Customer reviews for Ariens Zoom 42

Ariens Zoom 42

The Ariens Zoom 42 Zero Turn riding mower provides exceptional cutting performance for an outstanding value. The Zoom 42 is an ideal option for homeowners looking to cut a large yard in up to half the time. This newly designed platform offers a lower center of gravity which results in better stability, handling and hill holding capability. This model features the 12-gauge, stamped XLerator™ deck that is uniquely designed to improve cutting performance. Increased airflow and a tunneled cutting area allow for enhanced discharge of clippings while reducing clogging and blow-out. All of this combined makes small work of the toughest mowing jobs.
Overall rating:
4.506 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5
52
4
21
3
3
2
0
1
3
73 out of 79(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Zoom 42
Review 41 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really like this zero turn mower

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
george
Location: Littlestown, Pa
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this mower it doesa beautiful job on our lawn. Cuts very evenly and consistent get lots of compliments on my lawn. Have owned this for 2 years really like it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my finest decisions was the purchase of my 42" ZOOM.

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
LEE
Location: GEORGIA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 76 years old and severely disabled. I can operate this machine with no difficulty. My mowing time is about half what it was with a 46" tractor style mower.
The machine also serves as my cross-country wheelchair for movement around my 92 acres.
A neighbor told me to buy a zero-turn machine. I chose the correct machine. "On Wisconsin."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This 22 HP Zero-Turn Only uses Twice the Fuel as My Old 3 HP Push Mower!!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Grant
Location: Sergeant Bluff, IA
I have 1/2 acre to mow and bought the Zoom 42 last year. The yard would previously take me over 3 hours to mow with my 21" push mower. The Zoom will mow it in less than 1 hour. The amazing thing is that this 22 HP mower uses about a gallon to do the job while my old 3 HP push mower used about 1/2 gallon to do the same area! The power is amazing. The mower handles great but does have some traction issues on a slope. The tire tread isn't real aggressive so if the wheels do spin a little, it doesn't mess up the grass. The mower is built well with very few plastic parts and still uses the "Made in America" Briggs engine. The only thing that I feel Ariens could have done better is the mulch kit for the Zoom 42. The steel baffles work great but the self-adhesive foam to seal the gaps on the discharge side is a little cheap. How about some thick rubber such as conveyor belting???
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best mower I've ever had

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delivery was timely-driver and I unloaded the crate and pushed the hand truck about 50 feet to my work area. Then the wife and I spent about 1 hour uncrating and assembling the mower. We then put gas and oil in it, cranked it and started cutting. Warning: if you've never driven a ZTR mower, don't start off at top speed. There is a learning curve with these mowers but it only takes about two cuttings to get used to the motion.
Over the past 30 years, I've owned most of the major brand riding mowers (Sears, John Deere, Poulan, Husqvarna). This mower puts all of them to shame. It's easy to steer, efficient, and comfortable. Not only that, it does a great job of cutting. I cut approximately 1.7 acres of field grass and St Augustine combined on a weekly basis. My cutting time has been reduced by 1/4. There is some scalping, but that happens with my Huskie too.
One of my favorite things about this mower is the ease of keeping the mower deck clean. Every rider I've ever owned has had pulley covers that captured grass clippings and affected belt performance. This mower is almost flat-rinsing it with a hose keeps it clean.
The biggest problem I have with this mower is I've given it to the wife several times because of a shoulder injury. Now, she wants one of her own.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have used my Ariens Zoom 42 for about one year now. It still looks and preforms great. Our yard looks great after mowing.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
William
Location: Berne IN.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great mower and the time saved is great. No more sun burns from mowing and I can still mow after working late. This was the best money spent in years. What was an hour is now 15 minutes with no trimming. So far no repairs required and the yard looks great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall - a good value for the money.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Derrill
Location: Conway, AR
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have an issue with the oil drain valve. It doesn't work. First of all, it leaks all over the place and makes a royal mess. Second, when the valve is opened to drain the engine oil, it drains so slowly it takes 40 minutes to drain out. Next oil change, that piece of junk is coming out. Then I may have another issue. I don't know if the valve covers are leaking or it is simply the mess the faulty drain valve creates. The valve is also difficult to open and close... frustrating!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

what a time saver,makes me wish my lawn was larger.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Todd
Location: Scottsbluff,Ne.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mower, what took me 1 hour with a tractor mower now takes me 20 minutes . I can mow faster and the zero turn is so much quicker then a tractor mower. This mower mows great and leaves you with very little trimming afterwards . Great product don't shy away from this one,you will not be dissapointed. Very satisfied,thanks for a great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke down will not run- only 3 years old.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Mick
Location: Freeland, MI
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is the saddest $3000.00 riding mower we have ever owned. Loved Cub Cadet and Honda. This lawn mower is only 3 years old and has not run all season. Carburetor issues big time. Would not recommend anyone buy this riding lawn mower.The Briggs and Stratton motor should hold up longer than 3 years. We do not have a large yard, but needed this mower because of many trees to mow around. Zero Turn is good. Although does not get as close as we would like. It is unfortunate that we have to have it serviced. We have been using our push mower and staring at the broken down mower in the shed. Just hate to shell out money this soon to get it fixed. Our old Honda ran 15 years no problems. Home Depot had this mower on sale and we thought it was a good buy. We learned our lesson.. the hard way.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mowing time is cut in half

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Cliff
Location: Western NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My yard has a dozen trees and it took forever to mow around them until I bought the Zoom 42. It is easy to maneuver and cuts cleanly. Recommend installing a deck clean out fitting because grass buildup is rapid.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Todd
Location: Minnesota
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had this mower 2 years. I have not had any issues so far with it. Mower has plenty of power and is very easy to use. It's actually fun to mow the lawn!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Zoom 42 Zero Turn

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Andrew
Location: Syracsue NY
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had a John Deere Tractor for many years and it still ran and cut very well. I kept hearing guys tell how they liked the zero turn, so I sold my tractor and bought an Ariens, Best decision I ever made. It cut the mowing of my 2 acres almost in half and it's so much fun. The fact that it's American made is just a plus. I used to have to slow down in the spring when the grass was thick but now I just plow right through it and still get an excellent cut. I also love the very confortable seat and the fact that you can lean back on it. Some of my lawn used to be a hay field and is kind of rough, so I wish it had some shock absorbers.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I understand Ariens started their bussiness in 1933 and not many companies stay around unless they are doing something right!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Ricky
Location: Panama City Fl.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I once owned a lawn tractor and always wanted a zero turn lawn mower but they were out of my price range untill I found the Ariens 42" cut and now after 2 years I still love my mower.
I have 2 acres to cut and it's a breeze with this mower and the features it has are really nice. I have no problem cutting my ditch that is at about a 30 degree angel and I really like the foot pedal that lifts the deck at the operators desire to when going over roots and such.
I added a hitch so I could pull my lawn wagon and it pulls it with ease even when loaded with 150 lbs or better. The 42" is well worth the extra money you will invest over the 33" if you have a large lawn like me.
I could keep going but I hope you get the impression that this is a great mower and at very reasonable price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of Power; Cut my Mowing Time in Half

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Tim
Location: Union Grove, WI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Ariens in part because I admire my Ariens snowblower. However, I was not impartial. I did mega research on zero-turns and weighed all the options of size, engine HP, number of cutting blades, etc. I also read all the reviews on others. It was not an easy choice. However, the experience so far is fantastic. The 22HP Kohler is merciless regardless of grass height. The steering is a learning curve, but it becomes second nature. I love this machine and now I have another great Ariens product. I almost upgraded to the XL42 because of the supposedly higher quality transaxle drives, but so far I have no problems. My only complaint is that I am experiencing flaking of the orange paint, especially on the engine cowling. Not too thrilled about that, but it is only cosmetic. Bottom line: can't go wrong with this one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Roger
Location: New Port Richey FL
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best mower I have ever owned! I had one problem the battery went dead but the local Areins dealer installed a new one and Areins took care of all the expense. I bought a mulching kit for my mower and it does a good job. I think an improvement for the kit could be made by changing the design of the three blades. Over all, this is a very well made machine for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent unit for the money!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Troy
Location: Byron, MN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been harping about the fact that I needed a new mower. I've got a 12-year old MTD rear-wheel drive push mower that I was beginning to tire of. I looked at an Ariens LM21 and got some pricing from my local dealer. My Wife kept telling me that I didn't need a new mower, causing me to protest. This went on for about two months. Imagine my surprise when she told me to buy a zero-turn instead! I immediately went into action, hoping she wouldn't rescind the offer. I did a lot of research online, looking at competitors to this unit. I kept coming back to Ariens, as the unit rated really well amongst owners. As a bonus, I have a dealer just a block away from me. I wrestled with which size to get. I was originally going to go with the 34", but liked the engine and wider cut of the 42" better. After measuring around some of the obstacles on the property, I decided to go forth with the purchase of the 42"
I drove the unit home from the dealer since it is so close to home. I have to tell you, I had no idea the steering was so sensitive on these units and if anybody was watching me on the drive home, they probably got a laugh on me. I spent about 15 minutes in the back yard, maneuvering forward and reverse and then it just clicked...it almost became second nature and doesn't require any thought once you get used to it. I have had the unit for a little over a month now and have mowed 5 times with it. It has taken the chore out of mowing and I complete in about 60% of the time that it was taking with the push mower. The lawn looks great and the neighbors commented on how good my lawn looked after the first mow.
I have added a SenDEC hour meter to mine, which was an easy install and I purchased a CheckMate lawn-striping roller, which is mounted to the rear frame. I just dropped the mower off this evening to get the mulching kit installed.
I'm really pleased with my purchase. The unit is comfortable to sit on and operate and it has made mowing fun. I've never minded mowing - in fact I enjoy it, but this unit makes me look forward to the next time out. I've often told my family that I would love to start my own lawn business. If I ever do, I would certainly look at upgrading to a more commercial Ariens model to get my business off the ground.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Tim
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the Ariens Zoom 42 for a couple of months, and I'm fully satisfied with my purchase. The mower is everything the manufacturer and the reviews claimed it to be. My yard is an acre in size with numerous trees, bushes, and other obstructions to negotiate, and I can now fully appreciate the advantages of a zero turn machine. This unit is fast, mows very nicely, and is fun to operate.
My only criticisms would concern the ride quality and the noise. Because it is fast, you bang a little harder over rough terrain, and the front tires provide virtually no cushion, as they are not pneumatic. The engine noise is probably no louder than other mowers of this size and type, some even use the same engine, but as the revs go up, so goes the racket .
A low fuel warning light would be of great benefit, since the fuel gauge is not readily visible under the seat.
I can't really remark on durability, but everything functions well and as expected. The steer linkage on my unit is just a bit off center, but I believe this to be insignificant after reading the manual.
Overall, then, a great mower at a fair price, and USA made.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the only way to cut your lawn.

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Jim
Location: South Lyon ,Michigan
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always had lawn tractors, Craftsman,to be exact. This is the first Zero turn ever,I wasn't sure at first. After the first cutting I was hooked, it put fun back in mowing the lawn. It did take time to learn full control of the Zoom,now I can trim closer to all edges,much less tirmming. The best thing is you get done in half the time, or better. I only wish this was around sooner in my life.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoon 42

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Mark
Location: Connecticut
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been looking for a zero turn for over a year, but the high cost and complex configuration of most units keept me from purchasing a unit.
When the Zoom 42 was advertized in Home depot on sale I went to look over the unit. The design is simple and the unit is suted for home use We have used the mower for two mowing seasons and The wife does all the mowing I only have performed the maintenance on the mower, she wont let me mow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it is heavy duty

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Bader
Location: Grain Valley, MO
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
yeah it is...i have lawn serves and i do like 9-12 a day for 3 years it never failed me but i wish they would get on it a gas mater and more importuned support the front bar that it hold the front wheels because bayed 2 in year 2011 - 2012 and both of them that bar Brock on me so i had to welded back and sport is more so it would take the bumpy land but other than than (IT IS A GOOD INVESTMENT)
i used it and i know it more than any Buddy take my word for it.
P.S:
it never failed me but it do need more modifications (starter-front weels bar- Gas mater) other than that it is 100%
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value and performance.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Scott18
Location: Earling, Iowa
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great price for a machine with this kind of power and clean mowing capabilities. Easy to operate and makes quick work out of the biggest jobs. The best thing is I have not had to mow since we bought it, my wife loves it and will not let me use it!! Best piece out outdoor equipment I have purchased.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>