Customer reviews for Sno-Tek by Ariens Sno-Tek 20

Sno-Tek by Ariens Sno-Tek 20

Hard, compact snow is no match for the Sno-Tek single-speed two-stage snow blower. Engineered to provide years of superior performance and durability, the Sno-Tek 20 features steel serrated augers, a top-load aluminum gear case, a 136cc Sno-Tek engine with 120V electric start, an all-steel dash panel, polymer chute with a manual chute deflector, and a 20-inch wide all-steel housing.
Overall rating:
4.255 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(188 reviews) 188
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 188 reviews
5
112
4
43
3
14
2
7
1
12
166 out of 188(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sno-Tek 20
Review 1 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This guy is amazing

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My snotek 20 does whatever I ask of it. This is my third year with it and I used the electric start on the first snowfall and after that I used the pull start. Once the old gas was burned off on the initial start, it was ready to go the rest of the season. I do my area and three of my neighbors. What an amazing unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It has good features when it starts.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Allentown, Pa
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We bought this Sno-Tek in October. It's suppose to start right away. It does not. I can't ever get it started even with the electric start. I have the instruction manual with me and it still does not start. It takes my husband three times before it will start. We even start it regularly (with a couple of tries) because of the cold weather. Still does not start when we need it. I consider this a waste of $700 since I land up shoveling all the time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't waste your money

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Every since I've had this blower (year and a half) it has had trouble starting! forget the pull start, it never start using it. Almost like it hasn't got enough compression to start. The electric start does start it, sometimes. It normally take over a half and hour to get it to kick in. Got it at Home Depot and they've been no help. find another blower.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smaller footprint Snowblower but Great Power

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Marlton, NJ
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a average size driveway on a slight incline. My Snowtek 20 has a lot of power and smaller footprint to manuever through my driveway and sidewalks! I end up going over to help the neighbors sometimes. This two stage snow blower has electric start feature and adjustable chute. I get a lot of time on one tank. I actually like going out and snow blowing! I would recommend buying this model!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked flawless

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
This winter was one for the books and I would not been able to shovel that much snow your product was the best thing that I could have had thanks for making a great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good So Far

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For just over $500, including tax, this was the cheapest 2 stage blower I could find. I've had this for one season (where it actually snowed) and overall it works great, cleans the surface well, blows far enough (not super far), starts easily with the electric start. My only real complaint is that it doesn't have reverse, but I guess I shouldn't expect that at this price range. Oh, it moves slow and there's no speed control. All you have is slow. I sometimes feel like I could shovel faster, but then I remember this is more fun and better for my back.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Product... but....

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Calgary, AB
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Starting to have issues with the choke...
may have to take it in for a service to get it checked out
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Performs well

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only problem is that the machine leaves a small windrow on the right hand side the blade resulting in the need to go over the area again
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This machine lasted one winter

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This machine lasted one winter. The winter it did work, a part broke and another keeps needed fixed.
Will try and get it going for the next winter, but if it costs a lot to fix, it's getting scrapped.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Machine has been in service more that at home in 3 months

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The machine is impossible to configure to clear all the snow. Even Home Depot service department (where its been 3 times now) can't configure it properly. Tonight is also the second flat tire I've had. I've also had stalling problems. Last, don't buy this machine if you want to clear snow in any quick fashion. It moves slower than a snail. The snow that it does get it throws pretty far though.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from AriensBy Mary LynMarketingApril 3, 2014
Thank you for your honest review, and we are sorry that you had issues with your Sno-Tek. We recommend that you take it to an Ariens Master Service Dealer as they are trained in this area. I'm not sure why you would be getting flat tires, but the dealer might be able to help you with this as well.

Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value at a reasonable price

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cassville NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the 3rd season with my Sno-Tek and it still starts 1st pull every time even in sub zero temperatures .clears my driveway and walkway with ease even in these nasty upstate new york winters !! One of the smartest purchases I've ever made !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good performance for a small machine

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Medina, Ohio
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Sno-Tek 20 is not a large machine but it clears my 25' x 55' driveway in a reasonable amount of time. This is my second winter.
At the beginning of the winter season I could not start it. After cleaning out the carb bowl and jet it started right up. Not sure if I did something wrong storing it.
Since then it has worked flawlessly. It has nice features like the ability to quickly change the snow chute direction while running it. Some smaller machines don't have that feature.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to start and use.

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Haymarket, VA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caution...read the directions and DO NOT forget to either run it out of gas or use gas additive for summer storage. I didn't and paid the price. Had to have carburetor rebuilt. Starts again like its old self. Envy of the neighborhood...and blower of several driveways as a result...too kind.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine did a great job.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We sold our big snow blower as I couldn't handle it. Since my husband's heart attack I would be doing the drive. It is my new toy and I'm sure glad we got it after the huge number of days that I had to do our drive because of all the snow we had in Ohio this year.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay product

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased at the end of last winter (2/13) and did NOT use at all last year. On initial snow of the year (late Nov) tried to start and unit did not start (I used stableizer over the summer etc.) and stored inside. I had to call local hardware store and had to pay for pick up and return. They informed me that no need to set choke when starting and just push primer two times -- not the recommended 3 or 4 times in owner's manual. Some other adjustments were made and since then very little difficulty starting. It will be interesting next winter.
Also, was hoping for a closer (to driveway and sidewalk surface) pick up of snow. Once finished using snow blower, need to go back over with shovel to get driveway and sidewalk clear of snow so not to be slippery or become slush and then ice covered when temps drop. Neighbors have similar size blower (different brand) and their driveway etc. is almost completely clear when finished using blower. No matter depth of snow (3" - 12") same problem.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done and a good value !

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Long Island , NY
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This machine is powerful enough to bite into and move wet snow up to approximately 13". I purchased it this Fall and would not have made it through this years Winter in the NorthEast without it.
The 20 inch with is handy because it fits inbetween the cars on the driveway or along side stone curbing. The only feature that would be desireable would be a faster drive speed.(only has one foward speed). Otherwise I satisfied with the unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Markham
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
One of the zerk fittings fell off mine. These are a compression fit. This got past Q.C. somehow. No love from C.S.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

nothing but a headache since i got it

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Plainfield, NJ
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this machine has trouble starting. even with the electric starter. I've taken it a couple times to Home Depot for maintenance and even there, it gives them a hard time, and at the end they just said, "take it and see how it does......."
My son also noticed last time, that the left Auger doesn't spin. which you never notice walking behind. I understood then, why that side only pushed the snow in front.
All and all. I hate this machine!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from AriensBy Mary LynMarketingMarch 10, 2014
Thank you for your honest reply. We are sorry that you are having trouble with your machine, and we want to work with you to fix the issue.

Contact your local Ariens servicing dealer so they can evaluate your unit and make the necessary adjustment to fix your issues. Your local dealer will work with our tech service group to make sure your unit is back up and running.

If you are not getting the results through your dealer, please let us know.

Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Mid Range Priced Snow Machine

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Westminster, CO
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this unit a little more than a year back and have been very happy with it. This snow machine is pretty powerful and can throw snow a good 20 to 30 feet or more. So far I have used it in a variety of conditions (wet/dry snow) and it has not jammed up on me yet.
Only downside to this model is it is a bit heavy, so maneuvering it around can be a little tricky in a small area, but overall the more I use it the easier it is for me to use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sno-Tek 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very hard winter in Chicago and great performance.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Downers Grove, Il
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with my purchase of this item with the winter we have endured. It has exceeded my expectations.
The only problem I have encountered is with oil leaking and unable to find cause but could have been overfill. Also pneumatic tire leak had to be repaired and perhaps a tube in the tire would allow you to fill as needed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>