Customer reviews for Ariens Rear Tine Tiller

Ariens Rear Tine Tiller

Effortlessly breeze through any number of jobs on your to-do list with the tiller series from Ariens®. A robust engine and durable, lasting construction details assure years of reliable performance. Controls are easy to operate and comfortably positioned to enhance maneuverability and all-day productivity to tackle even the toughest landscape chores.
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5
34
4
10
3
2
2
3
1
1
44 out of 50(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rear Tine Tiller
Review 1 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product should be considered disposable

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: Alexandria, LA
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Used this tiller for one season and then the belt broke. Local dealer became incensed when I asked him for an estimate and told me to take it elsewhere for repair. Next closest repair center is 30 miles away.
I did not purchase this tiller for only one season of work.
Definitely not what I thought I was getting.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topnotch.

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Vogi
Location: Hatfield, PA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased with this product; second tiller, first Ariens.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would recommend this product to everyone

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Lorelei
Location: New York
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tiller for my husband and he loves it, he says its the best gift i ever gave him. This is our second year with the tiller and our garden has doubled in size.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with the performance of the tiller.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We work with what I would call medium size garden. The tiller gets down deep and works the soil up nice and fine. The cultivator was a real pleasant surprise, when I got the rolls spread out by saving alot hoeing time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best machine for the price

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my tiller through an entire season now and it has done a great job for me. I had to flip the throttle as it was installed upside down but that is my only complaint. It starts quickly and has no problem with fairly heavy tasks. The Subaru engine is very reliable!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product's is designed very well

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Richard2494
Location: Mineral, VA.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Engine starts on first pull. The frame and tines are designed well. The overall construction is excellent. There are two drawbacks: the shifting from one gear to another, you have to rock the unit to shift into another setting, and the engine pulsing up and down when under a load.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

suggestion on an improvement

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
kevin
Location: adams ,MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only one possible improvement suggestion:
gear up the transport speed. It is a slow mover going from the house to the garden. I love the machine!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sure beats the old front tine tiller that I had.

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Gary
Location: Sturgis, Mi.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've use a front tine tiller ever since I started gardening. It was getting to the point where I was going to stop gardening because it was so much work. I decided to give this tiller a try and I am glad I did. It has made the job so much easier. I can till my garden in way less time. I can go back over the garden to knock down the weeds with way less effort. I even made my garden bigger. Also, this tiller starts super easy. One pull on the starter rope. Now I can still enjoy fresh vegetables.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does an excellent job with no problems.

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Frank
Location: Evansville, IN
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used my 17" Ariens Tiller for two years on a smallish garden which means a total of prehaps 3 hours run-time. This was my first tiller so I didn't realize a smaller one might make more sense. It has given me no problems except the probably unavoidable need to remove tangled weeds and vines from between the tines afterward. It starts quickly even after long storage and makes me consider doing a larger garden or maybe reseeding part of my lawn to get more use out of it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tiller has worked well.

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
steve
Location: johnson city, tn
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have found the Ariens tiller to be a solid perfomer. It is heavy enough to do tough tilling in the yard and garden without being too big and unwieldy.
The reversilbe tines and forward and reverse gears make work and transport easy; although, it can be hard to shift from one gear to another at times. The Subaru engine is great. For the price, I think this is an excellent tiller.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good tiller

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Bryan
Location: Sheboygan WI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tiller starts awesome. I never had a small engine that started so easy. It is a little hard to shift sometimes,but overall it tills the dirt better than a front tine tiller.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Robert
Location: north Texas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
3rd season to use this tiller. starts easy, does great job on ground, easy on me. Love t.o use it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to operate

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Paul
Location: Keller, TX
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I previously had a used front-tine tiller, with no reverse. It worked fair, but required it to be manhandled to get a job done.
I bought this rear tine tiller after some research at HD. It starts easily, and tills almost effortlessly. The forward/reverse is great to reposition the tiller. I like the fact that it has 5 gears, 3 of which (F-N-R) do not till and just drive the rear wheels and the other 2 control the tine rotation direction.
It should last a lifetime.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to operate with good safety features

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
steveNY
Location: new york
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The unit will shut down if you come across a large rock. This to me is a great feature as it avoids damage to the tines.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

needs repair and parts manual

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Marie
Location: Kodiak Alaska
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Something in the Gear shift system broke in the first 10 hours of use. It will no longer shift in to reverse. The shift points on the lever no longer match what gear it is in. There was no phone support as to an maintenance /repair manual and how to order parts to repair it. That said to ship it back and they would repair it at my expense. The shipping both ways was more than a new tiller.
The ground clearance between the wheels is low and it high centers on uneven ground like raised beds.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great tiller spoiled by cheap break-prone handle

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
John
Location: Castro Valley, CA
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Loved the tiller initially; got most of my jobs done. In the second season of ownership, the welds on the handles broke, one at a time. In order to get through my projects, I jury-rigged a T-brace, bolting the handle bar to the main stem. It's a sloppy fit but allows me to use the tiller for most soil work. This year, I'm thinking about getting the handle rebrazed, or go for a replacement, if the manufacturers have improved this issue.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for any gardener.

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Dan
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I needed to get the job done. Works great, love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very reliable

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
traveled99
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Starts on first pull everytime. Read some other reviews elsewhere about handle problems. I installed a plate and extra bolts on handle. Works great. A tiller is something I don't use all the time but its nice to know it is ready when I am. Overall very dependable unit. Plenty of power. I have mostly clay soil with lots of roots and this unit handles the job.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

performs great

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
william
Location: quinton ,virginia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cleared a section of woods out and used tiller to get ground ready for grass seed ,it worked great and had plenty of power
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Tiller

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
cb
Location: utah
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best that I have own. I like its many features and all work well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>