Customer reviews for Ariens Sno-Tek 20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Ariens.

Ariens Sno-Tek 20

Efficient and Affordable...Sno-Tek™ by Ariens uses two-stage technology that delivers reliable performance with value in mind. With 20-inch clearing capacity, the Sno-Tek 20 provides a durable option in the entry-level price category. Built by Ariens, it’s a brand you can trust for getting the job done.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(183 reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 183 reviews
5
109
4
43
3
14
2
6
1
11
163 out of 183(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sno-Tek 20
Review 1 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good So Far

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For just over $500, including tax, this was the cheapest 2 stage blower I could find. I've had this for one season (where it actually snowed) and overall it works great, cleans the surface well, blows far enough (not super far), starts easily with the electric start. My only real complaint is that it doesn't have reverse, but I guess I shouldn't expect that at this price range. Oh, it moves slow and there's no speed control. All you have is slow. I sometimes feel like I could shovel faster, but then I remember this is more fun and better for my back.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Product... but....

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Aabid
Location: Calgary, AB
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Starting to have issues with the choke...
may have to take it in for a service to get it checked out
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Performs well

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Leslie
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only problem is that the machine leaves a small windrow on the right hand side the blade resulting in the need to go over the area again
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This machine lasted one winter

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Ken
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This machine lasted one winter. The winter it did work, a part broke and another keeps needed fixed.
Will try and get it going for the next winter, but if it costs a lot to fix, it's getting scrapped.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Machine has been in service more that at home in 3 months

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
David
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The machine is impossible to configure to clear all the snow. Even Home Depot service department (where its been 3 times now) can't configure it properly. Tonight is also the second flat tire I've had. I've also had stalling problems. Last, don't buy this machine if you want to clear snow in any quick fashion. It moves slower than a snail. The snow that it does get it throws pretty far though.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from AriensBy Mary LynMarketingApril 3, 2014
Thank you for your honest review, and we are sorry that you had issues with your Sno-Tek. We recommend that you take it to an Ariens Master Service Dealer as they are trained in this area. I'm not sure why you would be getting flat tires, but the dealer might be able to help you with this as well.

Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value at a reasonable price

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
scott
Location: Cassville NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the 3rd season with my Sno-Tek and it still starts 1st pull every time even in sub zero temperatures .clears my driveway and walkway with ease even in these nasty upstate new york winters !! One of the smartest purchases I've ever made !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good performance for a small machine

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Gregg
Location: Medina, Ohio
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Sno-Tek 20 is not a large machine but it clears my 25' x 55' driveway in a reasonable amount of time. This is my second winter.
At the beginning of the winter season I could not start it. After cleaning out the carb bowl and jet it started right up. Not sure if I did something wrong storing it.
Since then it has worked flawlessly. It has nice features like the ability to quickly change the snow chute direction while running it. Some smaller machines don't have that feature.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to start and use.

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Charles
Location: Haymarket, VA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caution...read the directions and DO NOT forget to either run it out of gas or use gas additive for summer storage. I didn't and paid the price. Had to have carburetor rebuilt. Starts again like its old self. Envy of the neighborhood...and blower of several driveways as a result...too kind.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine did a great job.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Marcia 4225
Location: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We sold our big snow blower as I couldn't handle it. Since my husband's heart attack I would be doing the drive. It is my new toy and I'm sure glad we got it after the huge number of days that I had to do our drive because of all the snow we had in Ohio this year.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay product

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
JB
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased at the end of last winter (2/13) and did NOT use at all last year. On initial snow of the year (late Nov) tried to start and unit did not start (I used stableizer over the summer etc.) and stored inside. I had to call local hardware store and had to pay for pick up and return. They informed me that no need to set choke when starting and just push primer two times -- not the recommended 3 or 4 times in owner's manual. Some other adjustments were made and since then very little difficulty starting. It will be interesting next winter.
Also, was hoping for a closer (to driveway and sidewalk surface) pick up of snow. Once finished using snow blower, need to go back over with shovel to get driveway and sidewalk clear of snow so not to be slippery or become slush and then ice covered when temps drop. Neighbors have similar size blower (different brand) and their driveway etc. is almost completely clear when finished using blower. No matter depth of snow (3" - 12") same problem.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done and a good value !

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Michael
Location: Long Island , NY
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This machine is powerful enough to bite into and move wet snow up to approximately 13". I purchased it this Fall and would not have made it through this years Winter in the NorthEast without it.
The 20 inch with is handy because it fits inbetween the cars on the driveway or along side stone curbing. The only feature that would be desireable would be a faster drive speed.(only has one foward speed). Otherwise I satisfied with the unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Mart
Location: Markham
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
One of the zerk fittings fell off mine. These are a compression fit. This got past Q.C. somehow. No love from C.S.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

nothing but a headache since i got it

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Mauricio
Location: Plainfield, NJ
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this machine has trouble starting. even with the electric starter. I've taken it a couple times to Home Depot for maintenance and even there, it gives them a hard time, and at the end they just said, "take it and see how it does......."
My son also noticed last time, that the left Auger doesn't spin. which you never notice walking behind. I understood then, why that side only pushed the snow in front.
All and all. I hate this machine!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from AriensBy Mary LynMarketingMarch 10, 2014
Thank you for your honest reply. We are sorry that you are having trouble with your machine, and we want to work with you to fix the issue.

Contact your local Ariens servicing dealer so they can evaluate your unit and make the necessary adjustment to fix your issues. Your local dealer will work with our tech service group to make sure your unit is back up and running.

If you are not getting the results through your dealer, please let us know.

Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Mid Range Priced Snow Machine

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Gregg79
Location: Westminster, CO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this unit a little more than a year back and have been very happy with it. This snow machine is pretty powerful and can throw snow a good 20 to 30 feet or more. So far I have used it in a variety of conditions (wet/dry snow) and it has not jammed up on me yet.
Only downside to this model is it is a bit heavy, so maneuvering it around can be a little tricky in a small area, but overall the more I use it the easier it is for me to use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very hard winter in Chicago and great performance.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Keith
Location: Downers Grove, Il
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with my purchase of this item with the winter we have endured. It has exceeded my expectations.
The only problem I have encountered is with oil leaking and unable to find cause but could have been overfill. Also pneumatic tire leak had to be repaired and perhaps a tube in the tire would allow you to fill as needed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sheared off bolts and grips falling off

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
robert63
Location: rock hill, ny
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the snow tec machine I purchased for snow blowing at my property in Rock Hill New York did not perform very well, when I first got home I noticed that there were bolts that were over tightened and when I sat it on the ground one of the lower bolts on the frames had already sheard off when just setting it down. Over time the grips slipped off, I tried to get them back on they would not go back on. it rattles a lot too. No reverse, and to light.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product but....

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This snow blower works great. Regardless of how heavy the snow it cleans it up and the range to toss the snow is excellent. Handles ice like it was nothing I love it. The only thing I would request to be fixed is the crank to turn the direction of the snow tosser. It takes a really long time compared to a toro to change the directions of the shaft and you almost have to stop moving and change it then start rolling again. Otherwise I love this purchase and I do recommend it to friends.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great in performance but can use some updates

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Ronald
Location: Kansas City MO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this snow blower last year twice and was very impressed with the performance of my Sno Tek 20R. I was a little concerned about some of the controls and the way to turn the knob. Example, the choke. This year I am having problem with the fuel shut off valve. Stuck. I will get these issues fixed. I think it is an excellent machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Off to a good start

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
scafo
Location: Iowa
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned this machine for 3 months and used 4-5 times. The electric start has worked fine. The machine has been easy to handle and has thrown snow without difficulty. I bought the 20 inch model because of my limited space, and it fits in the storage area given it, perfectly.
I am very pleased with my purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It gets the job done.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Wayne
Location: Denver, CO
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We haven't had a lot of snow here yet, but I'm convinced this was the right machine for our driveway and sidewalk. It starts easily and has great power for both traction and blowing snow. the front edge of the bottom blade has left a rust stain on my garage floor already that surprised me. It is a brand new machine. I put a piece of Masonite under the front edge and will have to look closer at what is going on to produce rust already.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>