Customer reviews for Ariens Sno-Tek 24

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Ariens.

Ariens Sno-Tek 24

Efficient and Affordable...Sno-Tek™ by Ariens uses two-stage technology that delivers reliable performance with value in mind. With 24-inch clearing capacity, the Sno-Tek 24 provides a durable option in the entry-level price category. Built by Ariens, it’s a brand you can trust for getting the job done.
Overall rating:
4.481 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(774 reviews) 774
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 774 reviews
5
522
4
176
3
30
2
18
1
28
717 out of 774(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sno-Tek 24
Review 21 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke after 3rd use

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The mechanism that drives the rear wheel broke after the 3rd use. I believe it's a very poor design. There is a wheel on the drive shaft that has a rubber ring around it that when engaged press against another cog on the axel to drive the wheel. The rubber ring completely disintegrated and now there's now ability to drive the wheel. The machine is useless without the drive.
Will have to deal with Home Depot now.
Don't buy this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for the price, but I've had better

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Brian
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this snow blower to replace a Craftsman model I had sold when I thought I was moving. I didn't want or need the best of the best, and this product offered great features for the price. The chute adjusters are convenient and well made. The engine seems well made and I've never had a problem starting it. My only issue is the power. It is not able to throw the snow nearly as far as my previous Craftsman product. Normally it's sufficient, but I would prefer more. Also, in snow any deeper than 6 inches, you can only cover about half the width at a time because the auger and thrower can't keep up and it ends up pushing snow around the sides and you have to go back and clean up what it missed. The engine also seems to struggle a bit in really thick stuff. Some struggling is to be expected, but my previous one could handle more. In general, this is a good bargain, but if you get a lot of snow or expect a really powerful machine, you may be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

first usage -malfunctioning product

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
jim
Location: hingham, ma
Auger does not disengage, travel wheels malfunctioning, loud banging noise when travel is engaged, travel wheels do not engage properly.
This snow blower is brand new. Very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price for a Great Machine

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Chris
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got this maching one of the last ones in the city after a major snow dump. Starts great and it sure throws the snow far. I used it to tackle some serious hard packed piles of snow and had no issues at all. SO far so good. Can't wait for more snow. I have a good slope on my driveway and it works flawless. Love this machine. Only thing I am not keen on is the lack of weight it won't take off packed trampled snow. Looking for a scrapper for the front end. But overall it is a great machine glad I got it. I do like the not have the wheels engaged all the time so I can move it free wheel.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Early Drive Wheel Failure - Rubber broke away from drive hub.

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
TerryGStAlbert
Location: St Albert Alberta
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unit is < 2 years old - only used 5 times. Started banging inside drive housing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality, 1 to 2 wheel drive

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Pennsylvania
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have just bought it and was able to use it once so far and the only problem I had was with only 1 wheel drive until I went back and read the manual... again. When I went out and looked at the wheel and seen the pin holding the wheel on had a 2nd hole to put it in 2 wheel drive I just shook my head. Otherwise it starts right up 1st pull and does a great job. Better than the other throwers I had.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Massachusetts
Bought this machine earlier this year in January and used it a few times. Very good quality snowblower compared to some of the other brands in this price range. I notice they made some minor changes on the new models like the all steel chute unlike mine which is part poly with the steel top. Also they now have the remote chute deflector which I really wish I had on my machine instead of having to stop to adjust the throwing distance. Overall it's a great snowblower and has plenty of power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff for the buck

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
katesunny
Location: Toronto.ontario
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a very afforable machine that packs power and easy to use. 120V electric start is a great freature when you just don't want to pull that rope. It has a big gas tank 2.7L so you don't have to refuel as much compared to some othe snowblowers.overall this is a great machine and best one i owned so far
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
kevin
ct
buy this machine!
Posted November 9, 2012
got it last winter 1/11 worked great/first snow of 2012 started first pull ran thru slush 8 inch deep easy ran great thank u ariens
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 29 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for your buck

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this product for 1 year now and it was godsend to have. 1 easy pull to start and cleared through some deep drifts. Even 1 inch of fluffy snow it tossed it a crossed the driveway! When i say tossed more like launched! :P Slush NO prob! throwing snow on my neighbors house was quite funny
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best blower for the bucks!

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
howbroker
Location: Chicago, IL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After doing some hard shopping on features and size per dollar, I purchased the SnoTek 24. Over the memorial day weekend I "summerized" it and thought I would send in a review.
I can not say a bad word about this unit. It has cleared 2 driveways and a couple hundred feet of side walk on every snow for two years. It starts on the first pull every time (after I crank it with the electric start on the first snow of the winter to prime everything).
It well powered for the size of the unit. Easily handling a full swath of 3 inches or 12 inches.
You can purchase a fancier machine with tracks, or a bigger machine that will clear it faster, but IMHO you will not find a better built 24 inch work horse for the price. NO PLASTIC, ALL STEEL!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaced my previous 11.5 hp 30" blower.

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Werner
Location: Prince George, B.C.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great machine so far. I have not had any problems or complaints. It started in the coldest weather with a pull of the starter cord - I have not needed to use the electric starter. It is just the right width and it is not too heavy to manage by a senior.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Roland
Location: Thornton IL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this machine last year not only to do my own property with a 65' long double driveway, but also my neighbors. It cut thru 3' and 4' drifts of heavy packed snow with no difficulty. Just let the machine do its job at its own pace. Threw the snow a considerable distance, too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
john
utica ny
excellent machine
Posted February 14, 2012
ive owned an ariens snowblowers in the past but by rar this is a great product and i highly recomend it to all well worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 33 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent So Far!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
George
Location: KInnelon NJ
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just picked my 24" Sno-Tek up a few weeks ago to replace my old Toro single-stage. We used it over the weekend for the Halloween blizzard. I had 14" of snow in my part of New Jersey and it handled it like a champ. Too early to comment on durability and I wish it had a headlight but on a price/performance scale and knowing its an Ariens I give it top marks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just fine for what I use it for, blowing snow!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
James
Location: Lowell, Indiana
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm writing this review after using my new snow blower for some time.
For me the product is a very good piece of equipment for the price I paid for it. I used it for 8 major snow this last winter and it made cleaning out my driveway the easiest job I've had in a long time. It was easy to start and service, even replacing an shear pin was easy. I would say, that for someone with an average driveway and sidewalks, this would likely be one that you should consider if you are in the market for a new snow blower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and it does a great job.

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: Ottawa
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The machine started when needed and did a great job. No complaints.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

decent machine for the money

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
HR
Location: Walpole, MA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have long sloping driveway but the machine handles it fine. I feel it coulduse more power. However it could be the drive's problem which was fixed under warranty at the end if this season. I look forward to use it next season to see if the power had been restored.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic snow blower

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer avatar
June
Location: Holbrook, MA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This snow blower is large enough to clear a 6 car driveway but small enough for a 5 foot person to handle. I have a large driveway that goes uphill. This self-propelled snow blower has no problem making it up the hill and clearing any type of snow. Don't know why I waited so long to buy a snow blower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Mary
Location: Fredericton. New Brunsick
This is was the second winter I have used my snow blower and it has worked great for me. I am a 70 year lady on my own with a long driveway and I did not have to use the electric start once - just gently pulled the cord and my blower started immediately, I will say this was one of the best decisions I made in my senior years to buy a snow blower. I paid for my snow blower the first year I bought it because my snow removal was costing me almost triple for what it cost me. For me it was the right decision and I like that it is so light and user friendly even for an older lady like me. Now I look forward to my garden tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Tim
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased this product for Michigan weather. Turned out to be record snow fall. Always started and never stalled even in coldest conditions and deepest snow.
It worked very well for me this past winter and hope it will for many years to come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Sno-Tek 24
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a good machine for the money

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a good machine for the money good power throws snow far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 39 next>>