Customer reviews for Ariens Rear Tine Tiller

Ariens Rear Tine Tiller

Effortlessly breeze through any number of jobs on your to-do list with the tiller series from Ariens®. A robust engine and durable, lasting construction details assure years of reliable performance. Controls are easy to operate and comfortably positioned to enhance maneuverability and all-day productivity to tackle even the toughest landscape chores.
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5
34
4
10
3
2
2
3
1
1
44 out of 50(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rear Tine Tiller
Review 21 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features...

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
G-man
Location: Floyd,Va
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this for my wife. At 4'10" she loves the adjustable handles. She used a 40 year old front tine for over 30 years. What a step up this was. Gardening is her favorite pastime. All I get to do is turn it it under with the tractor. So far it starts very easy. Had one shear pin break. It's very rocky in the Blue Ridge Mtns. The only improvement would be to increase the transport speed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handles everything I throw at it

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
JimmytheGeek
Location: Franklin, KY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 32x64 vegetable garden, and it is quite a chore to till first thing in the Spring and last time in the Fall. I can wear out a tiller fairly quickly because of this.
For the price, it really is a good value. I've owned this tiller for a year now, and the motor still starts first time, every time, but don't let the air filter get too dusty or it won't idle worth a darn. It's not overly loud, but with the size of my garden I still wear earplugs to protect what's left of my hearing.
The soil in my garden here in Southern KY is relatively rock-free, but it does have a fair amount of red clay and can harden up some. This tiller does best when the tines are counter-rotating. When I set it up for cultivation mode (drop the drag stake, raise the shoe, forward tine rotation) it wants to take off with me sometimes and the soil isn't worked as thoroughly. But cultivation is more about killing weeds and aeration of soil than preparing a seed bed.
It handles working in organic material pretty well -- I turn all my leaves from my trees under in the fall -- and is just a great all-around tiller.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Tim
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far this tiller is great. I've used it about 6 times so far and it has really made tilling easy. Hopefully it will last many years and still be this easy to start. I'm glad I didn't waste money on electric start.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'm not impressed

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Bob
Location: wisconsin
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have owned the tiller for 2 years, I put a lot of miles on it when I bought it, I did a large landscaping job in my back yard and all was good for the first year. In the spring when I tilled the garden I had a carb issue, the machine hunted, rpm up and down, it still runs like that today and when I tilled the garden this year the handle bars broke the weld and needs to be repaired, but haven't gotten to that yet. With that said I'm impressed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it. but had to take it in for service because the transmission was not properly lubricated. cost me over a hundred dollars.

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
terry
Location: Idaho
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost a great product. I don't think I should have had to pay for the cost of tearing it apart when it was not lubricated well enough from the factory.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent features and workmenship

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
billy a
Location: ala
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this tiller for about a year I have been very pleased with it. I starts on the first pull and runs very strong. I like the fact that if the tines strikes and object in the ground such as a big rock the engines stalls rather than break a tine, and it immediately starts up again with one pull. This is actually my second Ariens purchase, the first being a lawn mower and both have been well built and very dependable. keep up the ggod work
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

30 Years and get another Ariens

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
RL
Location: Utah
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When my father's Ariens tiller finally gave up the ghost after 30+ years, he told me, "go get another tiller exactly like this one." After a little research, I located the Ariens tiller, the exact same tiller and design that my father had purchased 30+ years ago. Even though my Dad is +76 years, he can still start and till his garden with the Ariens tiller without any difficulties ( his garden is about 14,000 sq. ft!). I also use the tiller with my two gardens, and I and my 12 year old son have no problems whatever running and moving the unit. I highly recommend this tiller, and I expect to be operating it for another +35 years in my garden too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product and good value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Tom
Location: Wisconsin
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value for the money seems very durable. Provided good soil loosening. Was easy to handle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine but handle to engage tiller needs to be improved. Hard to hold down

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Steven
Location: Oklahoma
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Never had a Subaru engine before but it is smooth running and easy to start. Plenty of power. Tiller is a little hard tp shift, and you have to hold handle with your left hand which is tiresome.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to start

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
dave
Location: Reno, NV
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This garden tractor has been fine for my garden. Sometimes it is a little hard to shift but still fine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
George
Location: Napan, NB Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first thing I noticed about this tiller is how easy it tore up the sod and how quick the soil was ready for planting. I went from sod to ready to plant in 4 passes. The engine starts easily. The adjustable handle was great because at 6' 1" tall, other non adjustable rentals were really hard on my back and easily wore me out. In my garden, 80' x 30' this tiller glided through almost effortlessly.
I bougth this particular brand because they have one at my work that they use to till up pea gravel on playgrounds with and it has proven to be very durable. The price , in comparison to other brands with similar features was, in some cases, concidrably less. As much as $300.00 less in a local comparison. I would defenitly recomend this tiller to anyone looking to purchase a rear tine tiller.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesnt shift smoothly, locks up and shuts off

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: Schuh
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Figured I would buy a quality machine but am extremely disappointed. If I dont get the shifter in the exact right place the engine snubs beacause the gears are locked up. While using it, the gears are constantyly clunking and grinding (since new).
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
bryan
Location: valley, alabama
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wish it had a honda engine, but so far the engine has worked well, starts on the first pull. performs great here in the alabama hard clay. just be sure to empty the gas tank before it is put up for the season, the carb will clog easy. does not recommend using E85 gas but that is all we have around here. i just run it until it is dry at the end of the season and try to drain the lines as best i can. i am very happy with this tiller, good tiller for the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has excellant features

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
ronny 2012
Location: Shediac new brunswick
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the ballance for one hand operation. Andthe depth guide to allow one to keep an even cut. And the engine has ample power. And belt drive is a good if your tangs fetch up on roots etc.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What a workhorse!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Jay
Location: Williston, Fl.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife and I purchased this tiller after researching several on the market. For the features and the price it was the best on the market! My first time using it was easy and I had my garden area tilled in just a couple of hours! It does take some getting used to shifting it into gear but once you get the hang of it it's a breeze. Really great product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love It!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
MSJ2
Location: Joplin, MO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this Tiller! I really like the forward and reverse tilling action. Can't believe how much easier this is to use than the front tine tiller. I definitely recommend this tiller to everyone I talk garden with.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this machine!!!!!!!!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Soontobeoldtimer
Location: Bryan, TX
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this unit to replace my old Ariens which was 32 years old. I just love everything about this unit. The power is awesome, starts first pull even after setting for a couple of months. I would recommend this Tiller to anyone looking for a long lasting gardening solution.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'd Buy It Again

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When I moved from CA to PA I sold my old tiller as I didn't want to move it. At our new home we removed a 40 foot maple tree in the front yard and wanted to put in a lawn. Even though we had the trunk and exposed roots ground, we had to till the area and remove buried roots, as well as till in 13 yards of new soil and improvers. The Ariens did this without a problem, turning up buried roots and rocks while leaving a light, fluffy soil behind. It's reliable and starts on the first pull EVERYTIME. The only negative I have is that the handle elevation will loosen over time. A better 'locking' mechanism would be great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes tilling a breeze!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Janeann
Location: Camp Point, Il.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every time we use the tiller I remark on how we couldn't get along without it. It does an outstanding job with little effort. The soil is tilled to perfection in no time at all. Wish we would of had it years ago. Thanks for an excellent product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Gene
Location: Talbott, TN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This purchase replaced an old stand-by front tine tiller that I have used for 30 yrs. Your rear tine really gets the job done without rattling my brain.
I love the foward/rear tines and drive. To compensate for the slow trans-port speed, I just put the depth bar down far enough to get the tines off the ground, knock the tiller out of gear and push it the 100 yrds. or so to my storage shed. Thank you for a great perfoming tiller, Gene.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>