Customer reviews for Ariens Zoom 42

Ariens Zoom 42

The Ariens Zoom 42 Zero Turn riding mower provides exceptional cutting performance for an outstanding value. The Zoom 42 is an ideal option for homeowners looking to cut a large yard in up to half the time. This newly designed platform offers a lower center of gravity which results in better stability, handling and hill holding capability. This model features the 12-gauge, stamped XLerator™ deck that is uniquely designed to improve cutting performance. Increased airflow and a tunneled cutting area allow for enhanced discharge of clippings while reducing clogging and blow-out. All of this combined makes small work of the toughest mowing jobs.
Overall rating:
4.506 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5
52
4
21
3
3
2
0
1
3
73 out of 79(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Zoom 42
Review 1 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

crank seal leaks afraid to take to local dealer might make it worse

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
mike
Location: texas
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
crank seal leaks does not cut level dose not cut grass very well takes to or three passes have changed blades and had it adjusted at dealer which made comet should have bought it here so that is why i am afraid to take it in and by the way i gave my mower away away went back to my john deere lt150
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke down will not run- only 3 years old.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Mick
Location: Freeland, MI
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is the saddest $3000.00 riding mower we have ever owned. Loved Cub Cadet and Honda. This lawn mower is only 3 years old and has not run all season. Carburetor issues big time. Would not recommend anyone buy this riding lawn mower.The Briggs and Stratton motor should hold up longer than 3 years. We do not have a large yard, but needed this mower because of many trees to mow around. Zero Turn is good. Although does not get as close as we would like. It is unfortunate that we have to have it serviced. We have been using our push mower and staring at the broken down mower in the shed. Just hate to shell out money this soon to get it fixed. Our old Honda ran 15 years no problems. Home Depot had this mower on sale and we thought it was a good buy. We learned our lesson.. the hard way.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away from this product

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Hot Toddie
Location: Detroit, MI
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Live in Michigan, bought this in September and returned it October for full refund. First problem was with salesman, specifically told him about the steep hill I have because of a walk out basement over 20 degrees, he replied this is a pressurized oil system just like the commercials and you will not have a problem. Guess what happened i have a problem, every time I went up or down the hill enough smoke came out of the mower that my neighbor thought my house was on fire. Second problem was the paint finish flaked off on many areas and I only owed it for 29 days. Would not suggest to you that you purchase this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A fast mower

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Case
Location: Priddis AB Canada
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a Zoom 42 in June 2013 because it was narrow enough to mow around my many trees. I must say on a level lawn it is an amazing mower, very fast and easy to operate. However on a slight incline it is useless. The tires have no traction and you slide sideways out of control without having a brake. The only way to stop is to pull both levers back which makes the wheels spin backwards and hopefully you are not going to slide into something. I cannot mow the side ditches of my driveway with this machine. I have to mow them with my old tractor which totally has no problem with this slope. Another annoying thing is that the muffler is so close to the ground that it burns patches of grass at every turn or slow maneuver or god forbid stop on the lawn to do something else or run out of fuel for instance. The thing is you only notice it 2 days later. I was ready to return the mower only to find out there is a 25% restocking charge so I fixed the problem myself by manufacturing a heat shield and bolting it to the rear bumper. This is a huge design fault. The gas tank is also fairly small so you can mow for about 2 to 2-1/4 hours before running out of gas. There is no gas gauge visible from the seat so you have to keep track of your time to prevent running out of gas. If the company addresses these issues and rectify them it is definitely a good little machine for a perfect level yard.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kerry
somerset , pa.
burning grass
Posted September 22, 2013
after reading that several other zoom 42 owners have had problems with burning the grass I did some investigating the matter on my new zoom 42 . sure enough I found that when I stopped for more than a few seconds when throttled up and engine hot on warm days it did make brown spots on grass , I found that the exhaust deflector on bottom of muffler was discharging exhaust toward left side . The problem is this is directly in line with heated air blowing down from cylinder head which now also forces exhaust with it straight down into grass burning it . simply removed 4 screws turned it to now exit rear problem solved , no more brown spots.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This mower deck is NOT for Florida Bahia grass lawns.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Joseph
Location: Orlando, FL
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mower is designed ok, engine runs great. The features are good.
The problem is the blades and the deck. The only blades available are the standard mulching blades. These blades do not work on the seed stems from Argentia Bahia grass, very common here in Florida.
I have to mow at a slower speed and make more than one pass over some areas just to get the seed stems cut. This kind of defeats the purpose for having a fast, zero turn mower.
If Ariens engineers decide to design high lift blades, let me know please.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product performance leaves some to be desired

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Tony
Location: Cincinnati
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall this has been a pretty good mower. When I did have to have service done, it was very difficult finding a service dealer who would do the work. Some of that was because I bought it from Home Depot. Probably wouldn't repeat that mistake again.
Regarding the performance, I use this in mulching mode and quite frankly it leaks grass under the deck, leaves a LOT of bunched up grass no matter how high I set the blade or how high the grass is. Just doesn't seem to mulch very well. Also hard to find a local dealer who carries any of the accessories, like the bagger.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good - did have battery issue

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Eric
Location: West Chester, OH
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased my Zoom 42 from a dealer (not Home Depot) in Cincinnati area on 7/19/2013. They had to order it in as there weren't any in stock. It arrived in a reasonable time and I went with my Dad and his pick-up to get the machine. It fit nicely in the back of his full size Chevy. We loaded it backwards with a forklift at the shop where purchased and slowly lowered it to the ground by rolling forward on ramps when we got it home. I don't recommend driving if off or on a truck bed at such an angle especially if you are new to zero turns. It started up when we got it home just like it had at the shop. Started the next day, Saturday the 20th, too when I mowed the yard for the first time with it. Mowed beautifully. However, when I went to mow again on Wednesday, 7/24, the battery was basically dead- just weakly turned the engine once and stopped. Fortunately, I was able to use an extra battery of my Dad's to start it and mow again. Mowing is very fun with this thing - I only have a 1/2 acre and wish I had 3 now. I took the battery to the shop and they will try to charge again for 2 days and then load test it to see if it is a good battery. If not, they will replace. A bit of a headache, but not Arien's fault. Love the mower and would have given 5 stars except for the battery issue.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The machine runs great. The bagger stinks.

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Roseann
Location: Oconto, WI
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The machine runs great. The bagger stinks. Constantly stopping to unplug it. Even after we pressure wash the undercarriage it still plugs up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
John
Location: Cocoa, FL
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first zero turn mower I've owed I had my 42' cut Zero Turn Ariens for a year. It had an oil leak at the lower end of the oil fill tube which was fixed at no charge for parts and labor, however pick-up and delivery of the mower was not covered. I just had a front tire go flat and had to have it replaced. My largest concern is the unit gets stuck easily in wet/soggy ground due to the weight of the mower or its smaller rear tire size. All-in-all the mower starts easily and cuts well and is a dream to ride.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cuts beautifully

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Dennis
Location: SE Florida
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs and cuts beautifully. Grass looks like a golf course when done plus it saves a lot of time in comparison to the regular riders. Zero turn is the way to go.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mower

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Al
Location: Heston, ks
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had the mower for one year now. No problems so far. Runs great, does what I expect.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product that can be improved

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Michael
Location: Oxnard, CA
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mower runs well but has a couple of shortcomings that would be nice to improve. I have also owned Cub Cadet 50" ZTR so I have something to compare it against. I do not like the way the choke is made a part of the throttle. It is awkward to push it back down after starting and may take a couple of extra seconds to push it off, causing excessive choking. An engine hours meter would be a nice feature. I like to keep an accurate tally of operational hours for maintenance purposes. I like the feature that you can mow in reverse, unlike the Cub Cadet I had. The grass catcher attachment only works well with dry light grass. Clogs very easy. The hose has a curve in it that may be the problem. I may try to shorten it so I can make it straight. I would hate to ruin it, however. Maybe a straight plastic duct of some sort would improve the flow of grass. FYI: I only have about 15 hours on the mower and I have not had any mechanical problems, a little to soon to evaluate the mechanics. Overall, I am very happy with the performance, every bit as good as the Cub Cadet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality mower

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
K
Location: Oklahoma
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very pleased with this mower. I would have rated it 5 stars, but found that it's a little hard to start if it hasn't been run in a while and seems a little less durable that some other ZTR's I've used. Overall, though, I'm pleased and feel I got a good product for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it is heavy duty

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Bader
Location: Grain Valley, MO
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
yeah it is...i have lawn serves and i do like 9-12 a day for 3 years it never failed me but i wish they would get on it a gas mater and more importuned support the front bar that it hold the front wheels because bayed 2 in year 2011 - 2012 and both of them that bar Brock on me so i had to welded back and sport is more so it would take the bumpy land but other than than (IT IS A GOOD INVESTMENT)
i used it and i know it more than any Buddy take my word for it.
P.S:
it never failed me but it do need more modifications (starter-front weels bar- Gas mater) other than that it is 100%
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I understand Ariens started their bussiness in 1933 and not many companies stay around unless they are doing something right!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Ricky
Location: Panama City Fl.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I once owned a lawn tractor and always wanted a zero turn lawn mower but they were out of my price range untill I found the Ariens 42" cut and now after 2 years I still love my mower.
I have 2 acres to cut and it's a breeze with this mower and the features it has are really nice. I have no problem cutting my ditch that is at about a 30 degree angel and I really like the foot pedal that lifts the deck at the operators desire to when going over roots and such.
I added a hitch so I could pull my lawn wagon and it pulls it with ease even when loaded with 150 lbs or better. The 42" is well worth the extra money you will invest over the 33" if you have a large lawn like me.
I could keep going but I hope you get the impression that this is a great mower and at very reasonable price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall - a good value for the money.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Derrill
Location: Conway, AR
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have an issue with the oil drain valve. It doesn't work. First of all, it leaks all over the place and makes a royal mess. Second, when the valve is opened to drain the engine oil, it drains so slowly it takes 40 minutes to drain out. Next oil change, that piece of junk is coming out. Then I may have another issue. I don't know if the valve covers are leaking or it is simply the mess the faulty drain valve creates. The valve is also difficult to open and close... frustrating!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good home owner mower

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Matt
Location: Lake Charles, la
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mower ! Cuts fast and even !
On my second Season with no problems.
Deck height adjustment could use some
Improvement, as well as the floor board
Could use some more bracing can fill it twist
When mowing on uneven ground.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good is the enemy of great...

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Jeff
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have had this mower for almost a full year. We cut grass in South Florida all year around practically so it has seen at least weekly usage. I have already replaced the battery that came with the mower after extending its useful life with multiple charges and constant trickle charges.
I bought the mulch kit and its performance is pretty dismal. Large clumps of mulched grass are frequently deposited at various points around the yard as I mow in a forward motion which requires a second and some times third pass to eliminate their unsightly appearance.
If I happen to catch myself in a squeeze next to the house or the fence which requires backing up, the mulched deposits that are in the mower deck are completely dumped at that point leaving a mess to either clean up by rake or blown away with a blower.
All in all the value I received on this purchase is somewhat diminished by these two items, but overall I like the mower. It is a comfortable ride, has good engine performance and definitely makes cutting the grass a little more pleasurable and faster.
I am definitely happy with the "Made in the USA" part!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Mower

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Michael
Location: Georgia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does a great job cutting the grass. The engine has plenty of power. All the controls are easy to use. It also is really fun to drive and looks better than those other guy's mowers. The only issues I've had is that the traction on slopes is not that great. It does't matter whether I'm going down hill or across the slope, when I turn I experience sliding of at least one drive wheel unless I am really carefull, and I mean really carefull. I'm still glad I bought it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Zoom 42
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hills can be challenging

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Pat
Location: Wisconsin
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used my mower on a 5 acre property and mow another property with 3.5 acres. Very fast. the only issue is controlling on steep slopes. Uphill is fine, downhill wants to got down the hill and can be hard to control.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>