectly and flawlessly. It starts easy, turns very easy, has the power to go through any size snowfall or drift and the hand warmers do keep my hands warm. When I look at my brother's Troy-Bilt snow thrower and compare it to my Ariens, my Ariens is higher quality and a more heavy duty machine. I love it and would recommend it to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Paul
Location: Cumberland Foreside, Maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After my first winter with this machine, I could not be much happier (outside of not having to use it at all). The machine lived up to its billing, but could use a few performance tweeks - e.g. slightly wider chute range. It is heavy and a load to hold back when going down a grade without it being in gear.
This is my second large Ariens snow thrower and hope it is as reliabile as the first. Good product, good company.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great on wet snow

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: Duluth, MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second Platinum 30. Have one in Duluth, MN and one this one at the lake home. When I get to the lake on a cold dark night it is always reliable and it opens the driveway quickly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
JAMES
Location: PLAINVILLE,MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first storm very wet heavy snow still threw it very far
best snowblower ever
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the larger motor!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
C. Victor
Location: USA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first blower I bought from this dealer was a Troy Built that I bought 12 years ago. Owning an Ariens lawn tractor when I wanted a new blower I thought I would try an Ariens. I am glad I did. It handles wet and dry snow with ease.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC..

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave
Location: Roslindale MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this machine performed well in light,medium and heavy wet snow my first snow thrower glad I bought it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought a new Ariens a long time ago

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: Chanhassen, MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our 20 year old Ariens worked good but it was time for a new one. We should have done it years ago. Snow blowers have gotten so much better, and this Platinum 30 is amazing. Fast starting, effortless to maneuver, and they don't kid around when they say it will toss the snow 50+ feet. It does this and so much more. 8" to 10" of slush snow slows it down but not much. Thank you...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
David
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The machine works very well. Although the chute adjustment needs some improvement. Way to much slop in the chute. It doesn't hold exactly where you won't to place the chute to throw the snow. The machine cuts through the snow awesome, starts on the first pull very time even in -25c weather. Nice work Ariens
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

auto turn

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Bruce
Location: Kaukauna Wi
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
my 1989 ariens model 824 is easier to handle than my new platinum !!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Machine

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Terry
Location: Granger In
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had more than normal snowfall this season and I just could not keep up with the old single stage blower. My driveway was getting narrower every time it snowed, with heavier, deeper packed snow banks. I had to buy a real machine. I had fun researching the internet reading a lot about wide range of brands and options available out there. Once my new Ariens was assembled and gassed up, I went right into those "Unmovable" snow banks. I was amazed how much snow this thing can throw across the yard! It just moves anything you put in front of it, with ease. I had cause to help my buddy with a project, to create a pathway, moving unmolested snow that had accumulated to 20" deep from the start of the season. He had just bought a machine the same size but was a different brand. It was amazing to observe the differences. The Ariens worked better in every way. The other machine was under powered and geared wrong. It would "bog" down with belts squealing in heavy snow, and had an annoyingly slow reverse. I enjoy all the features that I really had not considered important. The electric start, the light was bright enough blow snow after the sun went down, Who would have thought that hand warmers would really be that appreciated? The Joy stick works well, and the auto turn / steer is invisible, you just point and it goes, really easy to handle. This machine was not the cheapest price, but how often do you buy a snow blower anyway? I will enjoy seeing this machine in my garage for years to come. For me, it was worth every penny.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>