Customer reviews for Ariens Platinum 24

Ariens Platinum 24

The Ariens® Platinum Sno-Thro Series is highly featured and right for the job. Includes luxuries such as automatic traction control, Quick Turn chute rotation and handwarmers on our mid-size platform.
Overall rating:
4.518 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 135 reviews
5
92
4
30
3
8
2
1
1
4
126 out of 134(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Platinum 24
Review 1 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Price

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Fredo
Location: Muskego, WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although my 1980 Ariens was still running ok, I needed something that my wife could handle easily enough. The Platinum 24 has all the power we need for SouthEast Wisconsin winters, but it's quiet and very easy to handle. Starts on the first pull or will use the electric start if you want. Turns on a dime, can control it easily with 1 hand. Typical Ariens quality and features. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
JAMES
Location: PLAINVILLE,MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first storm very wet heavy snow still threw it very far
best snowblower ever
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the larger motor!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
C. Victor
Location: USA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first blower I bought from this dealer was a Troy Built that I bought 12 years ago. Owning an Ariens lawn tractor when I wanted a new blower I thought I would try an Ariens. I am glad I did. It handles wet and dry snow with ease.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC..

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave
Location: Roslindale MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this machine performed well in light,medium and heavy wet snow my first snow thrower glad I bought it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought a new Ariens a long time ago

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: Chanhassen, MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our 20 year old Ariens worked good but it was time for a new one. We should have done it years ago. Snow blowers have gotten so much better, and this Platinum 30 is amazing. Fast starting, effortless to maneuver, and they don't kid around when they say it will toss the snow 50+ feet. It does this and so much more. 8" to 10" of slush snow slows it down but not much. Thank you...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
David
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The machine works very well. Although the chute adjustment needs some improvement. Way to much slop in the chute. It doesn't hold exactly where you won't to place the chute to throw the snow. The machine cuts through the snow awesome, starts on the first pull very time even in -25c weather. Nice work Ariens
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

auto turn

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Bruce
Location: Kaukauna Wi
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
my 1989 ariens model 824 is easier to handle than my new platinum !!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Machine

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Terry
Location: Granger In
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had more than normal snowfall this season and I just could not keep up with the old single stage blower. My driveway was getting narrower every time it snowed, with heavier, deeper packed snow banks. I had to buy a real machine. I had fun researching the internet reading a lot about wide range of brands and options available out there. Once my new Ariens was assembled and gassed up, I went right into those "Unmovable" snow banks. I was amazed how much snow this thing can throw across the yard! It just moves anything you put in front of it, with ease. I had cause to help my buddy with a project, to create a pathway, moving unmolested snow that had accumulated to 20" deep from the start of the season. He had just bought a machine the same size but was a different brand. It was amazing to observe the differences. The Ariens worked better in every way. The other machine was under powered and geared wrong. It would "bog" down with belts squealing in heavy snow, and had an annoyingly slow reverse. I enjoy all the features that I really had not considered important. The electric start, the light was bright enough blow snow after the sun went down, Who would have thought that hand warmers would really be that appreciated? The Joy stick works well, and the auto turn / steer is invisible, you just point and it goes, really easy to handle. This machine was not the cheapest price, but how often do you buy a snow blower anyway? I will enjoy seeing this machine in my garage for years to come. For me, it was worth every penny.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I ESPECIALLY LIKE THE AUTOMATIC TRACTION CONTROL

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
LOUIS
Location: BRUNSWICK, MAINE
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS THE SECOND ARIENS SNOW BLOWER THAT I HAVE OWNED.
THE FIRST ONE LASTED OVER 40 YRS. THIS NEW PLATNIUM 24 IS
BUILT HEAVY DUTY. IT IS EASY TO TURN AND IT DID NOT PLUG UP
IN THE WET SNOW. I RECOMMEND PURCHASEING AN ARIENS.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product exceeded my expectations.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Richard
Location: Greenfield, Wisconsin
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Platinum 24 on March 2013 after my Craftman snow blower needed expensive repairs. This was the first snow season that I had an opportunity to use it. I'm extremely satisfied with the performance of the Platinum 24. The comparison between my Craftman and the Ariens Platinum 24 was as the difference between night and day. The performance of the Ariens exceeded my expectations. It threw the snow far and went through heavy drifts without hesitation. The hand warmers on the handles kept my hands warm. The automatic traction control is another excellent feature.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I waant in a snow blower

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Al
Location: Worcester, Ma.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't be more pleased with how the blower performs. I especially like the chute controls, power assist turning, and heated handles. Makes the job so much easier.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Barry
Location: Easton, CT
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't believe how easy it is to start. I never had to pull more than one time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a machine!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Will
Location: Brunswick, Maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 4th Ariens snow blower and first new one. Amazingly, Ariens has kept the solid engineering and construction that made the earlier machines famous--unlike so many other manufacturers.
The Easy-Turn and fast reverse speed features are handy and the hand-warmers and headlight much appreciated. Two things on this equipment, however are almost useless. 1) the electric starter--always starts first or second pull!! and 2) the little onboard snow scoop, to dig out a clogged chute. The chute never clogs, even in the heavy mush!
I plan on making this the last snowblower I will own, which should be easy for this one to measure up to, even with severe winters like the one we've just had here in the State of Maine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inferior to my 12 year old Ariens

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Marcus
Location: Mass
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This new 24" machine is ok - but nothing special. The handle "grips" are really cheap and continuously slide off. The quick turn discharge shut does not stay in position at full left or full right. The Briggs and Stratton engine is totally inferior to my old model with the Koehler - it has cheap external components, is loud, seems under-powered, and at full throttle, lags in heavy snow. (It does start easily - at least for the first winter). The light on the machine is useless - too weak and "aimed" at nowhere near the work area. The sheet metal on the unit is okay, and quite substantial. I would have kept my old machine except this one is taller, so can "handle" deeper snow. Only worth a purchase if at least 20% off retail.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

One feature stands out as poor design.

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: Appleton, WI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really like your snow throwing machine, for the most part. There are two features that I consider important when choosing a snow thrower. The first is the ease of starting the machine. Yours is, above all the other machines I have ever had, the easiest to start. I love that about it.
The other feature is the quick and easy turning of the snow chute. This model's chute turns quick once it starts turning, but the mechanism to initiate the turning really is not easy at all. I thought I would be able to adjust once I used it a few time,s but every time I use it I regret that decision and wish I had bought a different model.
There is my review.
Is there a way I can get a different mechanism to turn the chute on my machine? That would make me very happy if there was a way.
Mark Lenz
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too early to tell ...but seems good so far.

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Kevin
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
worked well on some heavy snow. started on first pull after assembly. throws snow far. a bit loud. could have a better muffler. handled better then the old craftsman.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST AROUND

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Michel
Location: Ottawa Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This winter has been very long and brutal the throwing distance is amazing on this blower, I can throw the snow across the street, the snow throwing distance is important to me one of my neighbours driveway is only separated by a 3' so I need to be able to throw the snow all one side of my double driveway. Throughout last winter and this winter it always starts right away very reliable, easy to use with the auto traction and most important one hand operation for the chute, I would buy the same again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is everything I expected and more..

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: Wallingford, Connecticut
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first season with this product, so I can't speak to its durability. Although it looks, feels and performs better than I expected.
I have a 300 foot crushed stone driveway and this product performed admirably. It made quickwork of all snow storms accummulations this 2014 season. I also used it to clear front and rear walkways and a 75 foot path to my wifes sunshed/greenhouse. What a workhorse.
I was especially impressed with the maneuverability and solid quality feel of the snowchute mechanism.
I thoroughly enjoyed operating this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but have reservations

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Brian
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This machine is better than my 1985 24 inch version which lasted 27 years. The old one turned just as easily as my new one but the smaller wheels and chains made the old one much more controllable on ice underlay. The big wheels of the new machine make it much more difficult to keep to a straight line using the first or second speed,as striking a piece of ice or other small object under the snow results in a more pronounced twisting of the machine. A realignment of the angle between the handles and the base of the machine might mitigate this annoying and possibly dangerous characteristic. Ottawa Ontario gets much freezing rain and lots of snow so we have to deal with slippery under snow conditions. The smaller wheels and chains did not have this effect. I see no advantage to the bigger wheels. They also tend to spin much easier when blowing the material left by the street snowplough which is usually compacted, heavy and may have a sheet of ice as the base.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Platinum 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well designed machine and works as claimed

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Randy
Location: Bemidji MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a well thought out machine that works as claimed. The larger engine has plenty of HP to throw dense heavy snows a long way even the snow that slides off my metal building roof which is quite heavy and dense and about 2 feet deep. I really like the heated hand grips, and easy turning. No more fighting to turn around or manuvering, and it starts easy by hand or electric start. The only thing that concerns me is the cable for turning the directional chute runs quite close to the exhaust, so I shielded it with a bit of aluminum foil. All in all I am quit pleased with it after using it on a very long cold snowy winter here in northen Minnesota. Randy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>