Customer reviews for Ariens Zoom XL 54

Ariens Zoom XL 54

If you have a lot of grass to mow and not much time to cut it, then a Zoom® XL zero turn riding mower is what you need… high performance engine options jet you along at up to 6.5 miles per hour…extraordinary cutting systems with impressive mowing widths efficiently speed the process…and durable components at every turn to reliably keep you up and cutting for years.
Overall rating:
4.74 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5
58
4
12
3
2
2
1
1
0
71 out of 73(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Zoom XL 54
Review 21 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only have used for a little over a year. So far extremely satisified!!!!!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
terry135
Location: lavon tx
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As I said I have only had for a little over a year and so far very pleased with performance. For the price, to get the reinforced deck, 54" cut and Kawasaki industrial grade motor seemed like a no-brainer when I was shopping and comparing prices of other mowers. It is not really like Airens is new to zero-turns since they have been making Gravleys for years. Can't say for sure about endurance yet but everything seems to be holding together and performing well after close to 40 hrs. of use. Would surely recommend so far
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value in a ZTR with almost commercial like performance.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Nick
Location: New Paltz,NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This ZTR is built to work. It cut my lawn mowing time to 1/3 of what it was and thats the truth. Quick to get used to and cuts with plenty of power and accuracy.
The commercial quality welded deck is and excellent feature on a machine of this price, no other has this. Definitely a best buy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This mower lives up to the Ariens name.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Shelby
Location: Leitchfield KY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This zero turn mower is a step above all the others. Heavy duty hydraulic drives and a welded plate deck and a better value than the competitors.
Bottom line this mower leaves all the others in tall grass!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Kenneth
Location: Greer , South Carolina
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE IT I'VE USED IT FOR TWO SEASONS WITH NO PROBLEMS GREAT MOWER .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Chuck
Location: Ga
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The mower has been great. It has cut my mowing time almost in half. The deck is not a stamped. It is thicker metal and is very durable. I have hit several stumps in my yard and they have not hurt it. My other mower I had to beat the deck back out to keep the blades from hitting. The only problem I have had is I did not get an engine manual with my mower. It would be handy when it comes to servicing the engine.
I would recommend this mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tank will mow day in a day out and not leave you disappointed.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
peliosis
Location: North Central, Indiana
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a former mechanic at a lawn mower shop, I have worked all kinds of lawn mowers, and I do not think there is a better machine for your money.
I am impressed with the design and placement of simple features, such as the deck wheels. These are placed inside of the edges so a user doesn't break them off no matter how hard they try . One of my favorite Ariens design is the use of shock absorbers on the steering controls. There is no jerky feedback from loose handles. The end result is smooth and precise steering around obstacles.
The rugged fabricated deck will take much more abuse and last much longer than a MTD (Cub Cadet included) or AYP (Craftsman). All areas that need maintenance are accessible by moving hinged panels.
My mower has the Kawasaki engine, and has plenty of power to spare. I have used this mower to cut grass a foot tall with no problem.
If you have a large yard and want to get it done in minimal time, the Ariens Zoom XL 54 is the machine to get.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very accurate stering and can complete the task without any problems

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
ken
Location: fort knox ky
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a john derre 425 zero thinking it was pretty and boy what a sup-prize I got. When I cut the grass, it looked so bad that I used my push mower to complete the yard. The vor- tech engine popped and cracked after only cutting 1 acre at my house,and the yard looked bad ,so I returned it and got a real 54 in. cutting machine, that KAW. engine doesn't miss a lick and that massive true welded deck does the job just fine ,kinda looks like a Golf course again,the Ariens doesn't look very pretty , but it sure out performs a derre
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy deck, compact with great response.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
temison
Location: Bells, TN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only mowed 4 or 5 times but I have no complaints. I am completely satisfied so far. The heavy deck metal, center front deck wheel, Kohler engine and rear tire size sold me on this mower when I compared it to other brands in same price range. I have a larger commercial X-MARK and I can't find any advantage it has over my new ARIENS mower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT CUT

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Brian
Location: Jasper,AL.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cut my mowing time in half. Have not quite 2 acres and i cut it now in about an hour.It was a little strange to get used to the steering, after using a conventional mower for years.But all in all a GREAT RIDE,yard has never looked better!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelant machine

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike
Location: Upland, IN
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced a 23 year old 3 wheel SCAGs. I thought it was manuerable but it doesnt know what that is.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable time, nice features

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
flyfisher1956
Location: Fayetteville,AR
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought theZoom XL54. Cut mowing time down to just under two hours from four. Very nice cut with easy to use controls. If you have never used a zero turn they are fun as well as practical. The design on the X L makes the controls a snap to use, the deck is easy to access easy to service. The durability seems excellant. The value is good as well, though priced higher than a conventional yard tractor, the money spent is well worth it. The cut on the lawn is very nice with excellant dispersal of the cut grass out of the chute. The seat is comfortable and the steering is precise. I recommend this wthout reservation. Fun to operate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Eldo71
Location: West Tennessee
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first zero turn mower and wow is it great. The engine starts and runs like a dream. The seat and controls are very comfortable and user frendly. I especially like the foot lever to raise and lower the deck with pin holes for each graduation of height of cut. The machine is very responsive to turns without being over responsive. The blade speed is such that it cuts the grass cleanly.
It has reduced my mowing time considerably with a much better job.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Kyle
Location: Georgia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the first big mower purchase I have made, so I did alot of comparison shopping. The conclusion that I reached was that this was the only choice. Built like a tank compared to other mowers in the same price range, and cuts the grass great. I just need to figure out how to keep the wife off of it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine for the price!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Tom
Location: Baldwin, MD
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The mower has performed flawlessly and handles great. My only dislike is the inability to add a striping kit to this series mower. Other than that it is great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of power

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
ZIPPO
Location: SUNSET BEACH , NC
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mower has not been slowed by any of the thickest grass . Great power . Works better in completly flat yard , could use a floating deck . Minor assembly upon recieving , the only issue was a fuel tank leak at the fuel guage which I repaired with gasket sealer .Fast , has cut my mowing time by more than half. Seems sturdy and well built , should last many years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is awesome

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Frankie
Location: Jefferson SC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with all the features of this mower. I wish they offerd a better varity of blades for the 54 inch cut such as commerical bldes for sand, Other than that I love it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a great mower!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Ted
Location: North Texas
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 54 "zoom is a great mower. It makes my mowing much easier than it was with a lawn tractor type mower. I haven't found anything about it that wasn't designed and built with quality and durability in mind.
I do wish they had included a pre-filter on the air cleaner, a hinged design on the mower deck exhaust chute for easier clearance in narrow areas, and a hitch attachment on the rear bumper.
Ted
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Impressed

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Ron25
Location: Fowlerville, MI
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I mow approx. 4 acres. Had a 50" Garden tractor that is15 years old and the transaxle died. I was reluctant to buy a ZTR but wished I had 15 years ago. I cut mowing time by 25%. I can see the belts and actually can work on it if need be. My tractor had a Kohler engine and it is bulletproof. I couldn't change that. Ariens had the Kohler engine, fabricated deck, ease of access to perishable items and incorporates grease zerts. All these items are important to me since I always do my own repair work. I will probably rebuild my tractor transaxle so I can sell it. Highly recommend this mower. The price was comparable with other brands.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Ronnie
Location: Cleburne, Texas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I owned a Cub Cadet 50" zero turn that was stolen from me about two years ago. I took the insurance check and started looking for another zero turn mower. While at Home Depot I noticed the Ariens zoom XL 54, I knew one thing for sure, I didn't want another Cub Cadet. So, I bought the Ariens Zoom XL 54, twice maybe three times the lawnmower that the Cub Cadet was. Cut my mowing time in half, easier to handle, very tough mower, and better built by far. BEST I'V EVER OWNED!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Zoom XL 54
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This mower has my praise

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Roy
Location: Michigan
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I' owned this mower for almost 1 yr and still love getting on it to cut my grass. With my old rider it took my about 4 hrs to cut now just over 2 with stopping to empty bagger which I never had before. Cuts and bags at full speed with ease. I rate this mower an A+ wish I would have boughten 1 sooner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>