Customer reviews for Ariens Rear Tine Tiller

Ariens Rear Tine Tiller

Effortlessly breeze through any number of jobs on your to-do list with the tiller series from Ariens®. A robust engine and durable, lasting construction details assure years of reliable performance. Controls are easy to operate and comfortably positioned to enhance maneuverability and all-day productivity to tackle even the toughest landscape chores.
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5
34
4
10
3
2
2
3
1
1
44 out of 50(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rear Tine Tiller
Review 41 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes tilling a breeze!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Janeann
Location: Camp Point, Il.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every time we use the tiller I remark on how we couldn't get along without it. It does an outstanding job with little effort. The soil is tilled to perfection in no time at all. Wish we would of had it years ago. Thanks for an excellent product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Gene
Location: Talbott, TN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This purchase replaced an old stand-by front tine tiller that I have used for 30 yrs. Your rear tine really gets the job done without rattling my brain.
I love the foward/rear tines and drive. To compensate for the slow trans-port speed, I just put the depth bar down far enough to get the tines off the ground, knock the tiller out of gear and push it the 100 yrds. or so to my storage shed. Thank you for a great perfoming tiller, Gene.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rugged tiller with great performance and easy start

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
wm1m
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tiller is a rugged, solid performer that can till large gardens or cut through sod with ease. With the tines in reverse, little effort on your part is needed to slice through the toughest clay soil. To my astonishment, the tiller started on the first pull although it hadn't been started in two years! There are two design issues. The handle should adjust higher. A tall person may find a low handle to be less than ergonomic. The gear shift sometimes sticks and requires a back and forth motion to change gears. A plus for the design is that the tiller can be easily tilted forward to facilitate cleaning.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall this product did what I expected.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: New Jersey
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have found this product to have two flaws. The first is its difficulty to shift between forward and reverse. The second is the adjustment bolt for the handle continues to come loose and after overtightening it has now stripped. Not something that should happen after 3 uses. Overall the product fuctioned as expected and had sufficient power to till the soil deep for planting.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Easy to Use!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
alscalis
Location: North East, PA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this last year and have put it to the test. The Ariens tiller starts in the first two pulls every time. The tines are strong and will go through the toughest material. I am very pleased with this tiller and would recommend it !
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value and performance for the price.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
John
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One of the best rear tine tillers I have used in years. I didn't have the opportunity to test this unit before I bought it, but based on the reviews, I purchased the unit. I have never been more impressed with the ease of use and performance. We have a lot of clay in our soil, and the tiller chopped the soil like it was sand. A couple of my neighbors have borrowed my tiller, and love it too. If you want a medium priced tiller to get your garden in shape , give the ariens a try...... you won't be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good hard-working tiller

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
peapicker
Location: New Jersey
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had experience with both front and rear tine tillers over many years.
Changing gears takes a little practice (just like an older rear tine tiller of another brand we had back in the 60s) making tight turns is also the same as my other brand. I got a good buy on a floor model and am happy with the tiller overall. The Subaru engine so far is perfect, starts easy and runs smooth. I always use gas additive and turn off the gas flow, allowing the gas in the carb. to run dry prior to storage. I till in all the leaves in the fall, then till again in the spring for planting in my small 500 sq. foot garden. I wish it would be easier to move the controls to the right-hand side instead of the left-hand side. but all in all a very capable tiller
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Poor design on the spacing of the tines causing an unballance.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Donald
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Except for one area, it is an excellent piece of equipment. My onlyt complaint is the tines are not evenly spaced around the axle and this caused it to "loap". It is not smooth as I think it should be. I don't understand what the reason for the unballance. However, other than that, it is the best tiller I have ever owned and that includes my first one which was an Areins front tine which I still have and it still runs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent tiller, great price/value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
rob
Location: kansas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The subaru engine is what first attracted me to this tiller. I used it to start a brand new garden in clay soil. It broke up the clay with ease, although it was difficult to handle in the very dense soil. I did about 20 passes over the course of the day adding topsoil and compost. It didnt need to be refueled till i put it away. All passes after the first one got easier and easier. I have 2 complaints on the design : the shifter is a bit spindly, but a little finesse gets it in gear. My other is the bolt that holds the handles at your height setting does not hold them in place. I am pretty tall (6'), and i keep them at the highest setting. When i pushed down to dig in the tines the handles would push down too. I had to replace the bolt with a grade 8, and really tighten it down. All in all it is an excellent tiller for the price, shortcomings are easy to deal with too. Highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Rear Tine Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looked good on paper

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Tim 1950
Location: Carlisle Pa
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have used the tiller for the third season. It has surpassed my expectations. I have a 5500sf garden. And have used it for other projects to prepare the soil for grass and flower gardens.
It starts with very little effort and on the first time(except when I forget to turn the switch on).
Initially was concerned about the Subaru engine and the size, as I had been working with a 8 hp engine, but there is plenty of power to chew up the soil.
My only issue is the sometimes difficulty shifting from the front to rear tine, or visa-versa. But it does go. It cut my tilling time in half from my previous tiller. So if this is my only complaint, I should stop whining.
I would and have recommended it to anyone who has serious tilling to do.
And as mentioned, do the proper end of season clean up and you will have it for many years
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3