Customer reviews for Ariens Sno-Tek 20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Ariens.

Ariens Sno-Tek 20

Efficient and Affordable...Sno-Tek™ by Ariens uses two-stage technology that delivers reliable performance with value in mind. With 20-inch clearing capacity, the Sno-Tek 20 provides a durable option in the entry-level price category. Built by Ariens, it’s a brand you can trust for getting the job done.
Overall rating:
4.277 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(184 reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 184 reviews
5
110
4
43
3
14
2
6
1
11
164 out of 184(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sno-Tek 20
Review 1 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice entry level snow blower

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: Rosemount, MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this during the first large blizzard of the year. Chews thought 12 inch snow easily throwing it 30 feet. Would recomend this as a first snow blower for anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedJune 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Richard
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new snow thrower worked beyond expectation this year, with more than average snowfall in the Chatham, Ontario area. The only problem I had was the second or third time I used it the choke handle broke in the cold weather. This piece is made of plastic it should be made of metal, but at least I still had the primer to get it started besides that it works perfect.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Alfred
Brockton, Ma.
Plastic choke control
Posted September 22, 2011
The plastic choke control makes me feel a little bit nervious about this product. I've been watching this model for about 2 vyears.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall great snowblower

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Jonathon
Location: Nj
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ariens really built an out standing consumer quality snow blower. Really the only features it doesnt have is remote chute controls, gear box speed options and a head lamp. Honestly I like it simple my father owns one of those fancy husqvarna commercial grades and you would think for $1600 it would drive itself. Ive driven skid steers less confusing, also after 3 years the remote cables that control the chute and brake control rusted inside and don't work anymore anyway, besides I dont live in Alaska or clear snow at night. I live on a street where we park nose in and my town house has thinner walk ways. Finding a 20 inch 2 stage blower is a pain I dont know if anyone makes them aside from Ariens but if you find one I dout it will have motor this big with electric start, augers with teeth one hand operated controls self adjusting idle and even a auger gear housing you can check and maintain the oil plus a 2 year warranty. During usage its everthing i hoped for it chew into packed iced covered plowtruck mountains and made short work of snow drifts. There are 2 issues I have, the discharge chute rattles at the base where it meets the housing, and the knobs are cheaper plastic for choke and fuel, besides that its well worth the price over MTD, Craftsman and yardman which are basicly the same with different names. I'm looking foward to a snowy winter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, low cost 2 stage

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jamal
Location: Bucks County, PA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great machine, bought it last year used it through two 5-6 inch snow storms (only ones we had near Philly PA). Worked great no hesitation starting it with the pull cord on the LCT engine. I am writing this review now after cold starting it after sitting for more then 8 months and it still runs perfectly and I can't weight to use it again. I have seen single stage machines that cost more then this yet don't perform as well. Also one thing you should know this model may have a smaller engine but it is more then ample enough to power the machine, it also sips fuel was still almost full and only an inch or less below the fuel strainer after blowing my long driveway (have yet to see the fuel economy when in higher snow!) Also this model (at least my model year (2011-2012) has no dipstick on the 136cc engine so you have to check the fluid levels every time you start with the tiny little stick on the end of the cap. Also alot of people complain of it being only one wheel drive, those people must not have read the manual because it clearly says how to make it two wheel drive as by default it is one wheel drive (NOT HARD TO DO!), but I wouldn't reccomend two wheel drive unless in heavy snow, otherwise it becomes a bit cumbersome when you want to try and make adjustments direction wise. Also unlike the other two stage models I have bought this requires no chains, the tires are quite grippy and have plenty of tread to give you traction. Only real complaint I have was waiting for home depot to ship this out to me, took over a month too get from the factory in Wisconsin to my house with a lift gate service (must have that service otherwise its ihard to take it inside in its heavy crate) Also word of advice put fuel stabilizer in when storing and fogging oil in the cylinders really helps when storing it over the spring and summer.
Best of luck and I really reccomend you buy this machine if you are into getting a two stage machine for a low price, in this price range its either this or a single stage which can't get close to the performance of this.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value for the price!

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Andres
Location: Lawrence, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this machine for 2 years now, and just used it to clear the entire parking lot of about 5 cars on this blizzard 2013, it performed very well and very fuel efficient.
I am glad i bought this machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful and light!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Marc
Location: Just north of Boston, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just hit by "Nemo" with 26.5" and this snow-blower was awesome!
The snow was over the intake height, which meant that I had to do multiple passes over the same sections. However, most snow that I bought this to clean will not be remotely close to 26.5".
It had been sitting in the shed since November and still started with one easy pull. It chewed up the dense plow piles at the end of my driveway and two of my neighbors' driveways. The single-handed operation of drive and propeller shafts was great so that I could easily change the direction of the blown snow with the other.
This storm sent heavy snow, and I had to refill the gas tank three times. Again, normal snowfall would probably require one fill, but the heavy snow and multiple passes took its toll on the gas consumption.
This machine blew the snow high and far, which affirmed my choice of a two-stage. Getting the heavy snow up and over my high fence was easy.
Am I kicking myself for not going one step high to the 24" with multiple forward and reverse speeds? Well, a little bit. For a little more, my cleanup would have been easier and faster for this storm. This storm was huge, though, and most times the bigger machine would be complete overkill. I love the size of this 20" blower, how easily it stores in my small shed, how easy it is to steer due to its relatively light weight, and the straight-up simplicity of a single forward speed. Love it, love it, love it!
If you are in the group of people seeking reliability, simplicity, and affordability, and are eyeing smaller and less powerful electric or single-stage blowers, do yourself a favor and get this one. You will not regret it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value, be sure dealer has it set up properly

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Hugh
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The snow blower operates as expected. It is a little under powered, lugs down in deep snow. The unit was shipped w/o oil in the gear box and sales staff did not check it out. After 3 snowstorms, the gears are worn out so augers don't turn. Have to see if satisfaction can be obtained thru the warranty.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

20" Did the Job!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Jeffrey
Location: Pruitt
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very seldom have I purchased anything that exceeded my expectations. But this Sno-Tek 20" two stage snow blower changed that in a big way. This thing cut through 10" of powder snow like it wasn't even there. And, it threw it 40'-50' away! I'm beyond ecstatic and looking forward to more snow to come our way. ....The only improvement I would make is give it a second speed. It seemed a little slow for the task, but that could be from my impatience. Overall, I'm thrilled and would recommend it to anyone considering buying one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Bern
Location: St.John's NL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid performance and very reasonably priced machine. Features available are unmatched for comparable prices. Tons of power and handling is superior.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm happy--good buy

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Jonah
Location: Denver
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great electric start. Not complicated and easy to maneuver--and store in garage. Liked hint to put stabilizer in fuel. Does the job for me 2-10 deep inches snow so far this season.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sno-TEK is a work-horse!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
TFC63
Location: Ridgway, CO
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
We live in Colorado around 8,000 feet where snow fall events can drop as much as 20" overnight. We purchased the Sno-TEK two stage snow blower by Ariens to clear our driveway and areas around the house to avoid hiring someone to clear the snow for us (cost $65 per event). We used our Sno-TEK about 9 times this winter so it was a 5-month payback. This unit was awesome and cut through the snow like it was butter and the self-propelled drive was a life-saver as our driveway is sloped. The snow chute allowing us to direct the snow blow provided good snow management. The most valuable feature is the shear-pins on the auger. We have a gravel driveway and twice the pins sheared versus damaging the transmission on the unit. Even when the temperature was in single digits the unit operated with great performance. I recommend this unit for anyone who has to move snow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This snowblower is a work horse

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
James
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After I got my snowblower home, we have had two snows of ten and seven inches. The first day I used this blower I cleared five driveways and the second time eight driveways were cleared. I have some disabled families in the area and was glad that I was able to help them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Den
Location: Minnesota
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had to downsise from a 13hp,27 inch because of heart problems and was unsure of a machine with no reverse, but this machine is light enough so that is no problem. It is so easy to start I only used the electric start a couple times to see if it worked. Works great on Minnesota snow.Den
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
It had just snowed 14 inches. I went to the garage to start my snow blower and it seized up on me. I dashed over to Home depot and this one caught my eye. I purchased it and brought it home. It was a snap to assemble and cleared my huge driveway in no time. I would recommend this blower to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far It's Great

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Paul
Location: Niagara Falls NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for a city lot and also works great for doing the sidewalks around our Credit Union. Good for running right along the curb for a nice clean look.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine for the money

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Bruce
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this in February 2013. It handles the deep snow without a hitch. Things I wish it had, was a throttle control and reverse. However, when you need to go backwards, its light enough to pull it. When more throttle is needed, the governor kicks it and powers thru with no problem. The shear pins it comes with are a little weak, so if you get this modle, be sure to get some extra's with it. Snow chains are another handy addition as well. It doesn't have enough weight to keep it from climbing, but it's not bad. :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good garageable small snow thrower

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
L. J.
Location: Milwaukee
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Needed an adjunct to a 20 year old single stage for heavier snows. Also needed something that would fit next to or between truck and SUV in a two car garage, and that was light enough for "older" people to handle.
Looked at them all for a while and decided that, even without a reverse and only a slow single speed the 20" fit the bill for the price.
Only had to use it a couple of times but it cut right thru the piles left by city snowplows at the end of the driveway.
Will know better with next years snows but so far, seems great.
Even though H. D. didn't set it up, it only took 15 minutes for me and started with one pull.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Don
Location: Northern Illinois
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is better than I expected. The snow was heavy and wet but this snow thrower thew the snow 30 feet away. I was very surprised after having a unit that the heavy snow got stuck in the chute so I could not use it and had to shovel.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything about this model is perfect!!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Jerry
Location: simsbury,ct
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Sno Tek 20 back in February 2013,the day before the big snow storm that we had here in New England----had 29" at my house.
I went to the garage and choked it,hit the primer button 3 times,pulled the starting cord "ONCE",it fired right up and took the 29" of snow and did a "FANTASTIC" job on clean-up.I would buy another without question.This is also very good for my wife to use because of the electric start.No excuses now honey!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best snow thrower i ever owned and used

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
willie62
Location: niagara falls
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after 2 surgeries i was unable to use my push snowblower and had to hire a contractor to do my driveway and patio area. when it stopped working after several costly repairs i purchased the ariens 20in snow thrower. the self propelled feature allows me to clean the snow from my property myself. very easy to operate and manuver. my contractor and i remain friends, he understands.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>