Customer reviews for Ariens Professional 28

Ariens Professional 28

Powerful performance is an understatement. No other snowblower can match the dependability and functionality of the Ariens Professional Sno-Thro. This snow thrower is built large to put you in complete charge of the most intimidating snow from deep drifts to thick, snowplow packed driveways.
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5
127
4
18
3
5
2
6
1
5
147 out of 161(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Professional 28
Review 41 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product Excellent results

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Duluth MN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased the Pro Snow Blower to take care of 4 rental Properties, and boy did I work it this last winter. Ran like a champ no matter what. worst was wet heavy snow that froze in below zero cold that followed the snow. Enough power to chew up the chunks and ability to throw it far far away.
I only replaced two shear pins and that was from an employee hitting the corners on cement steps, and those were easy to replace. started on first pull every time. Best purchase I've made in a long time..
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This snowblower saved us this winter.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Prince Albert, SK Canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We live on a farm on Central Saskatchewan where we had above average snowfall and a much colder than normal winter. I bought the Ariens 28" Pro model with the 420cc Briggs engine to help move snow away from around the house where I couldn't push snow with the plow on a quad. This snowblower moved the white stuff so well that it was used for a lot more than I expected. There were multiple occasions during winter storms where our driveway drifted in with hard packed snow 3 feet deep for about 250 yards. Our quad wouldn't touch the drifts but once I had an initial pass through done the Ariens Pro had enough power to chew through them without slowing down. Several of my friends bought cheaper snow blowers and had problems with cold starting and plastic chutes breaking at -40. With 5w30 synthetic oil I never had a problem starting and the metal chute worked well. I feel that the extra $ I spent now on a quality machine are going to save me money and headache in the long run. I did add the tire chains after a couple of uses to help with traction on the steep icy hill in our driveway and pushing into the really hard packed drifts. I really like the steering control on this machine too. No levers to be messing with to turn it around. My only complaint might be the angle or placement of the operating light, but not a big deal if you aren't snow blowing in the pitch black. Thanks for helping make winter a lot less miserable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Left a puddle of oil on my garage floor after first startup

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Headingley, Manitoba
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I received the unit (Pro 28 926038 with 420cc B&S), there was a large oil stain on the cardboard under the blower. I thought it might have been the oil drain tube and nut not tight enough, but after tightening those and running it for the first time I found a large puddle of oil under it the next day. Investigating with my trouble light with the motor running I could see oil coming from under the motor and leaking down the side of the frame. I suppose to be fair it's really more of a Briggs & Stratton issue than an Ariens problem, but nevertheless, I took it back to Home Depot today, and I'll be buying a Sears Craftsman.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORTH EVERY PENNY!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This thing really throws snow far! Very impressed by engine too. It runs so smooth and is easy to start. I have yet to find a snowdrift that can snuff this badboy off!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best or Nothing.

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Gurnee IL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stop your tireless research. Ariens is the leader for a reason. I've had my Pro 28 for 3 years and its the envy of every one on the block with a craftsman or single stage. There is no storm this machine can't handle.
The Pro 28 has made me a hero in the neighborhood. Enough said.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More power than you'll ever need...

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Newbury, Mass
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In 1976, my Dad brought home an Ariens, 8hp - 24in machine. It was the first one in our neighborhood at that time. It moved a lot of snow over the next 39 years.
I finally brought it to its knees last year, it was tired and time for a replacement. It was obvious I would buy an Ariens also... the PRO 28 with the 420 engine. As far as I'm concerned, you can never have too much power. It will throw snow 50 feet all day and never slow down. I just ran it during the Blizzard of 2015, 30 in of snow, 5 ft drifts, and a windrow at the end of my diveway 4 ft tall and 6 ft wide
I'm spoiled now, heated handgrips, zero turn effort, one pull starts, looking forward to the next 39 years with this machine, GET ONE NOW !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 yrs of effortless snow removal

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Mass
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced my 1979 8hp ariens with the pro 28. This is my 3rd season and its so much easier to operate and have yet to see a snow bank it won't move it's unbelievable. I will always buy an ariens.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Considering the size of the unit I find it easy to move either forward or backward in tight quarters.

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Troy, MI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an improvement over my 1974 24 inch Ariens. If I remember correctly the model # ended in 018. Although it served me faithfully for almost forty years and even though there were many repairs it served me well.
The new unit is a vast improvement over the prior model in terms of starting,handling and casting snow over 40-50 ft. What really I liked was the height of the discharge chute. Much taller than the old unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

King of snow is no understatement

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: worcester massachusetts
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this snowblower with doubt but after the winter in worcester ma we got 109 inches of snow in 4 weeks this snowblower has not let me down took everything mother nature could throw at it and asked for more best purchase so far I'm in love with my ariens professional 28
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Workhorse

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Kenosha, WI
The Ariens Pro 28 is a hardworking machine that has been trouble free and easy to use. Maintenance is simple and performance is great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful and easy to use

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very powerful engine and snow throwing capabilities. However durability comes to mind I have to keep tightening up the snow chute and it seems to be getting loose and flimsy. Also the auger seems it's getting loose as well. Not sure how much these items can last.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around excellent blower.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Munising MI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned many Ariens snow blowers and this one tops them all. I love the power that it has to throw snow for a long distance. You can tell that the blower is built to last.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY POWERFUL OVERALL DOES A VERY GOOD JOB

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Norway Maine
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My only negative is that the exhaust chute control is too awkward and difficult to position while moving and blowing snow
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Gatineau, Québec, Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must say I am impressed! This is my first snowblower, by the way. And this is my second season with it. It is so reliable and powerful. Very easy to handle for its size. So far, the engine has always started with only one pull of the crank. Amazing. I am in love with this machine. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a great machine for eating snow

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: southbury ct
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i purchased this machine 2 years ago 2013 february. it has out performed any snow blower i have used , it has great manuverabiility great power. the only issues i have had with it , although minor, are the cord has snapped to pull start it. and there is no easy replacement and we all know how fun re winding one of those is. and the chute swing mechanism seems to not rotate completely sometimes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great design,great performance

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: manitoba canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
built for canada! starts fast, lots of power well worth the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good power but some bad design features

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Hampton, Ontario
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is my first experience with an Ariens product. I have owned the machine for 1 year and this is my 2nd winter with it. The snowblower is generally good with good power to go through deep snow. The manual start takes about 3 pulls versus my experience with a Toro was always one pull. I think this may be due to the fuel primer not functioning as it should. The fuel primer does not seem to actually have any pressure when it is depressed so I am not even sure it is doing anything. (any other machines like push lawn mower etc you can actually hear the fuel being sucked into the carb). However, the biggest complaint I have is the design of the snow chute and specifically the method in which you change the direction of the snow being thrown. (A) the chute does not lock in place once you move it to the position you wish. You have to "fiddle" with the handle until it decides to lock. Once it is locked, it stays but getting it to lock in place can be a nightmare and a major waste of time. (B) the 2 gears that make the direction thrower turn (near the actual chute), constantly come apart if the machine goes over a bump. Then i have to stop, dismantle the cowling, remove the 2 gears and reset/mate the 2 gears back in place (a 10 minute job in the middle of trying to clear the snow,grrr). I have had to do this about 15 times...Really, really annoyed by this. I have not taken the machine back to the retailer as it is just too inconvenient for me. Instead i just muddle my way through using this machine all while wishing I had bought a Toro. Lesson Learned!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional 28

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, Ma
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this unit in the fall of 2013 as the first winter in my new home approached and I needed a new snow blower due to the size of the driveway and to retire my old one after 15+ years. The first winter I owned it, the machine performed well as I had expected and I was completely satisfied. I was glad that I had stretched a little to buy the professional series as opposed to a deluxe model because of the power and various options that were included. As I came into my second year of ownership living in the Boston area no snow had fallen into late January and I thought that it would be a mild winter and not get to use it very much. Well as it turned out we have had the worst winter on record and I tell my wife each time I go outside into the elements that my snow blower was the best purchase that I ever made and am in awe of the sheer power and ability of the unit. We have 15-20 foot snow banks in my area and my neighbors machines can no longer lift and throw the snow far enough to clear their driveways while mine goes through the snow and throws it up to 100 feet away. Never thought I would be grateful to own a snow blower!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When You Buy, Why Not Buy the Very Best

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Of all the snowblowers I've owned since moving back home from Florida thirteen years ago, this is the cadillac. Nothing tops the Ariens.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good machine, it would be excellent with factory attention to feature functionality

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New Hampshire
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought because of reputation and was disappointed with two issues, first the chute adjustment didn't work properly, I had to disassemble the mechanism and de-burr the cogs so the chute would swing without jamming up, it should have never left the factory like that. Second was the pull cord snapped after maybe 15 starts, I know that's a Briggs&Stratton issue but still a pain. I'm sure warranty would have fixed both issues but the time, aggravation and expense to bring it back to the selling Dealer wasn't worth it.
The good news is that it has otherwise performed really well, I live in NH and this year has been brutal in terms of snowfall
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>