Customer reviews for Ariens Professional 28

Ariens Professional 28

The Ariens® Professional Sno-Thro® Series features machines that are durable, dependable and engineered to deliver unrivaled performance. Automatic traction control optimizes maneuverability, and with no levers or triggers, steering is effortless.
Overall rating:
4.342 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5
28
4
2
3
3
2
3
1
2
32 out of 38(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Professional 28
Review 21 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome unit

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
andy
Location: north berwick , maine
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i purchased my "28" in prep for the 12/13 winter, and it was worth every cent. here in southern maine we had 82" of snow of all types, light and fluffy to heavy and wet. it starts on the first pull and just eats the snow. the real test is the heavy chunky stuff the snowplow leaves in front of the driveway, and it handled it just fine. this thing is big enough to move a lot of snow and easy enough to handle that even the wife likes it. it throws the snow a mile and is very well balanced.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The deeper and heavier the snow is, the better this machine runs!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
DAVE
Location: BEDFORD, NH
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This snowblower is worth it's weight in gold!
It can throw the heaviest snow the winter can give it.
It starts on the first pull every time.
The performance of this unit is unmatched by others.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heated hand grips are outstanding!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Delpi
Location: Rome NY
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong runner, never had any trouble moving the heaviest wet snow. Easy to maneuver and turn, shoot handle takes a little practice to use efficiently. Average snowfall here around 120 inches, so it gets lots of use. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST SNOW BLOWERS !!!

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Sylvain
Location: Montréal, Québec.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This my third snow blower, and it's the best i ever use, period.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Starting/Powerful

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Grover
Location: Long Island,New York
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Although it is not overly difficult to assemble,I believe the directions could be better.It would help to have clearer and more illustrations(pictures).
The mechanism to move the" remote discharge chute deflector' is not made as well as older models.
Putting the above two items(not major issues) aside, it is a very good machine that is powerful and reliable.I would recommend it and I would purchase the same machine in the future.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ariens 10/28 pro 1993

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Len
Location: Pa.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, my machine is 20 years old. It has a Tecumseh engine that starts easy in all kinds of weather and runs like an animal. It uses lots of gas too. But, its working hard. No issues. Everything is steel and all chute adjustments are on the console with handles. They have cheapened them since. That B&S china built engine scares me. headlight not as good and chute angle of chute adjustment moved off console. Glad I have the model that I do. I hope Ariens reads this review and returns to what made a FANTASTIC machine!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Quality, Dependability

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Dan
Location: West Allis, WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm going on my third season with a Pro 28, I have not had one single issue with this machine. It really comes to life under heavy loads, and the heated hand grips are a real luxury. The controls for both the snow thrower and engine are labelled very well, I would recommend this unit to anyone who wants a quality built snow thrower that will last for years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied with my Pro 28 and Ariens after-sale service.

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Gino
Location: Montreal, Quebec, CANADA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am from Montreal, Quebec, CANADA...and I am going on my third winter season with my current Ariens Pro 28 model 926038. My driveway is 46 feet long by 20 feet wide. I have been very pleased with my snow blower so far. It is very powerful and works well in any types of snow. The Hillard differential also works very well when turning the blower around. You almost don`t feel any resistance at all when turning. My biggest concern or suggestion would be the design of the chute assembly...It works well when properly adjusted, however it has a tendency of getting unadjusted when working hard in deep freeze. Also, I have had recently the blower housing replaced out of warranty. The paint was peeling off prematurely after two seasons....I immediately contacted Ariens Live Chat service and it was quickly resolved...My dealer replaced the housing at no charge and it was as easy as 1,2,3. My suggestion is spend the extra dollar and go for the Pro Series....and buy a known brand name like Ariens which have been around forever.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable, difficult to service

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Heiko
Location: Milford, NH
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So far I owned two Ariens snow blowers - First one 2001 to 2003, second one from 2004 ongoing. The first one had problems with the drive gear assembly from the get go. It was replaced for free a couple of times. In the end the machine would not run at original maximum speed any more. Ariens refused to acknowledge that fact and insisted everything is fine. For the dealer it ended here. I did not get any further support. Since the blower became useless for me and my 300 feet driveway, I ended up trading it in for one labeled 926Pro (model 926004). I chose it because of the Pro. It gave me the illusion to buy a rugged, hence "professional" machine. I thought, that is what I need for my long driveway in Southern New Hampshire. I bit the bullet, paid another substantial amount of money and couldn't wait for the first snowstorm to come. When it came, the blower broke down in the middle of the second pass. Had to call the dealer to pick it up for repair. The dealer was embarrassed enough to leave me a loaner. The culprit was the auger belt, which literally started to smoke. Since then I needed to replace drive and auger belts multiple times. The starter broke off. I also had problems with the discharge chute, and the remote differential. The chute could be repaired but the remote differential is a continuous pain in the neck because it always gets stuck after being engaged, which makes it difficult to turn the blower. Did I mention the power cord for the starter? It is as stiff as a metal rod. Didn't know that they still make this cheap plastic insulation that freezes when it gets cold.
My blower runs about 7 hours on the average. Per Year! But yet the machine proves to fail time and again. This year the drive belt slipped off of the pulley the moment I pressed the traction lever. Is it my fault? Both belts replaced last year and machine tested before the start of this 2013 season - no not my fault. The chute mechanism coming apart - no not my fault. The starter mounting bracket breaking off - no not my fault. Since I had not much luck with either one of my Ariens blowers I know that if I have problem, many other Ariens owners have the same problem. So far I have spend $470 for repairs and spare parts. That is about 30% of what I paid for the machine. What happens with the Ariens blowers has to be put into perspective: a washer for a 2 person household runs about 250 to 300 hours per year. But yet, my washer never had a belt problem. I never had to replace a belt on my lawn tractor either. As a matter of fact, among my other 9 pieces of motorized yard equipment, not a single one failed even one time during the past 10 years. I think that puts it into perspective. Would I recommend an Ariens snow blower? No.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mike Ski
W Mass
Posted January 7, 2014
Dont let the machine freeze solid and you will not have a problem burning belts.I always put a kerosene heater on the machine when done using it. To melt off ice and snow.I have not smoked a belt using this procedure. good luck.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 30 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Junk

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Jay
Location: Staten Island NY
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had my snow blower for ten years. It started falling apart the first season. Inferior metal used in the body, paint just peeled off the body and rust took over. I tryed everything possible to stop the rust, but no luck. The chute has a bad design and will throw snow in your face.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

to be honest i expected more for what i paid.

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
brigade24
Location: Richmond, ON Canada
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a Pro 28 model at the end of the 2013 winter season. It's a good snowblower, well made and you can tell that high quality parts were used in this machine. However, i've got a few pet peeves with the design of this machine. The chute control is terrible and the locking mechanism to lock the chute in place is finicky. I would personally rather have a crank to rotate the chute as there are no benefits to having the stick. The colder it is the worse it gets. Furthermore, the stick to operate the chute is on the left side of the panel which is the same side as your drive gear lever. So you need to reach over with your right hand to operate the chute. The lever to engage the auger, which is on the right side of the instrument panel, remains applied when the drive gear lever is applied so you can in fact use your right hand to operate the chute, but it feels awkward.
Another peeve is that the propeller is easily overwhelmed by the amount of snow pulled in by the auger. The fluffy stuff isn't an issue but we usually get heavy snow here so anything over 13"-15" and the engine starts to struggle...it doesn't sputter but it gets louder and begins to slowdown. That's not something i expected from a 420 cc motor.
lastly, the front end is too light but that is an issue with all snow blowers today...This creates a tendency for the machine to go over the snow instead of through it. I realize weight bars can be purchased but you shouldn't have to do that.
The snow blower operates and runs fine, but for the money i spent, i did not expect these issues so i figured i would share my experience to let potential buyers now what they may be in for.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

motor blown after less than 7 hours

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
paul
Location: Farmington
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This snow blower works like no other I've ever owned. The motor blew up after 6 hours. the dealer said it was the second 28" pro brigs and statton motor blown in less than a month. Lets see what Ariens does to make this right.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from AriensBy Mary LynMarketingMarch 10, 2014
Thanks for your review of your Pro 28. We are sorry that you had issues with your motor, and after checking on this, it sounds like they are working with you to replace the Briggs & Stratton motor. They are also checking to see what would have caused this to fail for you. If you need help from me on this, please let me know as I want to make sure it is taken care of to your satisfaction.

We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback as we drive toward continuous improvement with our products.

Sorry for any inconvenience this caused you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It performs well and even throws the wet snow

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeffrey
Location: MN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My neighbor had an older Ariens and I like the way that his threw the snow. I upgraded to the Ariens Pro and it works great for throwing the snow but wish that it would throw it back more behind you. I put a Ariens cab on it but at night the light reflects off the cab making it difficult to see. Other than that I love the Ariens pro snow blower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is better than expected

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Tom
Location: SAUGUS MA.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine is a " beast" with all the snow we had in the northeast this year all I can say is "bring it on, My Ariens is ready for the next storm"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handles heavy snow with ease, wonderful heated handles, starts great, sips gas...

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: New Lenox, Il
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Heated handles work wonderfully - actually have to turn them off before completing the job. Light was pretty useless until augmented with aftermarket flood. Needs a power chute (2 buttons - one close to left handle & one close to right handle) for (respectively) up & down & left to right snow throwing so that the operator can more easily control this great blower. With these changes, this machine would be awesome & mop up the snow thrower market.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Professional 28

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Luc
Location: Bathurst,NB
This snow blower works like no other I've ever owned. The motor blew up after 4 Months. the dealer said that he has never heard of any problem with the 28" pro brigs and statton motor. Lets see what Ariens does to make this right. I don't know if i did the right thing buying an Arians insted of a Honda or a Yamaha.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great blower with a single tweak!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
William
Location: Gorham,NH
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had several Ariens blowers over the years and they are all great. Bought a pro 28 for my dad to replace his older Ariens and he loved the new one except for the "Darn Chute'. Once winter sets in and it gets cold the chute just refuses to work from the operators position. You need to leave from behind the handle bars and give it a push in the direction you want it to go. very inconvient if you ask me! The handle bar warmers are nice but the headlight is near useless except when you are by the road at night, oncoming cars can see you a little better! I was told to have the dealer adjust the chute but we never able to bring it back during the winter season, maybe this summer!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Professional 28
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 2013 Pro 28 performed like a Champ this winter!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
John
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I finally retired my Ariens S-824 after more than 20 years of rock-steady service (tuned it up and gave it to my nephew where it still runs like a fresh machine). Bought my Pro-28 in October 2013, just in time for the worst winter we've had in Winnipeg, Manitoba since 1898: Kick-you-in-the-teeth cold and snow-falls way above normal. The Pro-28 didn't bat an eye - it did everything I asked of it and looked around for more. If it had the hand-crank chute control my 824 did, it would be absolutely perfect! But, maybe I'm too old for that much change. Don't like smart phones either.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2